We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite restaurant”
Review of Chez FON FON

Chez FON FON
Ranked #3 of 960 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

It's really hard to put into words how much I love this place. It only gets better the more you go too. The bartender and waitstaff are so friendly and the food is always great. The atmosphere is lovely--it's almost like you are going to have dinner at a friend's house. Perfect for friends, a date or a family dinner.

The fish is always good, as are the mussels and steak frites, but you really can't go wrong with some of their more casual options, like the turkey sandwich, croque madame or Fon Fon Burger. Oh and the cocktails are awesome too!

Can't recommend enough.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJCarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    80
    25
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Eat in France without needing a Passport”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Chez Fon Fon has a most comfortable atmosphere that is only exceeded by the food. And the service is simply perfect. How many times has one been to a restaurant having a conversation with a fellow diner that would be clear to anyone, only to be interrupted by a waiter? Well, that will not happen here. The staff knows when to glide in and out, making helpful suggestions. The appetizer with the various meats and cheeses is highly recommended. The fish dishes are well prepared and full of flavor. If one had any complaints with the wine list, one needs to get a life. Highly recommend for any occasion.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bowie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This place is delicious! This is a more informal (no reservations needed) sister restaurant of the next door Highlands Bar & Grill. But the food is just as good and the atmosphere just as wonderful. We ordered an appetizer to share, the grilled sausages. It comes with so much more than the sausages. There was olives, beets, salami and summer sausage slices, arugula salad and some kind of cabbage. So delicious. For a main course, I ordered the Croque Madame sandwich and my husband ordered the Cornish Game Hen. Both of us were very happy with our food. Very generous portions - I gave my husband some of my sandwich, because I knew I could not eat it all. And because we were there on the French National Cheese Day, after dinner we shared a cheese sampler plate - several kinds of very good cheeses from mild to tangy. Totally delicious! And ... because of the comments of TripAdvisor, we shared a piece of the coconut cake. Yum! It is everything people say it is! Our server was very nice and very helpful and shared a little of the history of the restaurant with us. There is a reason this restaurant is rated so highly on TripAdvisor. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellover3868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“always a hit!!!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Fresh ingrediants daily and the fish is prepared to your desire. Great staff who remembers how the regulars prefer their food. A true staple of dining in Birmingham and the Southside!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little bit of Provence in Birmingham”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

A relaxed cafe with great food, professional service,a boules court out back, and, most importantly, the genius of Frank Stitt.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez FON FON also viewed

 

Been to Chez FON FON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing