We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average. Very, very average.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Winder, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average. Very, very average.”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Booked a jacuzzi room for the night of 12 August 2012. Bright pictures on the website looked promising. Reality: Carpet had red stains splotched from the bedroom to the hallway towards the door. All my guest and I could do is laugh it off and wonder who was killed in the room. We knew it COULDN'T be blood, but it sure did look somewhat like a murder scene.

The jacuzzi wasn't clean. That really was a disappointment. My friend and I spend more for a jacuzzi for because we enjoy that. The soap scum that floated around certainly did nothing for the mood.

The furnishings were okay, but it does appear that they are showing fair amounts of wear. It seemed that there would be good use for furniture polish here. Also, the bedspreads were very dated and there probably isn't a lot of life left in the mattress. Especially now.

The "kickbacks" downstairs were okay for the most part. What you should expect is hotdogs, nachos, and dry chicken fingers. The real disappointment were the drinks. True, the best drinks are free, but don't take a date here. it was a no frills kind of affair.

I had never stayed at a Drury Inn before. Overall, this was an average stay at what seemed to be an average hotel. It was nothing to rave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank resmith85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our apologies as your visit with us was not the norm for our hotel. We have followed up on your comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    72
    23
    10
    6
See reviews for
183
97
14
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
BC, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stayed here with my husband and 2 kids for 3 nights in Aug. Here is our experience: check in was quick and friendly. She hurried it along so we could catch the end of happy hour since we arrived about 6:30pm.
Parking was easy and free. Self park in the hotel lot.
Location was good. Initially we were worried about being in Homewood rather than DT. However after walking around the DT area one afternoon we were glad we chose the suburb location. DT area is run down and seemed a little sketchy. Also didn't seem like much to do there. The hotel is close to a bunch of box stores and restaurants. We took advantage of Old Navy, Walmart and Starbucks. All are within walking distance. It is only a 10 min drive to DT and university areas. Would be difficult to explore Birmingham w/o a car as it's spread out.
Our room was on the 3rd floor. Nothing special but clean and comfortable. Nicely decorated. Very quiet. We were across the hall from a banquet room hosting a family reunion one night and didn't hear a thing! Beds were comfortable although my husband didn't like his pillow. Elevator was a little slow so we used the stairs mostly.
There is a pool which our kids enjoyed. It is half.inside and outside so can be used if it's raining. I also had the workout room to myself. Bikes were in need of some maintenance but other machines were fine. Both pool and workout room were clean. A couple suggestions for hotel: put watercooler/papercups in workout room and spraybottle with cleaner so machines can be wiped off after use.
The good value for this hotel is mainly because of free breakfast and happy hour. Breakfast had great choices and we always found a table easily. Tons of variety for a free breakfast. Happy hour was from 5:30-7pm and had free dinner/snacks (hotdogs, mac'n cheese, nachos, chicken wings and other bar food) plus 3 free drinks (beer/wine/spirits) per person. The food quality was not as good at dinner so the kids ate the free dinner and we brought BBQ takeout back to hotel to enjoy with our free drinks.
In all, we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again if back in Birmingham.
Tip: Try Saws BBQ and Slice pizza. Both were incredibly tasty.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cantravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We like staying at the Drury Inn when it is in the town we are travelling to. They are usually clean and have a great breakfast. This hotel was a bit of a disappointment. It was tired. The carpet was so dirty we decided to keep our socks on. The breakfast area was laid out in a way that made it very crowded and difficult to get to the food, even when the crowd was light.

We made the reservation on the road and was assured we would get a king bed and a roll away for our son. The person on the phone placed me on hold and called the hotel to ensure we were checked in and that the roll away was set in the room. When. We got there, the front desk told us they were out.

Room Tip: I still like the Drury, but this hotel sits in an area with several other chain hotels. I would cons...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DPStL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The facility was nice, sweet staff and great bed. Good experience. I was surprised at how pretty the area was. We didn't make it in time for evening dinner but the breakfast was good and the hotel was easy to find.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirtysneaker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed during the middle of July and we had a fantastic experience. We stayed in a 2 room suite and the rooms were spacious. My 11 year old son is in a wheelchair and he could get everywhere in both rooms with no problem, including the bathroom. We did not stay in a handicapped accessible room and still the rooms were easy for him to navigate. Both the breakfast and the 5:30 kickback was delicious with plenty of food. The rooms were clean and the front desk staff was extremely helpful with local information. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on our way back from Texas. Didn't realize before that they are a pet friendly hotel w no deposit required. We had our 2 dogs with us and picked his hotel based on previous reviews. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the room and how friendly the front desk girl was. I believe her name was Aquana. Convenient to several restaurants within walking distance. We will be staying at Drury as often as we can.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debijo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is right off I65 and extremely convenient to restautants and shopping. It is really nice and a great place to stay. Awesome breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgt007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
4.8 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
Address: 160 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209-7186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short distance from I-65, Drury Inn & Suites in Southwest Birmingham is seven minutes from the University of Alabama-Birmingham and a short drive to downtown Birmingham attractions. Relax in your clean, comfortable room and enjoy a free hot breakfast, served every day, as well as free hot food and cold beverages at our evening 5:30 Kickback(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Birmingham Sw
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Sw Hotel Birmingham
Drury Inn Birmingham
Drury Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing