We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fallen on hard times?”

Ruffner Mountain Nature Preserve
Ranked #21 of 93 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 1,000-acre oasis in downtown Birmingham attracts birdwatchers, hikers and nature lovers to its 11 miles of hiking and walking trails, nature center with native animals, picnic area, gardens, gift shop and special sunset hikes with wine and cheese or moonlight treks with music.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fallen on hard times?”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I had never been to Birmingham before and I was looking forward to having a day to explore the city and what it has to offer. I had read about the Ruffner Mountain Nature Center, so I went there in the early afternoon, hoping to do some hiking. The Nature Center and the visitor's facilities, near the parking lot, all looked like they had seen better days, and the displays of live creatures, indigenous to the area, in the Nature Center were pretty depressing. I was turned off by the appearance of the Nature Center, and I ended up not exploring the Ruffner Mountain trails that afternoon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    35
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
147 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL VISTAS !GREAT HIKING”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is our favorite hiking area because it is so close to town.
It is located just East of the airport. There is good parking and a lovely Nature Pavilion. There is a moderate 300 foot climb at the
beginning of the trail. You can then hike an easy 4 mile loop that
has spectacular views of Birmingham and the country side.
You will hike north along a long ridge and empties into a large
quarry with cliffs and beautiful vistas. These trails are rarely busy
And are quite easy to hike.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Its unbelievable to know that:
1.Its a private-owned preserve
2.that much extensive greenery and the natural hike trails are next door to the downtown birmingham.

Beautiful place for a hike. The neighborhood leading to the park as such might raise an eye-brow but trust me, the ride is worth it all. Acres and Acres of untouched foliage and trails that are totally canopied by trees, is a welcome relief from everyday busy schedules. I personally would not want to go there closer to sundown time, as even in broad daylight, the trails dont see much of sunlight. But,if you are in bham and want to take a peaceful hike close to nature, this is your place!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank kn081083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Unexpected Hike”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I did not expect such an extensive park so close to downtown Birmingham. This park is near the airport. Coming from the San Francisco bay area where there is lot of open space, I was happy to see this so close to the city center. I wish I had the time to do lot more hiking. We were on a very long trip. Surprised that there were not many locals enjoying the beauty.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank docLosAltos_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun learning experience”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Nature Center has a Naturalist on staff, and they know how to tailor their information to adults or youth.

Helpful?
4 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruffner Mountain Nature Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Ruffner Mountain Nature Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing