We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Fish Market Tops, Hoover Fish Market aaahhhh, so so.”

Fish Market Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 960 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Greek, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Downtown Fish Market Tops, Hoover Fish Market aaahhhh, so so.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Downtown Fish Market Restaurant has long been a favorite of mine. From the old days as a student at UAB to the newer location which I find very eclectic and a nice atmosphere. Never had a bad meal and the service is very good. Sometimes the wait has been a bit of a pain but I guess the wait is because a lot of people go there. Waits seem to be less in recent years since moving. Large variety so choose something you like and it will be good but ask questions if you do not know what something is. Better to go with what you know. I like the the lemon pasta shrimp or scallops and grilled amberjack or rainbow trout. But like I said there is something on the menu for all seafood tastes. Also almost always see the owner, Sal, at the restaurant and appears to still be hands on and mingles a little with the customers. In Birmingham close to UAB this is the place for seafood. Store in Hoover on US 31 not nearly as good. Attitude of cashiers is terrible and often get orders wrong. Will not prepare food that they have on the menu if it is not already prepared so I wonder about freshness. Stay with the original location.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    325
    105
    44
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, AL
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mediocre.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

People rave about this in Birmingham. But, having been to many seafood restaurants at coastal cities around the country. This is a very middling restaurant. And, for the price there are many other restaurants of greater value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank youngman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Fish Market Downtown”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The food is good and tasty. There is a wide variety of fish choices for both lunch and dinner. Portions are generous. Potatoes, rice, vegetables and salads are also on the menu.
This is a very economical place to eat. Orders are taken at the counter and then wait staff bring you your food when your number is ready. Location is large and can get noisy when crowded.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere and seafood”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a great place to dine for seafood, pasta, chicken, and seafood. The atmosphere is great, especially when they have live music.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DallasTide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Chargrilled Oysters- "Angels"”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Okay, I love oysters and have eaten my share "raw" for over 30 years, but like Russin Roulette, the bacteria thing is a chance I will avoid.Last 9 years, I've beeb going with baked and grilled. The Fish Market's Angels at the Hwy 280 location are fantastic. And the idea of serving them with bread so you can dip the sauce is soooo goood.I can't get to the coast as often as I would like, but I can go to the Fish Market.We stopped by on Valentine's Day, since so many places had short menu's. Wife had Maryland Crab cake which is also dynamite. Great food, friendly people, what else do you want?

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Market Restaurant also viewed

 
Birmingham, AL
 

Been to Fish Market Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing