We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ratings do not lie! This is a great one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez FON FON

Chez FON FON
Ranked #3 of 939 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hartselle, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ratings do not lie! This is a great one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

I can't believe we waited so long to visit Chez Fon Fon. We loved the Charcuterie platter and cheese selections. We've also had the Moules-Frites, Croque Madam and my husbands favorite, the Hamburger FonFon. That burger is craveable! Casual, comfortable atmosphere. Great food and great portions!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    77
    21
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Foley, Alabama
Level Contributor
107 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful and unique fresh food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a small but wonderful place with a great menu and very attentive service. The dishes are fresh and unique and you are made to feel at home. This place should be high on your list. Go early or wait to eat.....it is worth the wait and price.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Alabama
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Visited for the first time, and they did not disappoint. Our server Brent was fantastic. He made several wonderful recommendations and was attentive without hovering, a gift that so few waiters possess. All of our dishes were top notch (especially the Lamb Navarin) and the dessert was the perfect ending to a perfect lunch. Can't wait to try this place again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackandJudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The perfect French bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Service is impeccable, food is terrific. I last went for lunch, and the shrimp and avocado salad was perhaps the best salad I have ever had. I'm a bit of a Frank Stitt fangirl... all of his restaurants are amazing (Chez Fon Fon, Bottega, and Highland Bar and Grill). The best of Birmingham dining.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Brook, Alabama
Level Contributor
81 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“One of the best lunches in the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Not only are the dinners delicious but the lunches are too. Try the shrimp any any combination of vegetables and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cgall92016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez FON FON also viewed

 

Been to Chez FON FON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing