We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INCREDIBLE staff, good food and great lodging!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
Ranked #21 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“INCREDIBLE staff, good food and great lodging!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for nearly 4 weeks on business. The staff provided excellent customer service and genuinely valued the clients staying at the inn. They went above and beyond their job descriptions to make our stay pleasant. They were always smiling and had such a welcoming spirit about them. Nina, Richard, Cheryl & Larissa were quite polite and very knowledgable about the area.
The food at the grill was also very good! Everything was fresh and there were several menu items that we kept going back to. Kisha, Suzie, & Shanequa helped create a laid back and enjoyable atmosphere in the restaurant area! Very sweet and hard-working ladies!
The managers were extremely friendly as well. Matt went out of his way on multiple occasions to ensure everything was above par throughout the hotel.
The entire staff was always smiling! Despite the building being under construction, the employees never missed a beat in offering exceptional service. My colleagues and I were very pleased with everything about this hotel! Other employees that definitely made an impression on us were Treabean, Shaun, Angela, Darnell, & Toney. Great people and top notch accommodations! I would absolutely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kokemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDayeManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Kokemo,

Guests like you make our job seem so easy!! I shared your response with my entire team. They were all pleased with how satisfied you were with your stay. Whether it’s the Great American Grill, your check in experience or the amenities in your room, each department takes great pride in what they do. So when they hear of such wonderful accolades like you wrote. They know that they’re work doesn’t go unnoticed. I know your business hear in Birmingham is over for now but I hope that next time you’re in the area you stop by and say hello!! I would love to catch up with you!


Sincerely,

Matthew
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    99
    47
    27
    17
See reviews for
139
56
25
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
harahan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive is always our first choice of hotels to stay in Birmingham. They have the nicest staff both at the front desk and in the dining room. They always go out of their way to make you feel welcomed. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is excellent and a good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jean z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDayeManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Jean Z,

Thank you so much for taking time to give our hotel such wonderful accolades here on Trip advisor. Its guest like you that makes our job so enjoyable. Ill be sure to let the Front Desk and F&B team know of your high praises. I can not thank you enough, I hope you stay with us the next time you visit Birmingham.

Regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel at least 10 times over the last year, most recently on 11/13/12. They are always friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and welcoming. They had a fire going in the lobby fireplace, which was a nice touch. The room was clean, nice and enjoyable as usual. When I came down for breakfast in the restaurant, the hostesses were at attention to take great care of me. When looking for a place to call home for the night during a week traveling for business, this is all you can ask for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matbhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDayeManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Matbhh,

I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I also think our fireplace adds a great touch to our beautiful lobby and with the weather getting cooler nothing beats sitting by a fireplace, drinking a hot cup of coffee to warm up. I will make sure to pass on to our F&B team your wonderful praises. They work so hard every day to make sure their guests are happy. I hope next time you’re in Birmingham you stop by and see us!

Warm Regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We used this as our hotel headquarters while teaching seminars in Birmingham. The hotel staff was great and the hotel is clean, from the rooms, to the pool and spa area, to the restaurant and bar. The morning breakfast buffet is excellent. Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulldog1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDayeManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Bulldog1982,

I’m so glad to hear of the excellent feedback you’ve provided me with. We strive to keep every area in the hotel as clean and neat as possible. You can thank our wonderful Housekeeping staff for that and I will make sure to let them know of your praises! Once again thank you so much for the response and I hope you stay with us next time you’re in Birmingham!

Regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham in October 2012 for buisness. The room was spacious with a king bed, desk (office area), a microwave, refridgerator, and a coffee maker. We had our meetings there in the hotel and the work space functioned well for our needs. I had breakfast at the hotel one morning and was greeted by friendly staff. The food was cooked to my liking and was resonably priced. Within walking distance are several other restaurants as well as shopping. The airport was a 15 minute ride. The only neagtive to the hotel was the bed, It had a large dip in the middle and needed to be replaced. All in all it was a decent hotel on par with other Hilton Garden Inns.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hemming6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDayeManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Papa_Sid,

Thank you so much for the excellent response, I’m sorry to hear that our beds did not meet your expectations. We are actually in the process of renovating and hope when you return to our hotel you can enjoy the finished project. I’ll make sure to let our Food & Beverage team know how much you enjoyed their food and service! Next time you’re in Birmingham please stop by!

Regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed at this hotel over the weekend. At some point after departing my room at 9:00am on Sunday morning and returning at 6:00pm my valuable jewelry was stolen. My wedding rings, sapphire ring, etc. These items were in a jewelry bag in my suitcase...not sitting out. I contacted the hotel asst General Manager who told me there was nothing he could do. Then instructed me to file a police report, which I did. I was told by the asst GM that I would get a call from the hotel GM today, which never came. After serving in military for over 21 years and traveling around the world and staying in 1000s of hotels, I've never had anything stolen. But at this hotel, approx $6k of jewelry was taken!!! So guard your valuables at this place.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDayeManager, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Nan M,
I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experience you had during your stay. I appreciate your speed in bringing this opportunity to me and allowing me to follow up ensuring that you and future guests are taken care of. We do take the safety and security of our guest and their belongings very seriously. As we discussed we are currently investigating the matter. Should you need further assistance please do not hesitate to call on me. Thank you and I look forward to speaking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was the first time I'd stayed at a Hilton Garden Inn...it was a nice, convenient hotel with everything I can think of that you would need. The breakfast was great and getting the 'bed and breakfast' option was well worth the few extra dollars. The room is large enough to be comfortable and the mini fridge and small microwave are nice to have. I've always taken coffee makers for granted, but after a stay in Las Vegas at a resort, I realized just how handy it is to have one in this room. My only complaints are that the rooms are not very sound proof...you hear hallway noise and 'room next door' noise pretty clearly. And the hairdryer is made for men with short hair...definitely not for women with long hair since it is not too powerful and slow. But the bed and pillows were comfy, the room was good and the free wi-fi is a bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatthewDayeManager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Laura W,
Thanks so much for the excellent response. I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope you return soon. We have just started our renovations and look forward to our brand new hotel in 2013. I hope you can come back and enjoy the brand new amenities with us.

Regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
7.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham I-65/Lakeshore Drive
5.2 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
Address: 520 Wildwood Cir N, Birmingham, AL 35209-7212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Lakeshore Drive/Birmingham hotel is located in the Wildwood, Alabama area off Lakeshore Drive, twelve miles from the Alabama Birmingham International Airport. Downtown Birmingham, the Art Museum and Civil Rights Museum are nearby the Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Lakeshore Drive hotel. The Oxmoor Golf Course, designed by Robert Trent Jones, is close by this Hilton Garden Inn hotel. Deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed Alabama style atmosphere await our Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham, AL hotel guests. Certain to please the busy executive or leisure Alabama traveler are our array of special amenities including complimentary high-speed internet access, in-room hospitality center with a microwave, refrigerator and Keurig coffeemaker, two dual line phones with voicemail and data ports, large work desk, ergonomic chairs, On Command(R) video and games, complimentary HBO, complimentary USA Today each weekday morning, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, fitness center and a 24-hour complimentary business center. The Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham, Alabama hotel offers 1,200 square feet of meeting space as well as catering services. The Garden Grille and Bar Restaurant serves freshly prepared breakfasts. The Pavilion Pantry has a selection of refrigerated, frozen and microwaveable packaged items perfect for in-room preparation. Come enjoy Alabama hospitality and exceptional service at the Hilton Garden Inn's hotel in Birmingham, Alabama. ***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive Hotel Birmingham
Hilton Garden Inn Homewood
Hilton Homewood
Homewood Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing