We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I wouldn't even think about staying anywhere else in Birmingham after staying here. Management and staff are VERY personable and make you feel like you are a guest in their home. Property is very well-maintained, very comfortable rooms, great breakfast. We flew to Birmingham, bought a motorcycle, and did not have any way to transport one of our carry-on bags back on the motorcycle. These folks coordinated the shipping of the bag via FedEx -- that's bending over backwards where I come from. Also, Best Western is an American Airlines partner, so you can earn miles for your stay. If only this property was at the airport!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyTruelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

CathyTruelove,

Wow! What an honor to know that you wouldn’t think about staying anywhere else in Birmingham. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and hotel. We work hard to ensure that each of our guests has a satisfying experience. I’m happy to know that we were able to help you get your items back home. We also partner with airlines such as Delta, Southwest, United and many more as well as some rental car companies. With Best Western Rewards there are many ways to reward yourself! Thank you for letting the Tripadvisor community know about your experience! We hope to see you soon!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 911 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Was pleasantly surprised during our stay because the breakfast food was really good and the room was clean and well lit which, according to my wife, is very important because most hotels don't have sufficient lighting with a place to sit down and apply makeup. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Walter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Walter R,

Thank you for your review of our hotel! We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay so much that you will return again! I’m glad that you visited our full, hot buffet breakfast that we served every morning. We are an all-suite hotel offering clean, spacious rooms for our guests to unwind and relax. We are pleased that your wife enjoyed the lighting and could get ready with ease! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is located very close to everything a traveler will need. There are some good restaurants. Wal-Mart and Sam's club are right across the street. Old Navy and other shopping almost across the parking lot. Although there is not much to do in Birmingham this is a nice place to stop and stay on a road trip. The Rooms are cleam and spacious. The pull out couch bed was terrible though. But for one night it was ok. The breakfast in the morning has a lot of variety; however the salt shaker on our table was full of ants. They did take care of the issue right away once I brought it to there attention. Thanks for a good stay!

Room Tip: If you can go for the double queen room. (if you have more than two travelers)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alesia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Alesia L,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! You are right! We are located in an ideal location for the traveler on the go! With easy access off of Interstate 65, we are a great stopover for anyone travelling through Birmingham. I am sorry that the sofa sleeper was not as comfortable as expected. Although you had a less than satisfactory and unfortunate encounter with ants at breakfast, I hope that the rest of your stay was enjoyable. We hope that you will visit us again the next time you are travelling through Birmingham! Thank you again for your review!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

From check in to check out we were very happy with our stay here. Only draw back was seating for breakfast in the morning. Location was easy access for a traveler. Will definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeepnjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Jeepnjason,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel! We are pleased to know that you were very happy with your stay. We are located right off Interstate 65 with several restaurants and shopping areas nearby. We look forward to seeing you again! Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I travel everywhere. Sleep in MANY hotels. I just stayed in a hotel for 3 weeks in CA and it was Horrible. When I found out I have a trip to Birmingham next I was happy! I sleep so well in the BW Plus Carlton that it is almost like home. GREAT Food. Great people and GREAT SERVICE! Heading back there next week! Happy 4th of July!

Room Tip: All are good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac1sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Mac1sr,

What an honor it is to be considered like home! We are thrilled to know that you enjoy staying with us! It means a great deal to us to have our customers return.

I’m sorry to hear that you had a horrible experience in California. If you need anything while you are with us please do not hesitate to contact our front desk staff or management. We work as a team to make sure our guests have a wonderful experience.

I hope you had a great 4th of July! Thanks again for your review!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed just one night here and, having been 3 weeks on the road, we were very impressed. The staff couldn't do enough to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. And there was a manager's reception every Monday to Thursday from 5-7pm with free beer, wine and food. Strongly recommended.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank pacuthbertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Pacuthbertson,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let the Tripadvisor community know about your stay! We are thrilled to know that our staff worked hard to make sure you had a wonderful experience. I am happy to know that you had an opportunity to visit the Manager’s Reception. I hope that you also had a chance to have a tasty waffle or any of our other delicious items at our full, hot breakfast buffet. If you are ever in Birmingham again we’d love to have you back! Thanks again for your review!

Jocelyn McAlpine and the Entire Best Western Plus Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank LPLS
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bwcarlton, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
7.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Suites

Address: 140 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209-7186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#5 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $92 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites hotel, free full hot cooked breakfast buffet, managers reception Mon-Thus, indoor heated swimming pool, fitness and business center, 42" flat screen tv's, washer/dryer room, free high speed internet and local calls, microwave/refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carlton Hotel Birmingham
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Birmingham
Birmingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing