We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel review” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
baldwin county
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

I just want to start off saying this hotel is a great place to stay awesome.The front desk clerk named Nina was like the greatest person . It was my seven year old Birthday and she made it special for him When we arrived she had special sighns in the lobby for him . We could have not picked a better place to stay . The hotel is very clean and friendly . Thanks alot Hilton garden inn for the great stay.I would highly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandyntime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnReaganGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear mandyntime,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback. I will make sure that I pass your congratulations along to Nina. She is one of many fine employees we have working at the Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Lakeshore Drive. I know she will be overjoyed to hear that she made your day. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Birmingham, Alabama.

Regards,

John Reagan
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Lakeshore Drive
520 Wildwood Circle North
Birmingham, AL 35209
Phone: 205-314-0274
Email: John.Reagan@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    95
    46
    22
    13
See reviews for
125
52
23
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Tennessee
Level Contributor
181 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Just stopped overnight, but staff was welcoming, courteous and helpful. Rooms were clean. Pool, hot tub, and workout facilities were fine. Never had a better breakfast at HGI than here. Great staff. I don't like the sleep-number beds.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebandteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnReaganGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear thebandteacher,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It really helps us see where we stand from the guest’s viewpoint. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are especially proud of the breakfast experience that we provide here. I will be sure to pass your praise along to our breakfast team members. I understand that the adjustable garden sleep system beds may not be right for everyone. We do offer a non adjustable version of the garden sleep system in our queen size rooms. We would love for you to give one of them a try next time you are in Birmingham. They are quite luxurious in my opinion. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in town.

Regards,

John Reagan
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Lakeshore Drive
520 Wildwood Circle North
Birmingham, AL 35209
Phone: 205-314-0274
Email: John.Reagan@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, NC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

The front desk staff were extremely friendly and engaging. The room was very nice, very clean and comfortable. The property overall appears well maintained. I had the buffet breakfast 2 mornings and the dining area was clean, the wait staff friendly and the food actually quite good. The custom omelette was good, food hot and actually served rather than going through a buffet line which was a little different. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnReaganGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear thinson,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It really helps us be sure that we are giving you the best service we can provide. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the service the staff provides. I will be sure to convey your praise onto them. Our entire food and beverage department is top notch and they are always looking for ways to provide the best experience possible. Recently, we started having nightly features that are just amazing. Hopefully you will be able to give it a try next time you are in town. We look forward to seeing you when you are back in Birmingham!

Regards,

John Reagan
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Lakeshore Drive
520 Wildwood Circle North
Birmingham, AL 35209
Phone: 205-314-0274
Email: John.Reagan@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

Great, clean, modern hotel. Service was great and helpful.

The hallways aren't very cool. Not sure if the A/C is broken but it was a little too warm.

Also, I know this sounds odd but the carts are very odd to push and at times hard to control. But besides this I love this hotel. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbdalomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnReaganGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Dear jbdalomba,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Lakeshore Drive. Your feedback is important to helping us improve. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am the new General Manager of the property, but I am glad to inform you that since the time of your visit the malfunctioning hallway air conditioner has been repaired. From your review, I will look into the functionality of the bell carts and take the appropriate action. Thank you for bring this issue to my attention. I look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Birmingham, Alabama. If you have any question or concerns please do not hesitate to contact me at the information below. Thank you so much for staying at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Lakeshore Drive.

Kindest Regards,


John Reagan
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
520 Wildwood Drive North
Birmingham, AL 35209
P: 205-314-0274
F: 205-314-0275
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

My husband traveled to Birmingham on business. He is a Hilton Diamond Club member, staying at Hilton properties 3-4 times a week. He called this Hilton Garden Inn the afternoon of his arrival and informed them he would be arriing late. The front desk informed him, "We don't need your name. We got you covered."

He arrived to be told that the king room he reserved had been given away. When he got to his room he found the sheets on his bed completely pulled off and clumped in the middle of the bed and the bathroom had towels thrown all over the floor.

When he informed the front desk, the lasy told him that they could not guarantee that the sheets were even clean!!! No apologies, no offer to make the situation better.

My husband went next door and stayed at the Holiday Inn express and had a wonderful experience.

This Hilton property is disgusting. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! Go next door to the Hioliday Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnReaganGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Dear KristinJo,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback about Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Lakeshore Drive. I am sorry for the issues that your husband had during his stay here in Birmingham. I want you to know that what your husband experience is not a normal occurrence at this location. I am the new General Manager of the property and want to let you know that I will work quickly to resolve any underlying issues that caused your husband to experience the problems he did. I want to assure you that we offer a clean, friendly, and convenient hotel stay while in Birmingham Alabama. Please feel free to contact me at the information below if you have any questions or concerns.


Kindest Regards,

John Reagan

General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
520 Wildwood Drive North
Birmingham, AL 35209
P: 205-314-0274
F: 205-314-0275
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

I was going to Birmingham to meet some old friends I had not seen in a long while. They were coming from different areas, to all meet in my room. I mentioned that during check-in and asked for a room with at least a sofa. The clerk told me he could do a little better then that. So I just said ok, thanks. He gave me my key and I went to my room. Yes it had better then a sofa, it had a living room. I know I will never be that lucky again, but I am planning another trip and his kindness will make me book their again. I realize it must have been a slow week. But that kindness, I will never forget. It was like being in Las Vegas and hitting a jackpot to book a double and get a suite! Amazing how that one kind act has led me to book at other Hilton Garden Inns, when I travel for business.
And if you want to shop or go to restaurants, they are within walking distance. Kids R Us is right across the street!

Room Tip: Always treat the employees as you would someone you cared about. They are doing a job. Try to make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGMDavison, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear jasatt,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feeback regarding your stay here at the Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive. We use feedback such as yours to continually improve our service and to let our team know that they are on the right track when it comes to serving our guests.

Our team works very hard to make sure each of our guests has a pleasant experience and I am so proud to hear that our front desk associate went above your expectations to ensure you were comfortable.

We certainly hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Tennessee
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

My family and I stayed here on our way to Florida. I prefer to stay in Hilton Hotels for the honors points, and generally really like Garden Inns. This one was very nice- friendly front desk staff who made check-in quick. For some reason, we were given a handicap room, which had a shower that was the same level as the rest of the bathroom. The shower head wanted to wander toward the curtain while showering, so we managed to get the bathroom floor very wet. Other than that, the room was perfect. Beds comfortable, air conditioning worked just fine. If I had to be in Birmingham again, I would gladly stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mckinna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGMDavison, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear mckinna1,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how things went during your recent stay here at the Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive.

I am pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your stay overall. I apologize for the inconvenience that the shower caused for you. Sometimes those can be a bit tricky. The definite trade off is the much more spacious guestroom.

We hope that you will continue to choose Hilton Garden Inn when you travel, and continue to take the time to provide your feedback. We all consider it very valuable and we use it to improve our service.

Thank you again! We will see you the next time you are in Birmingham!

DeAnn Davison-Caulk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
7.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham I-65/Lakeshore Drive
6.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
Address: 520 Wildwood Cir N, Birmingham, AL 35209-7212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Lakeshore Drive/Birmingham hotel is located in the Wildwood, Alabama area off Lakeshore Drive, twelve miles from the Alabama Birmingham International Airport. Downtown Birmingham, the Art Museum and Civil Rights Museum are nearby the Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Lakeshore Drive hotel. The Oxmoor Golf Course, designed by Robert Trent Jones, is close by this Hilton Garden Inn hotel. Deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed Alabama style atmosphere await our Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham, AL hotel guests. Certain to please the busy executive or leisure Alabama traveler are our array of special amenities including complimentary high-speed internet access, in-room hospitality center with a microwave, refrigerator and Keurig coffeemaker, two dual line phones with voicemail and data ports, large work desk, ergonomic chairs, On Command(R) video and games, complimentary HBO, complimentary USA Today each weekday morning, indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, fitness center and a 24-hour complimentary business center. The Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham, Alabama hotel offers 1,200 square feet of meeting space as well as catering services. The Garden Grille and Bar Restaurant serves freshly prepared breakfasts. The Pavilion Pantry has a selection of refrigerated, frozen and microwaveable packaged items perfect for in-room preparation. Come enjoy Alabama hospitality and exceptional service at the Hilton Garden Inn's hotel in Birmingham, Alabama. ***** Everything. Right where you need it. ***** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive Hotel Birmingham
Hilton Garden Inn Homewood
Hilton Homewood
Homewood Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing