We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Dreary About Drury Inn and Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nothing Dreary About Drury Inn and Suites”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as the last night on our long car trip. We have never stayed at a Drury Inn but we tried it because it looked great online. Our room had a separate bedroom enclosed with an actual door and that was great for added privacy without the added price. We paid less than $100 for the night and my teenage son slept in the comfortable pull out sofa bed while the rest if us slept in the queen size beds. I have a Tempurpedic at home but these beds were quite comfortable. My husband liked that the air conditioner made the room very cold. We dined at a restaurant but the evening meal they serve looked appetizing (and free). We grabbed breakfast in the morning to go but it wasn't quite set up yet. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeniseYRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    72
    23
    10
    6
See reviews for
182
95
14
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night here, after a 10 hour drive. I called about a half hour before we showed up, and they got us right in. Upon check-in, I realized I forgot to request a crib and they got it up to the room within 10 minutes. Our card was charged and the receipt was slipped under the door before we got up, so I was a little disappointed that I didn't get to use the coupon I had...I went down to the desk and they refunded my card (ended up being half the cost!) no questions asked!!!!! Everyone was SSOOOO friendly--even the maintenance man making copies at the front desk was super nice! The free dinner with drinks and the nice breakfast didn't hurt either ;)
We have stayed at a Drury Inn in St Louis, which is why we chose this one...we will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jared J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

The staff was very nice and friendly!! The pool was great and the hot tub was wonderful. The only real problem we had was the air circulation in the king 2 room suite. The nightly snacks and drinks were perfect after a long day as well. Everything was above my expectations!!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We only stayed one night, as we were just traveling through, but I was very impressed. This was my first stay at a Drury Inn, and it was exceptional from the moment we stepped through the lobby door. We were greeted very pleasantly by the front desk clerk - Shondra . Checked in promptly, went to our room to drop bags off, then left right away for dinner. As we crossed the lobby on our way out, Shondra inquired if we were happy with our room. After dinner, upon our return, again, a pleasant, courteous greeting.
Room was VERY clean, bed was wonderfully comfortable. They have an evening appetizer gathering, which looked great. But we checked in too late for that. We actually left before the hot breakfast started, but what was set up looked great as well.
I will definitely look for a Drury Inn when we next travel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The rooms are recently re-done....the color scheme is pleasing to the eye and the furniture is comfortable. The rooms are large and have all that you need.

The staff is WONDERFUL. From the moment we made our reservations to the time we checked in we felt welcomed. The day auditor was friendly and checked us right in. They made sure the feather pillows were gone as I am allergic.

Housekeeping keeps the rooms very clean and stocked with towels. Breakfast and dinner are very good and the staff makes certain you have enough to eat and that the tables are clean.

We won't stay anyplace other than here.

Room Tip: The rooms on the north side are cooler in the summer but the others are not hot, just air must run a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here several times over the past few years for business trips and I have always enjoyed my stay
Staff is always extremely helpful and courteous, rooms are clean and comfortable, and the evening kickback amd breakfast are great.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

First let me say that Michelle( I think that was her name) who worked the evening shift when we checked in was incredibly warm and friendly! After a very long drive I really appreciated her warm attitude and great customer service. We had a family suite and it was newly renovated in a nice color palate. Everything was super clean which is so important to me. The beds were a little firm but we slept very well. The morning breakfast which is included also helps make this Drury Inn a great value. We will definitely return!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank AABTK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
4.8 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
Address: 160 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209-7186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short distance from I-65, Drury Inn & Suites in Southwest Birmingham is seven minutes from the University of Alabama-Birmingham and a short drive to downtown Birmingham attractions. Relax in your clean, comfortable room and enjoy a free hot breakfast, served every day, as well as free hot food and cold beverages at our evening 5:30 Kickback(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Birmingham Sw
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Sw Hotel Birmingham
Drury Inn Birmingham
Drury Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing