We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average franchise Chinese food, below average service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of P.F. Chang's

P.F. Chang's
Ranked #43 of 936 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
170 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Average franchise Chinese food, below average service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

OK standard fare with some seasonal menu items. Very good egg rolls and pot stickers, and some of the best wanton soup anywhere. Other entrees are standard fare, except for the salt and pepper shrimp. Always very good, fresh, large shrimp worth the $18 price. Sadly, service is always slow, sometimes, very slow

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JMG44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    67
    31
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Fantastic lemon chicken”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

We stopped for lunch after a dr. Visit at UAB. The food was better than I remembered. I had delicious hot and sour soup and lemon chicken. The lemon chicken was out of this world. I will definitely visit the p f Chang near me when I go home.
Con: cold. Pro: delicious food and excellent service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
206 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Easter Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We were passing through and stopped here for lunch. The restaurant was not abnormally busy considering it was a holiday. Average 30 minute wait time. Staff where friendly. Good food which is consistent with the chain. Chicken lettuce wraps are delicious. Server was considerate to my sister's gluten intolerance and brought all gluten free sauces which was much appreciated. I would eat there again if I were in town.

Helpful?
Thank AH1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Top on Favorites list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

LOVE this restaurant. Never disappoints! My husbands favorite restaurant. Great selection of food, beautiful atmosphere & the best drinks!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeautifulMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rush, rush, rush.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were a party of nine for a birthday Saturday night. The joint was packed BUT despite all hands on deck the service was not up to snuff. We had to ask fro silverware. Also, drinks were ordered and a couple of folks had to ask twice. In my case, I ordered soup, dumplings, and Mongolian beef (very average as it turned out) as an entree. The soup (wonton) arrived in a timely fashion and was good. The dumplings arrived just as the soup was done but were not the ones I had ordered. The proper ones were brought (they were quite tasty) but before I had eaten two of them my entree was thrust onto the table in front of me. So, by the time I finished starters the main was barely warm. Others also had entrees crash in on their starters. Cannot say how annoying that sort of piling-on tends to be. Not to mention how crowded the table becomes. No kudos today.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed P.F. Chang's also viewed

 
Birmingham, AL
 

Been to P.F. Chang's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing