We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch”
Review of Bottega Restaurant

Bottega Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Bottega Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 942 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch and it was great.
Service was great.
The mussels were just right as was the salad.
The martinis were just right and had ice slivers.
We had tiramisu for dessert and I have to say I haven't found any better .
Valet parking made it easy to get inside quickly.
Looked at the dinner menu and will come back to dine at night.
Great Restaraunt !!

Helpful?
Thank nrlamoreaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    85
    25
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Two of my favorites”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Whether dining in the casual café, or the more formal side; you will not be disappointed. Always at the top of my list when deciding where to go. Frank Stitt knows how to run a great restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatnAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Birmingham”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Bottega is hands down one of the best restaurants in Birmingham, if not the best. One of the Frank Stitt (James Beard winner and finalist) restaurants (he and his wife own Highlands Bar and Grill, Chez Fon Fon and Bottega and Bottega Cafe), it is exceptional and innovative food along with impeccable service. The cafe (right side of restaurant) is open for lunch and dinner and serves a more casual menu in a more casual atmosphere. The "big side of Bottega" or the restaurant side (left side of building) is white tablecloth and finer dining. Both sides are excellent value considering other restaurant alternatives.
Don't miss Bottega when in Birmingham. Everything on the menu is delicious and you cannot go wrong with any selection.
Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
199 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Gourmet food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great food. Excellent creative menu. You've gotta try the soufflé appetizer! Out this world! Definitely one of Birmingham's finest.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food at lunch.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I ate at Bottegga Cafe, which is adjacent to the restaurant and is open for lunch. The restaurant is only open for dinner. I went with a group of 12 with a reservation. The table for us was one long table with wooden picnic-style benches. Our 12 people fit OK, but there was no place to hang our coats. Normally one would hang them over the back of the chair, but the benches had no backs. I folded mine as best I could and put it in my lap. So I would not recommend a party of more than 4 going here for lunch. Perhaps the restaurant area has better facilities for large groups. All that being said, the food was delicious, and the service was excellent. I would give a 5 for food and 2 for comfort. I would certainly go back, but with no more than 4 people.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bottega Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bottega Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing