We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay when having things done at UAB”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
Ranked #9 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Gordo, Alabama
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay when having things done at UAB”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We love staying here, My child had a heart transplant and we have to go to UAB for check up and Biopsy a lot and sometimes we are here 3 days in a row. This is a clean place very friendly staff at this location, They have a wonderful Kickback that takes place at 5:30 that you can go and eat it's not a full course meal but you can make a meal off it. Then you get popcorn and drinks until 10 and wake up to Breakfast in the morning. It's great for us because after along day we don't have to leave again. But if you would like to eat somewhere else of shop at wal-mart, and a few other place they are all around this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElaineLambertGay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    72
    23
    10
    6
See reviews for
182
95
14
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southern State
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

My family stayed one night at this hotel while on the way to Fl. for spring break at the beach. From check-in to check-out, the entire experience was first rate. The hotel seems fairly new and is located just off the interstate but not so close as to hear traffic noise. Check-in went smoothly. Room was great. Spotless. Roomy. Comfy beds. Lots of good quality pillows. Frig/microwave combo. Flat screen TV. Great shower with plenty of hot water. The evening "Kick Back" was a welcome surprise. A great variety of food depending on what you wanted from snacks - popcorn, chips, salsa, salads to more substantial choices - baked potatoes, hot dogs, chilli. Plenty of drinks - soft drinks, wine, beer, maybe mixed drinks but not sure on that. Friendly staff working the area and keeping it clean. Had a great night's sleep. Even though the hotel was full of families with kids most heading to Florida, no noise in the hallways or in adjacent rooms. Breakfast was wonderful with almost anything you'd want to eat from cereal, bagels, pastires to make your own waffles, eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausage and bacon. Again, staff circulated in the breakfast area cleaning tables, offering to refill drinks, keeping the breakfast bar filled. The manager, Rick (?) was extremely friendly and did everything he could to make his guests feel welcome. There is plenty of parking, a pool for those who wanted to use it, and the hotel is located near a host of restaurants, sit-down and fast food, a large bookstore and across the street from a super Wal-Mart.. I would not hesitate to stay here again or to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KYSunnyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

This hotel went above and beyond my expectations. The 5:30 Kickback was fabulous for dinner, free drinks, full hot breakfast the kids enjoyed the free popcorn and my son was a huge fan of the flat screen lcd tv in our room. What impressed me most? The staff was extraordinary! Their friendliness and kindness was over the top. One woman helped my daughter get popcorn and told me to go sit down and relax. They genuinely seemed happy to have you there. In addition to that, my room was SUPER CLEAN!! There wasn't a strand of stray hair anywhere. This was the cleanest place I've ever stayed. I'll be back!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank family_fun329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Room not especially large but quite nice. Clean room/bathroom. Excellent quality bed and linens. Pool area/whirlpool looked inviting.

Evening reception very nice.......complimentary beverages, chicken strips, meatballs, hot dogs, salad, baked potatoes, chips, salsa, popcorn, etc. A great addition if you are traveling with kids.

Breakfast was very good, including, but not limited to, .......scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal, milk, coffee, various juices, toast, etc.

Location easily accessible off I-65.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonaldJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

This hotel offers beer, wine and limited cocktails from 5:30 to 7PM each evening. At the same time they have some hot snack foods such as hot dogs, potatoes, meatballs, etc. They offer a nice selection of warm breakfast foods such as biscuits and gravy, french toast, sausage patties, scrambled eggs and waffles you prepare yourself--plus coffee, juice and pastries. The rooms are an adequate size and are kept orderly by housekeeping staff. Free internet is provided and the hotel is near 2 large malls with upscale stores. The only down side has to do with Birmingham itself. DRIVING THERE IS TOTAL GRIDLOCK!! It takes forever to get anyplace. They need a loop around the city and traffic lights that are better synchronized.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainview03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We enjoyed everything about this hotel stay from the clean room, delicious breakfast and wonderful service. We will be staying there again. Compared to other hotels, this hotel shines above others.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rvsmith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2010

My family and I stayed here for the weekend. Our room was clean and the decor a little outdated but overall a fairly decent hotel. My problem was the pets in the hotel rooms. Everytime I turned around there was someone walking their dog, bringing dogs on the elevator, or checking in with their dogs. I didn't know that this hotel was pet friendly, otherwise I would not have stayed here. I don't have a problem with dogs, it's just that I am not a fan of pets in hotel rooms. Some people like me suffer from allergies. We didn't make a fuss about things we just got up early and checked out. All that I am saying is that the guest should be made aware of pets in the hotel before check in.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanae05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham I-65/Lakeshore Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
Address: 160 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209-7186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short distance from I-65, Drury Inn & Suites in Southwest Birmingham is seven minutes from the University of Alabama-Birmingham and a short drive to downtown Birmingham attractions. Relax in your clean, comfortable room and enjoy a free hot breakfast, served every day, as well as free hot food and cold beverages at our evening 5:30 Kickback(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Sw Hotel Birmingham
Drury Inn And Suites Birmingham Sw
Drury Inn Birmingham
Drury Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing