We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A REAL GEM IN BIRMINGHAM”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
Ranked #7 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A REAL GEM IN BIRMINGHAM”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I spent 2 nights there while in town on business and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is clean and well-maintained and my room (king suite) was very comfortable. Everything worked. The breakfast was very good, offering scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, etc. The hotel is located on quiet, nicely landscaped street near the Lakeshore Rd exit from I-59.There are several restaurants within walking distance, including a Landry's Seafood right across the street (a personal favorite of mine) and its close to everything B'ham has to offer. The manager stopped at every table in the breakfast area the morning I left to ask guests if everything was ok - I like that. All in all this place is a very good value. The only "con" if you can call it that was the stair-stepper in the fitness room - it doesn't work. - but a hotel without at least one non-functional piece of excercise equipment is a real rarity. Ill be staying here again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Mark H,

We are excited to know that you will be coming back and visiting us! We are an All-Suite hotel that has a nice, clean and safe location in Birmingham. As a staff, we want to go the extra mile to make sure all of our guests leave happy and satisfied. Also I went and checked on our stair-stepper machine and it is still in working order, it just requires man power to get going (no electrical hook-up). So next time you are with us, just hop on and start climbing! Anytime something seems out of sorts please let our staff know so we can help, that's what we are here for! :) We look forward to your return!

Barry Richardson and the Best Western Plus Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    194
    60
    27
    23
See reviews for
303
211
52
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We've eaten a lot of 'Free Breakfasts' in hotels. Most of the time the breakfast food is sadly lacking. At this hotel the breakfast food was excellent! I gave kudos to the cook in front of the General Manager, Rony Naik. Rony made a point of coming down to the breakfast area and speaking to his clients and asking if everything was okay. This, also, was a touch I had not experienced anywhere else. Rony seemed to genuinely care about our experience with them and went out of his way to thank us, profusely, for our stay with their hotel. Everything was clean. The hotel was also very tastefully decorated with expensive pictures, vases, etc. The only complaint I have is that the hotel is old and as a result there were nondescript odors everywhere that were not so pleasant, both in the hallways and in the room. I think a generous use of Febreeze on a regular basis would go a long way to eliminate such odors.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
To our traveler from Texas,

We do offer a Full Hot Buffet Breakfast that is included with each guests stay, and we are overjoyed to know that you loved it so! We as a staff want to take an extra step to deliver a superior customer experience that can be found nowhere else. We have a desire for each and every guest to thoroughly enjoy their stay. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and we look forward to seeing you again. Also, feel free to send your friends and family our way if they are ever in Birmingham. We would love to give them the same treatment!!

Barry Richardson and the entire Best Western Plus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We liked the location and the overall experience. We stayed here two nights on our round trip to pick up our new puppy and like the "pet friendly" policy on our way home. We requested a room with easy access to walk our new puppy and the gave us a great room near the door/exit. One of our concerns was with using a "pet friendly" room was having problems with fleas and animal smells from previous use. Our room was smell,stain and flea free! The breakfast was perfect and got us going in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmarkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
To our travelers from Texas,

It brings us great joy to know we provided you with a great experience while you were in town picking up a new addition to your family! Our housekeepers work extremely hard to keep our pet friendly rooms, people friendly! As a staff we strive to create an excellent customer experience and are always thrilled to know when we have accomplished that. We welcome all travelers who have dogs, while at the same time we do enforce our pet policies. Thanks again for the kind words about our hotel and for sharing you experience with the Tripadvisor web nation!

Barry Richardson and the Entire Best Western Plus Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Service was great, rooms were very clean and breakfast was plentiful a nice variety. A very good value. Pets are welcome. Restaurants and shopping conveniently located within walking distance. We will be back to stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happycamperfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
To our Happycamper from FL,

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to having you back. Thank you for taking the time to review us to the tripadvisor nation, we greatly appreciate it. It brings us great joy to know that our customers are satisfied. From housekeeping to the front desk and all areas in between, we as a staff work diligently each day to provide our guests with the best possible stay. So if you're in town for business or pleasure, we will be able to meet all your needs while in Birmingham. Thanks again!

Barry Richardson and the Entire Best Western Plus Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Okay very mixed feeling about this place. First off if you're like me and don't like dated rooms DON'T stay here. I only reserved the room from the comments here on tripadvisor. Most seemed okay. Not only was the room dated but the TV didn't work, the phone (very old as well) didn't work and lights were out in the room. Oh yeah I stayed in the King Executive Suite. The breakfast was good however, served as described and as stated when I called directly. As I checked out the manager asked me about my stay. I was honest and he acted very concerned, he cut the bill in half. If not for his generosity this place gets a poor rating at best only because of the price. It's really worth half as much as they charge. Needs updating!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khouse502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Khouse 502,

First I would like to thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your honesty and the concerns you had in your review. We are in the process of upgrading all of our rooms. In every room we have already replaced the outdated wallpaper with knockdown texture and fresh paint, we have removed the popcorn ceiling in each room, put 42" flat screens in each room, all new modern artwork in each room, and have had triple sheeting on our bedding for over a year plus. We are also in the process of upgrading all of our furniture and headboards, so I can guarantee you we are making every effort to keep up to date with our rooms. I am sorry your experience here wasn't the greatest. We would love to have you back to exceed your expectations!!

Barry Richardson and the Best Western Plus Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here one night during a road trip. This hotel is very clean and comfortable. It is in an
area of other hotels and nice restaurants and shopping. It is off the highway enough that it is quiet.
The pool area is a spacious atrium with patio furniture and tables to sit and relax.
The employees were courteous and helpful when we asked for restaurant information. There are about 10 restaurants within a mile of the hotel.
Dogs are allowed- something I usually consider a red flag. But we had no barking dogs.
Breakfast was a big disappointment- we ended up with just eating cereal. The hot foods were
not appetizing. I was unhappy because that is included in the price- we paid to have a hot breakfast included.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenthum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
greenthum,

Thanks for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.com. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have easy access to I-65, but aren't sitting right on the interstate so you don't hear the interstate traffic. We do gladly welcome pets, but enforce a strict pet policy so our non-pet guests can enjoy peace of mind. I am sorry you did not enjoy our Full Hot Buffet Breakfast. While we do not usually have issues with our Buffet Breakfast I would love to speak with you further about this, please call me at 205-940-9990. I am sorry we did not exceed your expectations concerning breakfast. If anything is out of sorts for our guests, please let management know right away so we can make things right! We as a staff strive to deliver a superior customer experience and I hope you give us another chance in the future.

Barry Richardson and the Best Western Plus Birmingham Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Very clean and friendly, the breakfast was awsome as well.The staff was nice at our late night arrival.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Definatly will stay here again if i find myself coming to the area again.
I recommend this place to anyone driving trough on the way to florida

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ducleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Ducleone,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled that you enjoyed you stay with us while in the Birmingham Area! All travelers can expect Superior Customer Service during their stay as well as Superior Benefits that include our Full Hot Buffet Breakfast (free to all our guests). Thanks again for recommending us to the TripAdvisor Web-Nation!

Barry Richardson and the Best Western Plus Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
0.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
7.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover
4.8 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
Address: 140 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209-7186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites hotel, free full hot cooked breakfast buffet, managers reception Mon-Thus, indoor heated swimming pool, fitness and business center, 42" flat screen tv's, washer/dryer room, free high speed internet and local calls, microwave/refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carlton Hotel Birmingham
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Birmingham
Birmingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing