We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites
Ranked #6 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas Ga, United States
1 review
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We really enjoy the place it was very clean and the staff was nice room was a pleasure to stay in. We would stay there again when we are in the Homewood Birmingham Alabama area. I would recommend this hotel to other people that I know that would be in the Birmingham Alabama area for business, vacation or whatever the occasion

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kendrick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Kendrick J,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for recommending us to the Tripadvisor community. We appreciate your review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    187
    54
    26
    20
See reviews for
289
203
49
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Union Springs, Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I travel on business often. And I usually stay 3 or more nights at the time. The Carlton Suites is my first choice when I am in the Birmingham area. The staff is super friendly, and make me feel like they really care that I have everything that I need when I'm there. In Birmingham I definitely recommend the Carlton Suites.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
To our happy traveler Alan A,

Thank you so much for continuing to stay with us! Thank you for your kind compliments about our staff! We work hard to make sure you and all of our guests have an enjoyable stay! Thank you for recommending us as your choice hotel in Birmingham. Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have stayed here for more than 60 days. I find that all the staff are very concerned with my comfort. From the General Manager to any of the other staff, they are concerned with my pleasure first and foremost. I have not found a better value nor higher quality in any other hotel in the area. My compliments to all the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fmartin33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Fmartin33,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! Yes, you are right! We are concerned about your comfort and satisfaction as well as the comfort and satisfaction of all our guests. We want to make sure that each and every guest has an enjoyable experience! We appreciate your kind compliments. It is reassuring to hear from our guests that we are making them feel great when having to stay and work away from home for an extended period of time or whether they are here for just a day! As always if there’s anything we can do, just let us know! Thank you again for your review!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton VA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stay away risk of carrying roaches home. 9 rooms booked 6 had roaches. Manager tried to spray pesticide while we were in the room. Offered different room but seriously evident this is issue thru out the hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
4 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
To Our Guest Robert E,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and let us know about your stay. On behalf of the staff of the Best Western PLUS Carlton Suites, I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with insects in your room. Our hotel has the highest quality standards regarding routine pest control. Since your stay pest control has come out to investigate your two rooms as well as all of the rooms of the hotel. It is not the policy of our hotel to ignore a pest problem or any problem with guest satisfaction. Thank you again for reviewing us on Tripadvisor.

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

David was a delight to work with from beginning to end.My daughter and I enjoyed our stay in Alabama for the first time. We passed though to take her to college in Texas.The breakfast and the manager reception was a awesome touch to the southern hospitality. The room we stayed in was a suite that had a separate lounge area with a couch my daughter was able to set her computer up in this area and notdisturb me as I watched television in the divided sleep area. The accommendations and bar area was all updated. The swimming pool area was very clean. The hotel was very close to shopping.If you wanted to walk this would have been possible as well.AT CHECK-OUT THE LADIES@ THE FRONT DESK WAS ALSO VERY PLEASANT AND THANKED US FOR STAYING WITH THEM.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Keisha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Keisha J,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! Thank you for your kind compliments about our staff members, David and Jigisha. They are wonderful assets to our team! We serve a complimentary full, hot buffet breakfast every morning from 6AM-9AM and a complimentary Manager’s Reception, Monday-Thursday from 5PM-7PM. We have an indoor heated pool to relax in after a busy day. We hope that your daughter has a wonderful school year! If you are ever passing through Birmingham again we’d love to have you back. Thank you again for your review!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Fantastic hotel with amazing manager and staff. A brilliant find if you are looking for the best and safe parking for your bikes. The hotel is beautifully appointed and well laid out, and although does not have a restaurant, there are plenty within easy walking distance. The seafood one across the road was great. Love to stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jodi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Jodi L,

Thank you so for choosing to stay with us! It was a pleasure having you and your guests stay here! Thank you for your kind compliments about our hotel and staff! We are a Best Western Plus hotel offering that little something extra. If you are travelling in the future, be sure to try out the Best Western Premier which offers on-site dining and will be sure to leave a lasting impression! Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. I hope that your trip across the U.S. is going well. If you are ever in Birmingham again be sure to stop by! Thank you again for your review!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way to FL. When we left we forgot to grab our swimsuits from the bathroom where they were drying (family of 4) When I realized the next day that we had left our items I called and was told they would ship me my items and charge the amount to my card. We had left on Aug 9 and I had still not received my items on Aug 16 so I called back and was told my items were shipped on the 15th. I asked why our items were not shipped for a week and there was no explanation. When our items finally arried on Aug 20th they were all ruined. They had been sitting in a sealed plastic bag damp for a week and a half. We were not happy. They could have at least opened the bag if they were going to leave them for a week!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
To our guest Melissa V,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. On behalf of the entire staff at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations with the shipment of your items. Although the hotel is not responsible for left behind items, we did ship your items to you. Due to a series of unexpected and unfortunate events with our General Manager and the loss of his mother we did fall behind on getting your items shipped to you as expected. We did drop the ball and we do apologize for any inconvenience you encountered and hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we may provide you with a better experience. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know about your experience.

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
0.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
4.8 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
7.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites
Address: 140 State Farm Parkway, Birmingham, AL 35209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#4 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites hotel, free full hot cooked breakfast buffet, managers reception Mon-Thus, indoor heated swimming pool, fitness and business center, 42" flat screen tv's, washer/dryer room, free high speed internet and local calls, microwave/refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carlton Hotel Birmingham
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Birmingham
Birmingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing