We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying here tonight & very happy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I often default to Drury Inns when I'm on the road with my black Lab, and this one is no exception to the rule of being clean, comfortable, & offering an evening buffet that has a) meatballs and hot dogs for my dog and b) 3 free drinks for Mama. What's not to like?

This Drury is undergoing renovation which is not troublesome in the least but has the bonus of the hotel looking and smelling brand-spanking new. I worked out in the gym and was pleased with the elliptical, the treadmill, the weights--they even have a recumbent bike, which is unusual in hotel gyms. Everything was immaculate.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenna92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 466 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

We have stayed here for our third year and even though the first floor was under construction all went well, The room is good size and the Happy Hour is wonderful with a baked potato, salsa, melted cheddar, pretzels, chips, chicken tenders, cocktails, wine, and beer ---all gratis for an hour and a half. You really don't need to go out for supper although many chain restaurants abound in the immediate vicinity. The chief of staff spent a lot of time checking out our highways possibilities to the next Drury Inn.

Room Tip: Fifth floor is good. Central elevator is what you want with proximity to the pool and exercise room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svenskapojke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Wanted a local weekend get-away. This was the place. Very friendly staff. Exceptionally clean. Very spacious rooms. It is right off the interstate and very close, (walking distance), to resturants and shopping. We will be back!!

Room Tip: They have a very nice breakfast, and also early evening dinner/snacks and drinks, all included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our room was very clean as was the hotel, while we were there they were renovating the first 2 floors and part of the lobby. We were able to have both dinner & breakfast, both had plenty of food and they kept bringing out more so that it wasn't empty which was nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stopped here overnight on our way to Panama City. Hotel undergoing renovation and lobby looks nice. Room smells brand new. We always stay at a Drury Inn when we can because of the amenities such as the 5:30 kickback and the breakfast. Wasn`t disappointed it was clean, food was plentiful and good. The manager was walking around everywhere and was very friendly toward us every time she saw us.

We were a little shocked as we were checking in to see pets coming into the hotel. I went on the website and toward the bottom it says pet friendly. This may have changed our mind of staying here if we would have known. One major reason is after asking the receptionist if there were pet designated rooms and she said no. So be sure you know this hotel allows pets in any room so if you have allergies you'll want to stay somewhere else. We don't have any allergies but were a little disturbed that we could have stayed in a room that previously had pets in it. I am not a pet person and don't feel that a person should be put in a room where pets previously were possibly unless I specifically wanted a pet friendly room. I think this should be reconsidered and make certain rooms pet friendly and leave others for non-pet people. All the renovations and making these rooms look so nice why ruin it with allowing pets in the rooms? Don't get me wrong this hotel is nice but me not being a pet person kind of turned me off seeing the dogs come and go and knowing that there isnt room designations for pets vs non-pet people.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATrapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed the night before Thanksgiving and were fairly pleased with the experience. Our room was one of the new renovated rooms. Although it had that new furnishings smell, it was nice to have something clean and new. We were given a small goody bag for staying during the reconstruction process. The only problem involved a toilet that liked to randomly add water to the tank, not a problem when you closed the bathroom door. The staff said they would replace it after we checked out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Displaced-Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for choosing Drury Hotels! We appreciate hearing from our guests, as we use your comments to improve our product and services. As noted, your room was clean and new as we are renovating our hotel. The toilet issue was corrected. It is our mission for guests to enjoy a comfortable and clean stay! We truly appreciate your business and do hope to see you as our guest again soon.

Rick Seegert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We always stay here when in Birmingham. The suites are large, clean and comfortable. The staff is outstanding. Proctia checked us in with a large smile and assurance the room was as we needed (no feathers). The breakfast and dinners are delicious and plentiful. The housekeeping staff keeps the rooms in tip top condition.

Artie took our reservations and helped us select the type of room we needed and it was ready for us when we arrived.

There's no place we would rather stay than here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
3.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive

Address: 160 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209-7186 (Formerly Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $127 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short distance from I-65, Drury Inn & Suites in Southwest Lakeshore Drive is seven minutes from the University of Alabama-Birmingham and a short drive to downtown Birmingham attractions. Relax in your clean, comfortable room and enjoy a free hot breakfast, served every day, as well as free hot food and cold beverages at our evening 5:30 Kickback(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Birmingham Sw
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Sw Hotel Birmingham
Drury Inn Birmingham
Drury Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing