We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice accomodations”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Nice hotel, nice location close to several restaurants and stores and not too far from the interstate. We stayed for a quick overnight and had no big complaints. The indoor heated pool was nice to relax after a long day on the road, and the breakfast was nothing too fancy, but tasty and everything you would want/expect for a hotel buffet. My only minor complaints were that our bed mattress was pretty firm, the A/C unit was kind of noisy, and the TV (nice flat screen) was mounted on the wall directly in between the bedroom and living room, so you couldn't look at it directly from either the bed or the couch. Service staff was friendly - very quick check in and check out. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clint494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Clint494,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let the Tripadvisor community know about your stay. We appreciate your comments about our staff and hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the indoor heated pool. We would love to have to you stay with us again if you are ever in the Birmingham area in the future. Thank you again for your review! Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    198
    62
    28
    23
See reviews for
307
211
54
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pentwater, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Complete filth floors! Rooms above yours squeek constantly! Cigarette smell everywhere!
Over priced even if we would of paid $50.00!
Parking bad for long trucks!
Dirty, stinky, not well lit for trucks, just gross!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Bzilly,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. On behalf of the staff, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We are an all-suite hotel offering clean, spacious suites. We offer both smoking and non-smoking suites. We do offer free parking. Guests with larger vehicles such as buses, trailers, etc. are welcomed and space is based on availability. Our parking lot is well lit for the safety of our guests and employees. We strive to make sure that each of our guests has a safe and enjoyable experience at our hotel. We would love to hear more about your experience so that we can provide a better experience for our guests in the future. Please contact us at the hotel at your convenience. Thank you again for your review.

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is a very friendly hotel with a great staff. I stayed the for over a month and had nothing but s fantastic experience. The breakfast is great except for the bacon which was always burnt but there enough to choose from that this didn't really matter. Happy hour is a great way to unwind after a day at work and Brahnt the bartender is a true gem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Steven D,

Thank you so much for staying with us! We are very happy to hear that you had a fantastic experience at our hotel. On behalf of the staff, I would like to apologize for your breakfast experience with the bacon. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. Thank you for your kind compliments about our bartender, Brandt. We host a Manager’s Reception Monday through Thursday for our guests to unwind and chat with other guests after a busy day. Thank you again for you review! We hope to see you again in the future.

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights in a King Suite. The furnishings were nice but the textured walls gave it an out of date feel. The room was a good size with a sleeper sofa, desk and fridge and bar area on one side while the bed and bath were on the other. The layout was kind of weird. The TV was wall mounted and directly faced the wall between the sofa and bed, so you could see it from both but there was no head on view. If it had been mounted on a swivel bracket this would have solved the issue. The path between the end of the bed and the bureau was very narrow.

The location of the hotel was very convenient. It was right off of I-65, there were numerous reataurants (and competing hotels) around and some shopping.

There was a weird smell in the hallways and a different weird smell in our room. Opening the window helped to air it out.

The staff were all very pleasant. There was a wide variety of foods for breakfast but the eggs were not good.

Overall it was a good-sized comfortable room for the price we paid.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
DebAE,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and let us know about your stay. We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the layout of your room and that eggs were not to your liking. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We are happy to know that you were pleased with your overall stay. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us. Thank you again for you letting us know about your experience.


Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I was really impressed with the cleanliness of the lobby and room. I felt like I was staying in a 5 star Hotel. The internet connection was easy to get on and the user id and password was stamped on the key envelope. The shower was wonderful

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ginger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Ginger W,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are thrilled to know that you felt like you were staying at a 5 star hotel. We believe that our guests should be given the best when it comes to customer service and care. Thank you for your kind compliments about our hotel! We hope that you will come and visit us again soon!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay at a great price. All the staff were very courteous and friendly. I chose this hotel because of the indoor heated pool which we truly enjoyed using. I will definitely stay here again. This hotel is just off the interstate which made it very easy to find with plenty of places to dine out nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Tana C,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are happy to know you enjoyed the indoor heated pool! I hope you had a chance to “see our dolphins” We appreciate you choosing to stay with us! Thank you again for your review!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pike Road, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Carlton Suites are our #1 stop when we come to Birmingham. The staff is excellent and we're close to everything. They don't miss a thing when it comes to customer service. We have made this our home away from home and it's our destination for the Magic City Classic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Malcolm B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your kind comments about our staff and hotel. We thank you for choosing to stay with us year after year for the Magic City Classic. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
0.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
7.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham/280 East-Eagle Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
Address: 140 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209-7186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites hotel, free full hot cooked breakfast buffet, managers reception Mon-Thus, indoor heated swimming pool, fitness and business center, 42" flat screen tv's, washer/dryer room, free high speed internet and local calls, microwave/refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Best Western, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carlton Hotel Birmingham
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Birmingham
Birmingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing