We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”

Saw’s Soul Kitchen
Ranked #4 of 942 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: you need to track this place down and add it. Great food in the Avondale district of Birmingham. Their phone is 205-591-1409
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Amazing food! Great beer! Awesome service! Good Southern hospitality. I highly recommend this place to anyone who is in Alabama. AMAZING BARBECUE.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlorsJaiDit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    141
    26
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deltona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stopped here on a Friday night around 7:00. I had the pulled pork platter with fried green tomatoes and sweet tea. The sandwich was okay, I have had better. The fried green tomatoes were greasy even for fried food, and I didn't like the dipping sauce. My husband had the pulled pork platter with cheese grits. His grits were a little hard for his liking and cold. I visited this place because the ratings were so high, but I was disappointed with the food and prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Brook, Alabama
Level Contributor
81 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Don't Let looks Deceive”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Saw's is a real treat. The place looks like a dive and seating is scarce. You might have to wait a few minutes to order but the food is well worth the wait. Try the Carolina Burger and onion rings and you might fall in love.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cgall92016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soutnern California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Relatives took us here. This place is a dive with some of the best BBQ we have ever tasted. Tried the Saw dogs, puled pork, wings, fried pickles and onion rings. All were very good. Took our food to a beer I pub a couple of doors away as there is very little inside seating. Would definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TripsAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Pig Was Immortalized!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Traveling through Birmingham and googled 'cheap eats' in the area. This little place came up and looked interesting so we tried it. Shared the pork over greens with cheese grits and onion rings. Then shared the blackened catfish with a side of sweet potato fries. Every thing was delicious! The pork and greens were a work of art with the onion rings being the best I ever had. The catfish was fresh and cooked just right with really fine seasoning. I can't wait to go back. Go There!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monroe1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saw’s Soul Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Saw’s Soul Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing