We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
burnsville
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the spur of the moment. We stayed in a suite and it was clean and very large. The staff at this hotel went out of there way to make us comfortable. The food was hot and excellent both at dinner and breakfast. This chain has certainly out done themselves and this location has the staff to prove it. Will definitely use Drury in the future. Plus they are totally pet friendly.

Room Tip: Get a suite if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lottiesnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    73
    23
    10
    6
See reviews for
186
98
14
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed here on 12/28 on our way south. This is a nice hotel, but was under construction, so not quite up to par. The main reason we probably won't stay again is we were traveling in a MH and the drive into was very steep and we bent our hitch. We were very careful, but it's just not recommended if you have a big rig pulling a car. Please understand if we were traveling with a different vehicle we would definitely not hesitate to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I often default to Drury Inns when I'm on the road with my black Lab, and this one is no exception to the rule of being clean, comfortable, & offering an evening buffet that has a) meatballs and hot dogs for my dog and b) 3 free drinks for Mama. What's not to like?

This Drury is undergoing renovation which is not troublesome in the least but has the bonus of the hotel looking and smelling brand-spanking new. I worked out in the gym and was pleased with the elliptical, the treadmill, the weights--they even have a recumbent bike, which is unusual in hotel gyms. Everything was immaculate.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenna92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We have stayed here for our third year and even though the first floor was under construction all went well, The room is good size and the Happy Hour is wonderful with a baked potato, salsa, melted cheddar, pretzels, chips, chicken tenders, cocktails, wine, and beer ---all gratis for an hour and a half. You really don't need to go out for supper although many chain restaurants abound in the immediate vicinity. The chief of staff spent a lot of time checking out our highways possibilities to the next Drury Inn.

Room Tip: Fifth floor is good. Central elevator is what you want with proximity to the pool and exercise room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svenskapojke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Wanted a local weekend get-away. This was the place. Very friendly staff. Exceptionally clean. Very spacious rooms. It is right off the interstate and very close, (walking distance), to resturants and shopping. We will be back!!

Room Tip: They have a very nice breakfast, and also early evening dinner/snacks and drinks, all included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our room was very clean as was the hotel, while we were there they were renovating the first 2 floors and part of the lobby. We were able to have both dinner & breakfast, both had plenty of food and they kept bringing out more so that it wasn't empty which was nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookston, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stopped here overnight on our way to Panama City. Hotel undergoing renovation and lobby looks nice. Room smells brand new. We always stay at a Drury Inn when we can because of the amenities such as the 5:30 kickback and the breakfast. Wasn`t disappointed it was clean, food was plentiful and good. The manager was walking around everywhere and was very friendly toward us every time she saw us.

We were a little shocked as we were checking in to see pets coming into the hotel. I went on the website and toward the bottom it says pet friendly. This may have changed our mind of staying here if we would have known. One major reason is after asking the receptionist if there were pet designated rooms and she said no. So be sure you know this hotel allows pets in any room so if you have allergies you'll want to stay somewhere else. We don't have any allergies but were a little disturbed that we could have stayed in a room that previously had pets in it. I am not a pet person and don't feel that a person should be put in a room where pets previously were possibly unless I specifically wanted a pet friendly room. I think this should be reconsidered and make certain rooms pet friendly and leave others for non-pet people. All the renovations and making these rooms look so nice why ruin it with allowing pets in the rooms? Don't get me wrong this hotel is nice but me not being a pet person kind of turned me off seeing the dogs come and go and knowing that there isnt room designations for pets vs non-pet people.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATrapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
4.8 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
Address: 160 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209-7186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short distance from I-65, Drury Inn & Suites in Southwest Birmingham is seven minutes from the University of Alabama-Birmingham and a short drive to downtown Birmingham attractions. Relax in your clean, comfortable room and enjoy a free hot breakfast, served every day, as well as free hot food and cold beverages at our evening 5:30 Kickback(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Birmingham Sw
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Sw Hotel Birmingham
Drury Inn Birmingham
Drury Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing