We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
Ranked #15 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We always stay here when on business at the Magic City :D...Excellent Staff & Good Food as well...They serve a great free breakfast in the morning & a nice diner at 5 to 7 which is also free as well...They really stick by their slogan extras are not extra..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luqman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    65
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
155
76
13
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its good rating on TripAdvisor and the fact that they allowed dogs with no extra charge. I had never stayed in a Drury before but will certainly seek them out in the future. They had a free dinner and and free breakfast. Dinner consisted of a mainly lettuce salad, broccoli/cheese soup, penne with marinara, meatballs, hotdogs, nachos and chips, pretzels and popcorn. Also one got a ticket for 3 alcholic drinks for the evening.
Breakfast was scrambled eggs, sausage, fried potatoes, biscuits and gravy, donuts, yogurt, waffles, fruit and cereal.
Rooms were very nice and clean. Free wi-fi and an indoor/outdoor pool.
The only minor complaint I had was that our room was located right across from the pool and seemed to be a main corridor. Noises made our dog bark some.
Overall, we were very impressed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poodletoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Myers Beach, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We "walked in" to this motel on a trip through Alabama. They were happy to check us in at a reduced walk-up rate and also gladly welcomed our Cairn Terrior at no extra charge. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The room was large and impeccably clean. The breakfast was good, especially the biscuits. Before we checked out, a manager went out of his way to listen to our impressions of his facility and appeared to really care about us. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wally304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, IN
Level Contributor
169 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We enjoyed out recent weekend stay at this Drury Inn. The room was clean and the beds very comfortable. We had a problem with the Air conditioning though and it was never resolved. We spent a very warm first night there and the person who helped us offered to reimburse us for that night but when we got the bill it was not taken care of. Our relatives had nice, cool rooms. We were grateful that they found a fan for us to use our second night. If you want a cool room make sure you don't get room 130! We had also asked that our three families be close by. We were all coming from out of town to attend a funeral. My sister's family were unable to get into their assigned room because the door was locked from the inside. They were moved to an upper floor. It would have been nicer for us to all be together. Besides that the breakfast was nice. The evening food and drinks are a nice treat. We didn't even have to go out for dinner. The hotel is pet friendly and we appreciated being able to bring our little dog with us. There are plenty of restaurants close by- many are within walking distance. There are shops close by also. We weren't impressed with the staff when we checked in at night. Things seemed chaotic and unorganized. The manager in the morning was friendly and helpful. We also thought the lady working in the dining area in the evening was very helpful, nice and she kept things running smoothly. Extra's that were nice were computers, work out room, fridge and microwave in each room. The hotel has a small indoor/outdoor pool with a hot tub. All in all, a pretty nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Indymom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in May while a family member was in a local hospital. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable. Also, the extras made it very convenient ..... hot breakfast buffet and hot food in the evenings. Complimentary drinks were also provided. It was nice not to have to go out to a restaurant after a long day at the hospital. Although I didn't have the kids with me this time, I think Drury Inns would be a nice, comfortable stop on a family road trip as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank backcountrytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I've stayed at this Drury Inn a couple of times, thought I'd leave a review - I'm not sure which one in AL I like more this hotel or the one in Montgomery. Both have very nice staff, I appreciate the small meals and complimentary drinks - my one complaint is their seltzer water is dispensed so - no bubbles or carbonation, I've become hooked on mineral water and will take tonic or seltzer instead - in Montgomery it was served by bottle, here it may as well not have been offered as dispensed. But that is my only complaint. There was a tour group coming through and the front desk told those of us checking in that they blocked off rooms on the middle floors for them, so their 2 am arrival would not disturb guests already checked in. Bed comfortable, room clean, checkout easy. Again, a great place for groups and families traveling, not so bad for a business traveler in town on a tight budget looking for a few fringe benefits and conveniences.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank materielgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

On a loop trip around the country starting from Florida, what started out as a divine adventure turned into a serious effort to get me home safely when my AC quit in Tucson and I still needed to at least get to Montana to see my sister. After that, with a withering drought and heat between me and home, my husband started a heroic effort to keep me in the cool and staying in comfortable surroundings. Destinations were chosen based on fogging windows and attitude. He basically "Trip Advised" me across the country, and that elevated the entire epic into a wonderful dream that allowed me to appreciate the countryside and trust where this 65 year old woman would end up each night.

Birmingham turns out to be gorgeous with lovely rolling hills and reasonable temps and humidity even in August. The Drury Inn just added to my delight. Has an elegant feel to the lobby and common areas, and the room was spacious, luxurious, and reasonable. Several restaurants are within walking distance, and I ate at a lovely Chili's. Used the fitness room which is important when spending hours on my butt. And, how can you beat a nice light dinner, which is really what they provide with their chicken and nachos and garden salad. And then a full, healthful breakfast in the morning.

Drury has sort of become our home away from home when traveling, and the one in Birmingham is a notch above. Also, as I left, I wanted to buy some water and didn't have all the change I needed. The gal at the desk took what I had. She reflected the lovely greeting I received when I arrived the afternoon before. This Drury has outstanding staff, location, and facilities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Intlpvti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SE
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
7.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
Address: 160 State Farm Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35209-7186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short distance from I-65, Drury Inn & Suites in Southwest Birmingham is seven minutes from the University of Alabama-Birmingham and a short drive to downtown Birmingham attractions. Relax in your clean, comfortable room and enjoy a free hot breakfast, served every day, as well as free hot food and cold beverages at our evening 5:30 Kickback(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Drury Hotels Company, LLC so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Sw Hotel Birmingham
Drury Inn And Suites Birmingham Sw
Drury Inn Birmingham
Drury Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing