We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“IMAX theater”

McWane Science Center
Ranked #3 of 90 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fun and learning never end at McWane Science Center, a nonprofit, hands-on museum and IMAX(R) Dome Theater. Four floors of interactive exhibits celebrate science and wonder - from an amazing collection of dinosaurs to innovative environmental showcases, imaginative early childhood playgrounds, and an awe-inspiring aquarium. The energy and excitement of discovery spring to life through an extensive lineup of science demonstrations performed daily by talented educators. The adventure intensifies in the IMAX(R) Dome Theater, where wide-eyed visitors experience the sights and sounds of breathtaking films on a 5-story-tall screen surrounded by 3 tons of high-intensity speakers.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“IMAX theater”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I've seen the Jerusalem presentation twice this summer. The attendants were all friendly, knowledgeable and helpful in managing the long lines.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kentandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Public Relations Manager at McWane Science Center, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Glad you got to see Jerusalem this summer - isn't it breathtaking? Thank you for giving our staff a "shout out" - they really enjoy serving our visitors and really love the IMAX. I hope you will come see us in the future - we have more great IMAX movies in our schedule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    161
    40
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moulton, Alabama
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for ALL Ages!!!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Parking deck makes parking quick and easy In all kinds of weather! The center has 4 floors of intriguing and interactive science activities and exhibits for people of ALL ages!! My family visited last weekend and there was plenty for all of us to enjoy!!! From my husband and I, at 60 to our 8 month old grandson....there were ample things for all of us to do!! Our only regret was that we had no more than a 2-3 hours to spend there! You need to spend the day to experience all of it. There is also an IMAX theatre, which we weren't able to see in our short visit. There is a small informal cafe, but I didn't really take the time to notice the available foods. Gift shop is great shopping, especially for children, and Tweens!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Public Relations Manager at McWane Science Center, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
I am so glad to hear you had a great time on your last visit with us. I always tell people we have plenty to keep "all ages" occupied and interested. You really must try to see the IMAX next time you are here - it is a Dome theater which makes it surround you even more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“educational and fun”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My family of 5 have been several times and always find something new and always have a great time! We learn something while having fun.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank brownidgrl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Public Relations Manager at McWane Science Center, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
I am happy to hear you have a great time when you visit us - but don't tell anyone you are learning anything...we like to keep that part secret (smiley face.) We try to bring exhibits and activities that are hands on as well as educational for all ages. We truly believe you can have a lot of fun even if you are being taught something. Please come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, GA- outside of Atlanta
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“a nice afternoon”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was a fun place to visit, and my daughter seemed to enjoy it. She's very low-key and probably didn't utilize all of the fun gadgets. But we enjoyed ourselves. It was a little crowded (on a summer Saturday) but it was large enough to handle all the groups. We didn't feel overcrowded.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mpotter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Public Relations Manager at McWane Science Center, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to McWane Science Center. I am glad you and your daughter had a great afternoon together! Summer is in fact a busy time for us - I am glad the crowd did not bother you on your visit. I hope you come visit us again - you will no doubt find some gadgets you missed the first time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niceville, fl
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Did not like that there were so many people running around:)
The staff was sub-par; rude and lazy.

Still great place to spend time indoors.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank murch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Public Relations Manager at McWane Science Center, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit - sounds like it was a busy day. As much as we enjoy seeing a large number of visitors each day, we know it can tend to get overwhelming when the kids excitement level might be a tad loud on some days. We are trying to work on a way to let people know what our attendance numbers are regarding group reservations, it will help an individual decide on their own attendance that day. I am sorry to hear the staff did not impress you - we will definitely have to work on that too. Thank you again for visiting - please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McWane Science Center also viewed

 

Been to McWane Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing