We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
Nearby Hotels
$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Comfort Inn(Birmingham)
$84
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
$89
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (929)
Filter reviews
929 results
Traveler rating
582
214
70
32
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
582
214
70
32
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslandry's seafoodmanager's receptionindoor poolroom was cleanthe general managerking suitebiscuits and gravyconference roombirmingham areafree drinkswould definitely stay here againrestaurants and shoppingyogurtthe breakfast areastaff was friendlybwwalmart
Filter
Updating list...
590 - 595 of 929 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay at a great price. All the staff were very courteous and friendly. I chose this hotel because of the indoor heated pool which we truly enjoyed using. I will definitely stay here again. This hotel is just off the interstate which made it very easy to find with plenty of places to dine out nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Tana C,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are happy to know you enjoyed the indoor heated pool! I hope you had a chance to “see our dolphins” We appreciate you choosing to stay with us! Thank you again for your review!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Carlton Suites are our #1 stop when we come to Birmingham. The staff is excellent and we're close to everything. They don't miss a thing when it comes to customer service. We have made this our home away from home and it's our destination for the Magic City Classic.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Malcolm B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your kind comments about our staff and hotel. We thank you for choosing to stay with us year after year for the Magic City Classic. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at the best western carlson suites. It was located in a great place to access and near plenty of places to eat. We were there for an Eagles concert at the Jefferson Center and had a blast. We'll definitley consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Samuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Samuel G,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are located right off Interstate 65, and we are 10 minutes south of downtown Birmingham making us an ideal location near many attractions. I hope that the Eagles concert was awesome! We look forward to having you back in the future!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a pleasant experience for our first try at a BW Plus Carlton. The hotel was very clean, well appointed, convenient location off highway, and more importantly pet friendly. Although no first floor rooms available, we were given a room at the top of the stairs and near lawn. It was very quiet location, yet several restaurants from upscale (Landry's) to fast food (Arby's, McDs, Wendy's) nearby within easy walking distance, safe and well lit. Quite impressive breakfast offering as well. My only complaint, which is just a pet peeve of mine, is the number of mirrors in room. I like a smaller mirror available away from the sink so that my husband can use it while I apply makeup in another place. The room did not have a floor length mirror either. Overall, great hotel and we noted its location for future trips through the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtbuny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dtbuny,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Thank you for so much for giving our hotel a try. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our full, hot buffet breakfast. Unfortunately, we only have the standard mirrors in our rooms. We will look into your suggestion for future renovations. Thank you again for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Having visited several Best Western Plus’ in the past, this hotel easily met our expectations. The front desk staff (Jigisha in particular) was very attentive and prompt. They fulfilled my request for an early check in, provided free in-room Wi-Fi for guests, served a complimentary hot breakfast in the lobby, and offered lots of free parking.

The room was clean and spacious, with a “kitchenette” (microwave, bar sink, and mini-fridge), couch, and desk. The bathroom was a bit dated, but had a newer shower head installed and a fan you could turn on & off (other hotels we've visited don't have a switch for the fan). The sink was outside of the bathroom, which I always find a bit odd, but otherwise the room was very nice. We were only in town for one night, to see the Alabama/LSU football game, and the drive to/from Tuscaloosa was no problem (approx. 1 hour).

We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay in Birmingham. The manager stopped by our table at breakfast to check if everything was going well, so they obviously want their guests to enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theNYdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

theNYdog,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to know that you were greeted by our friendly staff members at check-in. Thank you for your kind compliments. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that you enjoyed the game as well! If you are ever in Birmingham again, we’d love to have you stay with us! Thank you again for your review!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews