We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Best Western I've ever stayed at.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
Ranked #5 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Newbern, Tennessee
Level Contributor
158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 651 helpful votes
“The best Best Western I've ever stayed at.”
Reviewed June 4, 2009

I can't give this place high enough marks. The room was comfortable and quite, the breakfast was excellent, and the location was first-rate. You are directly along side a mall, and several restaurants. Wal-Mart, Hobby Lobby and other business are across the main road by the hotel. Plus you are just south of downtown Birmingham, and all the sights the city and surrounding area has to offer. The staff was superb. My eight-year-old son is named Carlton. He asked the manager about the hotel's name being like his, and they hit it off together superbly. At the end of a long trip, it made our day.

The hotel was clean, and in a rather safe looking area. The ground floor appeared to be just a tad bit underground, and I guess it could make a better-than-nothing storm shelter, if need be. There was an afternoon manager's reception, and we had the best breakfast of our trip, consisting of our choice of eggs, gravy, biscuits, sasuage, cereal, milk, juices and fruit.

I cannot comment on the indoor pool because it was closed for repairs. If it was like everything else there, it would be first rate, too.

The next time we are in Birmingham, this will be the place for us to stay. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DyersburgTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    193
    54
    27
    20
See reviews for
298
205
51
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham alabama
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2009

The room was outstanding so were the employees. The breakfast was fantastic dining room very,very clean. All my fellow soldiers want me to only book them at this hotel only from this day foward. So please keep up the good work!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romeo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2009

This is a magnificient hotel with a wonderful and courteous staff present. I recommend any and everyone that wants and needs a good nights sleep in a 5 star hotel to visit Best Wester Carlton Suite in Birmingham, AL. You will be highly pleased and never want to leave.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sweetness007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flovenature
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2009

The staff is wonderful, very friendly and helpful. We were there with many other families for a wrestling tournament. Large rooms to spread out in was really a nice thing. There are several restaurants and stores very close to the hotel for great convenience.
Jenny-SDwrestling

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank Flovenature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We had 6 search and rescue k-9 teams stay there for 3 days during a search for a missing person. We had our search dogs with us in the hotel room. Hotel management was very cooperative and pleasant to deal with. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast excellent.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — everything was perfect
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sgsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2008

Although the price was fair with AARP rate, I would not stay here again. I chose it because of the indoor pool. Pool was nice but both water and air temp were too cool.
Room had a musty odor which became acceptable with several hours of running the AC. Double beds instead of queen beds. Breakfast was not very good. It looked good, but cool and stale. Next trip to Birmingham, I'll try the Drury Inn next door. I stayed at the Hampton Inn nearby the last trip to Birmingham and it was up to Hampton Inn standards.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
8 Thank GAmom_of_many
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2007

We found ourselves at the Best Western Carlton Suites when our other accommodations turned out to be unacceptable. What a pleasant surprise. The staff was friendly and accommodating, the rooms and common areas were clean and well-maintained and the free hot breakfast and manager's receptions were much appreciated. The hotel is convenient to many nice chain restaurants too. The only cons were the fitness center--the weight machines weren't functional--and the television reception--the picture was always snowy.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — fitness center
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BTSManagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
0.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
7.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
Address: 140 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209-7186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites hotel, free full hot cooked breakfast buffet, managers reception Mon-Thus, indoor heated swimming pool, fitness and business center, 42" flat screen tv's, washer/dryer room, free high speed internet and local calls, microwave/refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carlton Hotel Birmingham
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Birmingham
Birmingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing