We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
Ranked #17 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
collinsville, United States
1 review
“Good times”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Went for my anniversary and it was a wonderful stay. We had a great time. the only thing was that the elevators were out of inspection and it had been at least a month. So being on the sixth floor and wondering every time you get on was not fun. Other than that the stay was great and was we had a lot of fun on our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Emmanuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Emmanuel G,

I’m honored to hear that you chose our property to celebrate your anniversary. I know what an important day that means to you and your wife and very grateful we were able to be a part of it. The elevators were actually inspected prior to your arrival and we were only waiting for the certificates. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you visit us again in the future.

Regards,
Matthew
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    96
    46
    24
    14
See reviews for
126
53
24
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was in Birmingham towards the end of May. It was only a 1 night stay and I was taking the mcat the following morning. It was obviously a stressful trip because of the test, and I was nervous about gambling on a hotel the night before something I'd been spent the last 5 months studying for. They stay could not have been better. Although I can't remember the young lady who greeted me during check-in, I can say she was very nice and helpful. It took maybe 3 minutes to get the key and head to my room.

The room was clean, large, and appeared to have recently been updated. My biggest concern staying in a hotel the night before the test was noise, along with just being away from my own bed and being uncomfortable. There was no noise and I slept great. Not to mention, there's a Starbucks maybe 100 yards away, and the hotel is only a couple miles from the interstate.

They also have a pool and fitness center, and there are restaurants close by. I would definitely stay in this Hilton again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cdog423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear cdog423,

I hope you did well on your MCAT and wish you the best of luck in your medical career! Thank you so much for the “5 star” review. I cannot express how happy I am to know you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. We would love to have you back and will surely welcome you with open arms.

Sincerely,
Matthew
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn recently on a business trip. The hotel was clean, the staff was really friendly (a lady who was cleaning the hotel saw me working out in the fitness room and brought me a bottle of cold water - very thoughtful!), and I was very pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Melissa H,

I’m happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay! Here at the Hilton Garden inn we strive to make each guest’s stay enjoyable and memorable. I’m happy to hear we were able to reach that goal with your stay. Please stop by and say “hey!” next time you’re in Birmingham!

Regards,
Matthew
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was an overall very good hotel. The lobby was nice when you come in, the rooms were clean, nice looking indoor pool. The breakfast was a little over priced but there are plenty of restaurant options around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Joshua S,

Thank you so much for the response! I would like to apologize for the price of our breakfast. I personally think if you graded the price of our food to the quality of the menu items you would find the price represents the food perfectly. My housekeeping team takes great pride in their work and I’m glad to hear you took notice in what a great job they do. Thank you so much for choosing us for your stay in Birmingham, we love having you here!

Regards,
Matthew
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hotel was fine but staff was not very friendly. I made the reservation for 2 adults and 2 children and there were 2 towels in the bathroom. I am a gold member but was not offered breakfast or anything else. The hotel seemed to be attempting to save money by skimping on the guest experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Tabitha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Tabitha S,

I apologize for the lack of recognition of your Hilton Honor membership. We are so thankful to have members like you that stay within the Hilton brand consistently. I will be sure to speak with my agents to make sure they are properly recognizing our Hilton Honor members and even though you were not recognized I personally want to thank you for being a Hilton Honor Gold member. I would like to invite you back to our property so we can turn your “just okay.” experience into a “perfect 10!”

Regards,
Matthew
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
256 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here three days. Told the dedk on the first day that I was disappointed to find no complimentary water (HHonors member) and especially unhappy to find the coffee pot still had the used coffee pak from the previous guest (or the one before that?) still in the coffee maker. Never got the waters. Had dinner on Thursdsy night. VERY nice and attentive staff, but poor bar selection and someone thought it a good idea to put "special" sauce on roasted chicken. Not good. The physical facilities were fine here but the delivery of services was not what I would expect.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAHust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear LAHust,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. It really helps us see where our staff and property can improve. I’m sorry for the issues you incurred during your stay. I understand the inconvenience that can be caused by a poor stay and I’m sorry that we failed to provide you with an outstanding stay and service. I do hope this incident doesn’t leave a bad taste in your mouth and would be honored if you gave our hotel another chance.

Regards,
Matthew
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Hilton Garden was perfect for our golf trip! reasonably priced, great hotel. The beds were comfortable, the room was quiet, and everything was clean. The breakfast staff was very accomodating, and cooked the breakfast to order!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Donald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Donald C,

I’m pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. I hope the weather was good for your golf game. I shared your response with my team and they were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope next time you’re in the area to play a few rounds you stop by and see us!! We love having you here!

Regards,
Matthew
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
7.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham I-65/Lakeshore Drive
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
Address: 520 Wildwood Cir N, Birmingham, AL 35209-7212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Lakeshore Drive/Birmingham hotel is located in the Wildwood, Alabama area off Lakeshore Drive, twelve miles from the Alabama Birmingham International Airport. Downtown Birmingham, the Art Museum and Civil Rights Museum are nearby the Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Lakeshore Drive hotel. The Oxmoor Golf Course, designed by Robert Trent Jones, is close by this Hilton Garden Inn hotel. Deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed Alabama style atmosphere await our Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham, AL hotel guests. Certain to please the busy executive or leisure Alabama traveler are our array of special amenities including complimentary high-speed internet access, in-room hospitality center with a microwave, refrigerator and Keurig coffeemaker, two dual line phones with voicemail and data ports, large work desk, ergonomic chairs, On Command(R) video and games, complimentary HBO, complimentary USA Today each weekday morning, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, fitness center and a 24-hour complimentary business center. The Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham, Alabama hotel offers 1,200 square feet of meeting space as well as catering services. The Garden Grille and Bar Restaurant serves freshly prepared breakfasts. The Pavilion Pantry has a selection of refrigerated, frozen and microwaveable packaged items perfect for in-room preparation. Come enjoy Alabama hospitality and exceptional service at the Hilton Garden Inn's hotel in Birmingham, Alabama. ***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive Hotel Birmingham
Hilton Garden Inn Homewood
Hilton Homewood
Homewood Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing