We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
Ranked #17 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Oops”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place to stay. Clean rooms. Excellent service. Every employee will speak to you and ask if there's anything they can do for you. Great breakfast. Eggs to order. Wait staff will make sure your coffee cup stays full. Hotel lost points with me when one morning I observed a waste receptacle outside the lobby entrance that was overflowing with to go boxes, chicken bones and other debris. I brought it to the attention of desk personnel that said it would be taken care of. It was still there when I left. Appears very un attractive and un sanitary for such a highly rated place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thgr8waldopepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDayeManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear thegr8waldopepper,

I couldn’t agree more, perception is everything!! I’m extremely sorry that the trash was not removed before you left. I know you said we lost points but I hope this incident doesn’t convince you to never stay with us again. I love responses like yours because it shows me what areas at my hotel I can improve on. I hope next time you’re in the Birmingham area you stop by and see us!! I promise the trash receptacle at the entrance will be emptied!!

Sincerely,

Matthew
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    96
    46
    24
    14
See reviews for
126
53
24
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Had a very comfortable stay at Hilton Garden Inn. Great staff to welcome you at reception, very helpful and friendly. Nice and clean rooms with some lovely bathroom aminities and products. And awsome breakfast by cooks who modify menu according to your taste - I loved the veggi breakfast that they made me. Will difinitely come back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PriyankaonTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDayeManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear PriyankaonTrip,

I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to let my Food and Beverage team know how much you enjoyed their cooking. Just like me, they love hearing the praises that guest like you leave on Tripadvisor. They take great pride in accommodating each and every guest. I can’t wait for you to return, we will be sure to have the veggie breakfast ready for you!!

Sincerely,

Matthew
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for nearly 4 weeks on business. The staff provided excellent customer service and genuinely valued the clients staying at the inn. They went above and beyond their job descriptions to make our stay pleasant. They were always smiling and had such a welcoming spirit about them. Nina, Richard, Cheryl & Larissa were quite polite and very knowledgable about the area.
The food at the grill was also very good! Everything was fresh and there were several menu items that we kept going back to. Kisha, Suzie, & Shanequa helped create a laid back and enjoyable atmosphere in the restaurant area! Very sweet and hard-working ladies!
The managers were extremely friendly as well. Matt went out of his way on multiple occasions to ensure everything was above par throughout the hotel.
The entire staff was always smiling! Despite the building being under construction, the employees never missed a beat in offering exceptional service. My colleagues and I were very pleased with everything about this hotel! Other employees that definitely made an impression on us were Treabean, Shaun, Angela, Darnell, & Toney. Great people and top notch accommodations! I would absolutely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kokemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDayeManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Kokemo,

Guests like you make our job seem so easy!! I shared your response with my entire team. They were all pleased with how satisfied you were with your stay. Whether it’s the Great American Grill, your check in experience or the amenities in your room, each department takes great pride in what they do. So when they hear of such wonderful accolades like you wrote. They know that they’re work doesn’t go unnoticed. I know your business hear in Birmingham is over for now but I hope that next time you’re in the area you stop by and say hello!! I would love to catch up with you!


Sincerely,

Matthew
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harahan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive is always our first choice of hotels to stay in Birmingham. They have the nicest staff both at the front desk and in the dining room. They always go out of their way to make you feel welcomed. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is excellent and a good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jean z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDayeManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Jean Z,

Thank you so much for taking time to give our hotel such wonderful accolades here on Trip advisor. Its guest like you that makes our job so enjoyable. Ill be sure to let the Front Desk and F&B team know of your high praises. I can not thank you enough, I hope you stay with us the next time you visit Birmingham.

Regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel at least 10 times over the last year, most recently on 11/13/12. They are always friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and welcoming. They had a fire going in the lobby fireplace, which was a nice touch. The room was clean, nice and enjoyable as usual. When I came down for breakfast in the restaurant, the hostesses were at attention to take great care of me. When looking for a place to call home for the night during a week traveling for business, this is all you can ask for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matbhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDayeManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Matbhh,

I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I also think our fireplace adds a great touch to our beautiful lobby and with the weather getting cooler nothing beats sitting by a fireplace, drinking a hot cup of coffee to warm up. I will make sure to pass on to our F&B team your wonderful praises. They work so hard every day to make sure their guests are happy. I hope next time you’re in Birmingham you stop by and see us!

Warm Regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
123 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We used this as our hotel headquarters while teaching seminars in Birmingham. The hotel staff was great and the hotel is clean, from the rooms, to the pool and spa area, to the restaurant and bar. The morning breakfast buffet is excellent. Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulldog1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDayeManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Bulldog1982,

I’m so glad to hear of the excellent feedback you’ve provided me with. We strive to keep every area in the hotel as clean and neat as possible. You can thank our wonderful Housekeeping staff for that and I will make sure to let them know of your praises! Once again thank you so much for the response and I hope you stay with us next time you’re in Birmingham!

Regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham in October 2012 for buisness. The room was spacious with a king bed, desk (office area), a microwave, refridgerator, and a coffee maker. We had our meetings there in the hotel and the work space functioned well for our needs. I had breakfast at the hotel one morning and was greeted by friendly staff. The food was cooked to my liking and was resonably priced. Within walking distance are several other restaurants as well as shopping. The airport was a 15 minute ride. The only neagtive to the hotel was the bed, It had a large dip in the middle and needed to be replaced. All in all it was a decent hotel on par with other Hilton Garden Inns.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hemming6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDayeManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Papa_Sid,

Thank you so much for the excellent response, I’m sorry to hear that our beds did not meet your expectations. We are actually in the process of renovating and hope when you return to our hotel you can enjoy the finished project. I’ll make sure to let our Food & Beverage team know how much you enjoyed their food and service! Next time you’re in Birmingham please stop by!

Regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
7.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham I-65/Lakeshore Drive
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
Address: 520 Wildwood Cir N, Birmingham, AL 35209-7212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Lakeshore Drive/Birmingham hotel is located in the Wildwood, Alabama area off Lakeshore Drive, twelve miles from the Alabama Birmingham International Airport. Downtown Birmingham, the Art Museum and Civil Rights Museum are nearby the Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Lakeshore Drive hotel. The Oxmoor Golf Course, designed by Robert Trent Jones, is close by this Hilton Garden Inn hotel. Deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed Alabama style atmosphere await our Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham, AL hotel guests. Certain to please the busy executive or leisure Alabama traveler are our array of special amenities including complimentary high-speed internet access, in-room hospitality center with a microwave, refrigerator and Keurig coffeemaker, two dual line phones with voicemail and data ports, large work desk, ergonomic chairs, On Command(R) video and games, complimentary HBO, complimentary USA Today each weekday morning, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, fitness center and a 24-hour complimentary business center. The Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham, Alabama hotel offers 1,200 square feet of meeting space as well as catering services. The Garden Grille and Bar Restaurant serves freshly prepared breakfasts. The Pavilion Pantry has a selection of refrigerated, frozen and microwaveable packaged items perfect for in-room preparation. Come enjoy Alabama hospitality and exceptional service at the Hilton Garden Inn's hotel in Birmingham, Alabama. ***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive Hotel Birmingham
Hilton Garden Inn Homewood
Hilton Homewood
Homewood Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing