We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
Ranked #20 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Only a few minutes from downtown Birmingham and close to a variety of places to shop and eat. Add to this the well above average staff attentiveness and accommodation makes this perhaps my favorite of the Hilton properties I stay at routinely.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Steve T,

Thank you so much for your response, I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope you continue to stay with us in your future visits to Birmingham!

Regards,
Matthew
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 436 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Staff is very nice and lobby area is a great place to hang out, as the lobby area gives you a feel like you are at home. Meals were pretty good. The rooms were clean. We did find that the pillows were very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Richard S,

The staff at our hotel strives to provide excellent customer service to every guest. I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I’m so sorry that the pillows did not meet the comfortable level that you’re accustomed to. I hope you still choose our hotel in your future visits to Birmingham.

Regards,
Matthew
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Fantastic experience. We plan our trip to overnight here on the way to Florida and back to see family. The staff is excellent as well as the food and property. It continues to exceed our expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Mark M,

I’m honored to hear that you choose our hotel as your stopping point on the way to Florida. If there’s anything we can improve on please let us know. We take our guest responses very seriously. I hope to see you on your next trip to Florida.

Regards,
Matthew
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great hotel, welcoming staff and excellent facilities. Easy access to main roads and lots to do in the surrounding area. Have stayed here on 3 occasions now and enjoyed it every time, highly recommend to anyone travelling in this area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Matt N,

Thank you for the outstanding review! I’ll be sure to share the wonderful accolades with the rest of my team. I hope next time you’re in Birmingham you choose to stay with us, we love having you here!

Regards,
Matthew
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The staff at the hotel was very friendly and accommodating. they always made sure you had everything you needed without being over the top. For a hotel the food was reasonably priced and very good. I didn't have to go to a restaurant outside the hotel which I liked.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear B M,

I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We strive for excellence and are pleased to hear we succeeded that with your stay. I’ll be sure to share your comments with my Food and Beverage team. They will be pleased to read your comments. I hope you continue staying with us in your future trips to Birmingham!

Regards,
Matthew
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My parents booked a room here and had a horrible experience with the reservation. They took advantage of a reduced rate for an Advance Purchase, but the final date of the booking was changed (by the system) to a date that they were not even going to be in town! Since it is non-refundable, Hilton was not willing to make a change of the date or give a refund. We were told by two different representatives that the policy was that they automatically change the date if the one you select is not available... Seriously?? They claimed that was standard policy for advance purchases or promotions. Traveler beware.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Steve P,

I’m so sorry of the issues you had regarding your reservations. Unfortunately, the advance purchase discount is non refundable and is stated before the reservations are completed. In order to receive the advance purchase discount, that must be agreed upon. I suggest in the future to look at other discounted options such as; AARP, AAA or our B&B package. Those reservations can be modified at anytime and does not require an advance purchase.

Regards,
Matthew
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Am a frequent visitor to Birmingham for work, and don't like staying here. There are better places to stay locally, specifically The Ross Bridge Renaissance. The fire alarm has gone off twice in the middle of the night in the last 6 months (stay here once a month) and the breakfast service staff was not the brightest. Could not figure out how to add a tip without me re-running the card, had to walk out because I was late for a meeting. Room and accommodations are extremely basic- they do the trick, but don't get the warm and fuzzies out of this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Lindsay D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. It really helps us to see where our staff and property can improve. I’m sorry for the issues you incurred during your stay and can understand the inconvenience that can be caused by a poor stay. I’m sorry that we failed to provide you with the “warm and fuzzies” that The Ross Bridge Renaissance could offer.

Regards,
Matthew
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive
7.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham I-65/Lakeshore Drive
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive

Address: 520 Wildwood Cir N, Birmingham, AL 35209-7212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $101 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Lakeshore Drive/Birmingham hotel is located in the Wildwood, Alabama area off Lakeshore Drive, twelve miles from the Alabama Birmingham International Airport. Downtown Birmingham, the Art Museum and Civil Rights Museum are nearby the Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Lakeshore Drive hotel. The Oxmoor Golf Course, designed by Robert Trent Jones, is close by this Hilton Garden Inn hotel. Deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed Alabama style atmosphere await our Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham, AL hotel guests. Certain to please the busy executive or leisure Alabama traveler are our array of special amenities including complimentary high-speed internet access, in-room hospitality center with a microwave, refrigerator and Keurig coffeemaker, two dual line phones with voicemail and data ports, large work desk, ergonomic chairs, On Command(R) video and games, complimentary HBO, complimentary USA Today each weekday morning, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, fitness center and a 24-hour complimentary business center. The Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham, Alabama hotel offers 1,200 square feet of meeting space as well as catering services. The Garden Grille and Bar Restaurant serves freshly prepared breakfasts. The Pavilion Pantry has a selection of refrigerated, frozen and microwaveable packaged items perfect for in-room preparation. Come enjoy Alabama hospitality and exceptional service at the Hilton Garden Inn's hotel in Birmingham, Alabama. ***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive Hotel Birmingham
Hilton Garden Inn Homewood
Hilton Homewood
Homewood Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing