We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love this place, its in my building !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria Centrale

Trattoria Centrale
Ranked #65 of 936 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: http://www.al.com/entertainment/index.ssf/2011/12/owners_of_birminghams_trattori.html
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I love this place, its in my building !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

The atmosphere is very welcoming and the food (EVERYTHING) is amazingly great. The sidewalk dining is especially great for the brunch on the weekend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexandriaKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    14
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome Sunday brunch worth the wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Unusual dishes all prepared with fresh, local ingredients. We arrived when it opened on a Sunday at 11:00 am, but found there was already a line. One of the local said that they open for coffee at 10:30 so the secret is to come for coffee, get a table, then line up for the brunch. You stand in line to order, and the line snaked around the small dining room. There aren't many tables but they turn over pretty quickly. I had farm fresh eggs over polenta (which seemed like grits to me!) with bacon. Awesome! One in our party had a frittata which was great. Folks around us had the most awesome looking french toast but I had a 4-hour drive after that, and I was afraid that would put me to sleep. They also have a unique biscuit and gravy dish with a salad. I can't wait to go back, and now I know to show up early for coffee to get a table!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KnoxJimily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
95 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Upscale Sidewalk dining at modest prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Several of us went here for lunch recently on one of those perfect spring days. We got there early enough to get outside seating. The staff was friendly and competent. The food was delicious! I'll definitely be going back..

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
217 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Italian Vibe in Downtown Birmingham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

This small eatery was doing brisk brunch business on Sunday. Walk in and place your order and the wait staff will bring it out to you. the breakfast pizza was excellent, the chocolate orange scones were fresh and flavorful and the coffee was first rate -- what more could you ask for. Oh yes, the prices were very reasonable! Wish one of these was in my hometown - I'd go there often.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Galooba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

You cannot go wrong with this little place. We are in B'ham 6/7 times a year on business and this is our "go to" place in Downtown !!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Centrale also viewed

 
Birmingham, AL
 

Been to Trattoria Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing