We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, lousy management/ customer service”
Review of Pita Stop

Pita Stop
Ranked #59 of 959 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Granbury, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great food, lousy management/ customer service”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Had dinner at the Cahaba Heights location tonight with a friend. Decided to try the specials and asked the waitress the cost of the rack of lamb. She stated it was $23.99 and I decided to order it. Food was great. Only issue I have is when I received the bill, the charge was $29.99. I had to question the waitress about the difference and she said she must have quoted me the price for the filet. I basically got a weak apology and that was it. When she came back with my statement to sign she said she had asked the manager and they said no, the price stood as is. What really torques me about is that no manager came to the table to apologize. Really left me with a sour taste as out how this restaurant is run. There was no one there at the exit to provide any feedback to also. Will think twice before going back just on principles.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    29
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food!!!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food here is great!!! Rack of lamb outstanding. I cook this at home on the Big Green Egg and it is just as good here as mine at home. No brag, just fact. We also had the lamb kibbeh-incredible! This is a simple place with very little atmosphere, so no romantic dinners here. But, the food is excellent! Server was nice. We will go back when we are in B'ham.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Pita Stop restaurants have a well deserved great reputation, which it deserves”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I I love the food, food preparation and good service always experienced at the 2 Pita Stop Restaurants. I am never disappointed in the variety, the taste of the foods and the reasonable prices.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Time for a change”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Pita Stop, Cahaba Heights location, needs a menu change and attention in the kitchen. We ate there recently and the chicken pita tasted like rubber as it was obviously pre-cooked. They could add some more variety to the menu and improve the quality of what's available as well. For a start, how about fresh french fries? My wife's omelet was extremely greasy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrhllc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food; great value!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We have eaten at both locations, but most recently at the Cahaba Heights location for dinner. The service was prompt and very friendly, and the food was delicious. I had the chicken kabob dinner, which is served with rice, fresh fruit, and pita and hummus. Portions are generous, and their hummus is wonderful! My children both ordered off the kids' menu and had plenty to eat. We will certainly be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DSJmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pita Stop also viewed

 

Been to Pita Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing