We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had traveled for graduation and were bringing back a puppy so were looking for a pet friendly hotel. I was worried about staying in a "pet-friendly" hotel but was pleasantly surprised. Rooms were clean and smelled fresh. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was average hotel breakfast but was fine. Defintely a good place to stay if you have a pet. We had viewed several other pet friendly hotels and were quite disappointed but this was a clean and comfortable stay. Beds were small (doubles vs queen) and bathroom was small, but overall a good stay for the price and we would stay again. Also hotel is located in a very nice area

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    133
    47
    13
    6
See reviews for
245
163
28
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Staff was very friendly and hotel was excellent. The only complaint I had was the chlorine smell in the pool and hot tub area was excessive. I brought this to the staffs attention and they assured me it would be looked into.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rusty0792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern State
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our family stayed at this particular Drury on the drive to Florida for Spring Break. We usually stay at the Drury Inn SW but there was a $50 price difference between the two so since this one was not that out of the way, we chose it. Plus about a mile away is a huge, upscale shopping area for retail therapy after riding in the car for hours. Even though the parking lot was gated, the area was safe and secure. The hotel is near an interestate exchange but is up and off a major local road, nestled among what appear to be townhouses.

Checkin went well. No complaints. Courteous desk person. We had asked for a quiet room and even though it was near the lobby elevator, it was quiet. As one reviewer mentioned, there are several rooms which are located overlooking the lobby atrium , rather than the hallways. Those rooms would be very noisy even if the hotel was not full so if you stay at this or any Drury, make sure you ask.

Our room was spotless. The beds were comfortable. Linens soft and pillows of good quality. Vanity is located just off the sleeping area with a separate toilet and shower/tub. Shower contains large dispensers for shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. Plenty of towels. Flat screen with any channel you could want to watch. Microwave/refrigerator in every room.

Evening kick-back and morning breakfast were good. Nice variety of food regardless of your tastes. There were two staff members working the area. Only hiccup at breakfast was that a number of unsupervised kids took command of the waffle iron for at least 20 minutes making one waffle after another so that others could not use it. Parents were nowhere in sight and staff did nothing about it.

The hotel does allow pets. Even though pets were supposedly not allowed in the food area, at least two people didn't think the rule applied to them and had their dogs dining with them so that we all got to dine with the dogs. This is why I don't care for hotels that allow pets even though I own pets. UGH.

My one big complaint, besides the dogs in the food area, is that there isn't any kind of rule regarding the wearing of clothes in the food area/lobby. During the evening kick-back, the area was again taken over by groups of kids, most having just gotten out of the pool and having not dried off. They dripped puddles of water all over the place and created a slip/fall hazard. These kids were in their swimsuits, no shoes, no shirts, etc.. Several were teenage girls in their teeny bikinis. Did I mention teeny? But I can't talk too much about them because there were also a couple of older women in their swimsuits who wore coverups which did not cover them up. My table had a ringside seat to it all when they bent over the food buffet. My eyes! My eyes!!!

Drury Management: If you don't already have a policy on wearing appropriate clothing in the food area, please get one. If you do have one in place, ask your staff to start enforcing it. Swimsuits are for the pool or the deck of a cruise ship. They are not for the small dining area of the Drury Inn!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KYSunnyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We visit Birmingham frequently and usually stay at the Hampton Inn Collonade, but wanted to try the Drury. We won't return. Our room overlooked an atrium, and even if it was not crowed, noise rose from the lobby area below. It did diminish by 10 PM. The room was nothing special -- quite small, very small bathroom, and a very uncomfortable bed with lumpy pillows. Could not take advantage of the free breakfast because a large bus tour occupied every table and food and coffee ran out.

Room Tip: Don't choose the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodiehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We sincerely apologize you were not pleased with your stay. We want every guest to be delighted with their stay. Please contact the hotel and ask for me. I would like to personally invite you back to show you what a typical Drury visit is like. I look forward to speaking with you.

Always at Your Service,
Stephanie West
General Manager
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phenix City, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Staff were wonderful, The food preparers were awesome and the drink handelers were the best. The only down side was the pool was being worked on. The atmosphere and the staff more than made up for the loss. Glenn is the man Go Dawgs.. The room was well taken care of and the cleaning were top knotch.

Room Tip: Ask for Glenn
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel was very nice. It was easy to find - right off the interstate. The staff seemed a little slow in realizing you were waiting but once they noticed you they were great. The gentleman who checked us in told us to go ahead and check out the kickback buffet for dinner then check in because it only had a few minutes left. We checked and there were only a couple of baked potatoes and some hot dogs left. Not what we were expecting but it was almost over (5 minutes left) and there was no reason for them to fix more at that point. We went back over to the front desk and requested info on nearby restaurants after apologizing for being a pain to him but our 2 1/2 hour trip had taken 4 due to weather and accidents. He gave us a list and easy directions to the one we wanted as well as a room upgrade because he felt sorry for us. He was very talkative and made us feel very welcome. He even took time to carry on a conversation with my daughter and didn't act like it bothered him at all to get down on an 8 year old's level. He told us that after we ate, there would be popcorn and drinks in the lobby if we wanted to take them to our room.

The room was clean but I can't speak for the quiet part. There must have been a dance competition nearby because we saw several dance groups on the elevator and at breakfast. we had the impression that one group must have been in the room above us because there was quite a bit of stomping going on late into the night. We could have called the front desk but just waited it out. Under normal circumstances, I don't think there would be any issues with noise.

The breakfast buffet was good (especially for free)! Check out was easy. We would quickly stay here again as well as recommend it to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniferj76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed at this Drury location, and was extremely pleased with the hotel. In addition to the bonus of free snacks, drinks and breakfast, we were graciously allowed an early check-in. Glenn at the front desk is fabulous, very accommodating and a top notch staff member. We would recommend this Drury location, and will retrn.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stacy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
7.2 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham/280 East-Eagle Point
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
Address: 3510 Grandview Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35243-1929
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#3 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast is located near I-459 and Highway 280 in Colonnade Corporate Center, a quiet suburb only 17 minutes from downtown. Free breakfast is served every day, as well as free hot food and cold beverages at our evening 5:30 Kickback(R). South Birmingham offers upscale shopping, dining and destination golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Se Hotel Birmingham
Drury Inn And Suites Birmingham Se
Drury Inn Birmingham
Drury Birmingham
Birmingham Drury Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing