We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First timer. Very impressed.”

The Wine Loft of Birmingham
Ranked #156 of 960 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: American, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Located in the heart of Downtown Birmingham, The Wine Loft is a fixture of the City’s Loft District. On the bottom floor of the Goodall-Brown Loft building, the historic building dates back to 1906. Exposed brick walls, high ceilings, innovative tabletops built on vintage radiators, and beautiful oversized windows overlooking 1st Avenue North make the versatile space charming and elegant. While functioning daily as a restaurant and bar, the over 5,000 square foot venue is quintessential for special occasions ranging from an intimate date night to engagement parties, wedding showers, rehearsal dinners, wedding receptions, holiday parties, reunions, graduations, business meetings, corporate functions, networking mixers. For small groups or large parties of up to 250 guests, The Wine Loft has everything you need for a worry –free, unique, memorable event.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First timer. Very impressed.”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Wow I was so impressed with the food and the atmosphere. Very diverse group of people. Shrimp/grits, flatbread pizza and tiramisu were all excellent. Our server was very kind and genuine as well. We had a groupon but I'd go even if I didn't have one now. Nice nice place.

Helpful?
1 Thank QueenZenobia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Celebration!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I really liked the wine loft. The setting was very good, the location was nice and the food and drinks were great!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brenda328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wedding Reception”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our daughter had her wedding reception at the loft and everything was great. The staff was friendly and efficient during the planning stages. The food, wine and drinks were served at the proper temperature and were tasty. I forgot the bride's and brides' maids' bouquets and the loft saved them for us to pick up the next day.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MOB39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great wine and atmosphere, food not so much.”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Had a chance to check out The WIne Loft yesterday evening for dinner and drinks and overall the experience wasn't a 10 but more like a 7. I would say that this is not a place I would recommend for dinner but definitely would for the atmosphere and ambience. We ordered our wine and beer first while checking out the menu. Our server was okay and suggested several wines to try. We were very hungry, sat at the bar, and ordered the Maryland style crab cakes, the Filet Mignon pistoletttes, and the Shrimp scampi w/corn grits.The crab cakes were lukewarm and somewhat tasty but lacking something, the pistolettes were too thin and the bun was extremely hard and dry, and we had to add salt and pepper to the shrimp scampi but the grits were cooked perfectly and very creamy. The prices aren't that bad, but I was not full whatsoever and we ended up going to another restaurant to eat. Overall a great place for wine but not to dine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pianoeight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Was there over the weekend, good food, good wine, give it a go. Nice place for a night out or meet some friends for a drink...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frankied92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Loft of Birmingham also viewed

 

Been to The Wine Loft of Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing