We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Brookville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good enough”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Any readers of my reviews know that I love the Drury Inn's and will stay at one as many times as I can.

I was enroute to New Orleans and decided to stop over at this particular Drury Inn instead of driving straight through. I arrived late at night and the buzzer system to get in was rather nerve-wracking but the front staff was great. Very friendly and I lucked out and got an open parking spot right up front.

The elevator was a little old and seemed small, but that was the only negative as I arrived.

The room was next tot he elevator shaft but I didn't hear any noises at all from the elevator. The room was well appointed with plenty of electrical outlets, working ventilation and comfortable bedding.

My only real complaint was that the Internet was terrible. I had to resort to using my air card on several occasions. An upgrade to their system is definitely in order and hopefully will be completed soon.

Otherwise, this was a good stay.

I did not try their breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HGfromOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest! We appreciate hearing from our guests and are happy to hear you enjoyed your room and that the front desk staff was “great” during your stay with us. We are sorry to hear about the internet issue you encountered. Your comment has been addressed with our internet provider. We truly appreciate your business and do hope to see you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    73
    23
    10
    6
See reviews for
187
98
14
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
indiana
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We travel to the panhandle of Florida at least once a year with our 15 year old dog and we always stop at this Drury Inn on State Farm Parkway in Birmingham, Alabama because of the great people,clean rooms and very comfy beds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IndianaLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A great place to stay. Indoor pool, hot tup, work out room, Free Hot food and drinks @night, and hot breakfast in morning. Pet friendly! They have an employee named Arney whom is great. There are many places to eat around there as well. They are a little pricy, but worth it! The most important thing about this hotel is that it feels safe. They also have free popcorn and soda until about 10:00 p.m.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. I have not had a bad one yet! They all also have a micro/fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

For my one night stay, I was surprised that I had to spend NO money on food. Drury Inn offers a "happy hour" buffet that includes wings, baked potatoes, soup, nachos, salad, and 2 free drinks. I was shocked! So much food that it served as my dinner. The next morning, they served a hot breakfast with eggs, potatoes, bacon, biscuits & gravy, and make-your-own waffles. Juice, cereals and oatmeal. Wow. Not only so, for 1 whole hour you can call long-distance for free. In case you forget your laptop, they have computers on the 2nd floor atrium. Clean room, comfy bed, and all rooms now have recliners, as well. I loved it. And the staff are great! Will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, IL
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We drove 651 miles the day we stayed at the Drury in Birmingham and were beat. We picked up one of the Travel Discount books at a rest area. We were able to get the room at a discounted rate, had a great snack which was actually a full dinner for us as we were too tired to go back out; chicken strips, baked potatoes, mac & cheese, salad, hot dogs, popcorn, nachos, chili, etc. We also had red wine for free, free wi-fi, 1 hour of free long distance (didn't use it, but it was offered) and a hot breakfast in the morning.....such a deal. The staff were also so polite and helpful, it's nice to know they still exist. The room was very clean and nice.....all-in-all it was excellent and perfect for these two weery travelers.

Room Tip: The rooms were very quiet, we were on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floyd80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family and I travelled to the Drury Inn on Christmas Day, 2012, after driving up from Destin Florida. We were frazzled because we had to get on the road at the crack of dawn and drive fast to avoid the tornadoes about to descend on Southern Alabama. The staff at the Drury Inn was wonderful, helpful and welcoming! Twaunya, Jamarcus, and Shonta were working the Christmas Day shift very cheerfully, and the guests were in the lounge, playing bridge and chatting. We were fed a lovely dinner (included in the room price) and a nice breakfast the next day too. The food was simple but of good quality, and Ms. Angela was there to make sure everything was all right for us. She, too, was very friendly and the atmosphere was convivial and warm, a welcome contrast to the severe thunderstorms raging outside.

This hotel allows pets but this doesn't detract from the neatness of the place and there is not a pet smell. The rooms are really nice and clean and the beds are full queen size, roomy and comfortable. There is a microwave in the room and a kind of cooler, but not an actual refrigerator. You can store any refrigerator or freezer items at the front desk. Hassle-free wi-if is included in the room price, too. There is a lot of built-in value at the Drury Inn, and I highly recommend it! Very convenient to the highway, stores, and restaurants.

There is an indoor pool with a jacuzzi. . .we couldn't use it bc of the severe weather outside, but it is a nice draw in general.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VTraveler827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is the best hotel we have found for visits to Samford University. They are pet friendly, and there is no extra charge. We always like to get a suite, although the standard rooms are nice and spacious as well. The hotel is nicely appointed and clean. Hot breakfast and happy hour included. Just off I-65 but far enough away not to get interstate noise unlike the nearby Hampton. Close to restaurants, Starbucks, and a Walmart (which is handy for picking up supplies for students). They have a special rate for Samford visits that is better than AAA or AARP. We have also stayed at the Drury Southeast, and it is a nice facility but it takes longer to get to Samford from there because the busiest highway and intersection in the world (it seems!) are adjacent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are close to an indoor/outdoor pool so there is a chlorine smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KnoxJimily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
4.8 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
Address: 160 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209-7186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short distance from I-65, Drury Inn & Suites in Southwest Birmingham is seven minutes from the University of Alabama-Birmingham and a short drive to downtown Birmingham attractions. Relax in your clean, comfortable room and enjoy a free hot breakfast, served every day, as well as free hot food and cold beverages at our evening 5:30 Kickback(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Birmingham Sw
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Sw Hotel Birmingham
Drury Inn Birmingham
Drury Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing