We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Rooms are very over priced!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rooms are very over priced!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here. We usually stay at Hampton Inn or Homewood Suites. We decided to give this hotel a try since they told us they had free drinks for guest. The rooms were around 100 bucks a night which is what we usually pay at the other hotels. So we gave them a try. The bed covers looked cheap and dingy and the room had an odor. Honestly, the room should have been priced around 59 bucks a night. It felt dirty and nasty like we were staying at an extended stay hotel. Compared to the Hilton hotels, this hotel sucks! Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Our apologies that your experience was not the norm. Guests of our hotel most often find outstanding value in our Free Hot Breakfast and Free Evening Hot Food and Beverages. Additionally, we have free Wi-Fi, one free hour of long distance, free local calls, heated indoor, outdoor pool and fitness center. We also upgraded all our bedding in February for a beautiful crisp white appearance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    65
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
154
76
13
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I went on a Motor Coach tour from Ohio to New Orleans, La during the week of 21/13 and we stayed at the Drury in Birmingham that evening. The hotel staff were very kind and polite. The rooms were clean and neat and ready upon arrival. We stayed at the Drury in Mobile, Al the next evening and the hotel staff was also very friendly and helpful and waited on our group of 58 plus the other guest with grace and ease. We arrived just in time for their Happy Hour that is called the "kick back" this was a nice touch for us and also the parents with the young picky eaters and teen age sports team. We were all tired and hungry and we did not have to go out to dinner, because, the kick back had Salad, chicken fingers, fish filets, baked potatoes, mac and cheese, hot dogs, chips ...soft drinks and adult beverages and a few items I did not mention. In the morning they offer a full hot and cold breakfast that includes :hot and cold cereal, muffins, donuts, toast, waffels, biscuits,sausage,hash browns, variety of juices, milk,tea and coffee. I spoke to some parents travelling with 4 small children and a baby and they commented that this was the greatest for a family on a road trip. The guest rooms were spacious and clean and had comfortable beds her also.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jussy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Found this hotel in one of the hotel coupon saver guides, we were looking for a two room suite for less than $100 a night. The bathroom is sweet - whirlpool tub, separate shower, marble floors and counters. Between 5:30 and 7 they have something called "Kickback" which is a free dinner buffet with free drink coupons redeemable for margaritas and whatnot. Consider ourselves lucky for finding this hotel at random from all the hotels in Birmingham.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mb0nness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, KY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I don't know if you can add much to the describtion of a Drury Inn....it's a Drury Inn. But, you can comment on the service which was great. Check in was quick an professional. Our room was not ready, but, the front desk moved us to another room after I made that suggestion. The evening meal was good with items that suffice. If you had to go out and buy the meal you would probably drop $25 for two so take that off the room rate. Same goes for the breakfast which would probably run you about $15 for two. Just nothing to complaint about.

UNRELATED: How do turn on spell check when you're posting?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
111 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Any readers of my reviews know that I love the Drury Inn's and will stay at one as many times as I can.

I was enroute to New Orleans and decided to stop over at this particular Drury Inn instead of driving straight through. I arrived late at night and the buzzer system to get in was rather nerve-wracking but the front staff was great. Very friendly and I lucked out and got an open parking spot right up front.

The elevator was a little old and seemed small, but that was the only negative as I arrived.

The room was next tot he elevator shaft but I didn't hear any noises at all from the elevator. The room was well appointed with plenty of electrical outlets, working ventilation and comfortable bedding.

My only real complaint was that the Internet was terrible. I had to resort to using my air card on several occasions. An upgrade to their system is definitely in order and hopefully will be completed soon.

Otherwise, this was a good stay.

I did not try their breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HGfromOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest! We appreciate hearing from our guests and are happy to hear you enjoyed your room and that the front desk staff was “great” during your stay with us. We are sorry to hear about the internet issue you encountered. Your comment has been addressed with our internet provider. We truly appreciate your business and do hope to see you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We travel to the panhandle of Florida at least once a year with our 15 year old dog and we always stop at this Drury Inn on State Farm Parkway in Birmingham, Alabama because of the great people,clean rooms and very comfy beds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IndianaLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A great place to stay. Indoor pool, hot tup, work out room, Free Hot food and drinks @night, and hot breakfast in morning. Pet friendly! They have an employee named Arney whom is great. There are many places to eat around there as well. They are a little pricy, but worth it! The most important thing about this hotel is that it feels safe. They also have free popcorn and soda until about 10:00 p.m.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. I have not had a bad one yet! They all also have a micro/fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
7.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
Address: 160 State Farm Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35209-7186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short distance from I-65, Drury Inn & Suites in Southwest Birmingham is seven minutes from the University of Alabama-Birmingham and a short drive to downtown Birmingham attractions. Relax in your clean, comfortable room and enjoy a free hot breakfast, served every day, as well as free hot food and cold beverages at our evening 5:30 Kickback(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Drury Hotels Company, LLC so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Sw Hotel Birmingham
Drury Inn And Suites Birmingham Sw
Drury Inn Birmingham
Drury Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing