We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, nice rooms, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
Ranked #5 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
284 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, nice rooms, great location”
Reviewed May 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel one night on our way to Memphis from Atlanta. From the moment we were welcomed at the reception desk until the time we checked out, we felt very comfortable here. We were even greeted by the housekeeping staff with smiles that indicated they were happy doing their job.

The room was large and comfortable, and the location is perfect as it is just off a major highway and there are many restaurants within walking distance. The room rate was excellent, there is lots of parking, and there is a free breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LetsGetGone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Thank you so much for taking time out of your schedule to let others know about your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We strive to have the Best Staff, the Best Rates, and the Best Service! WE want to go above and beyond and not only meet your expectations but exceed them. Thank you for choosing to stay with us we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Chris Nelson and the Carlton Suites Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    193
    54
    27
    20
See reviews for
298
205
51
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

After the huge tornados that tore across AL, TN and GA, I had to go rescue one of my employees. There were no rooms available without a LARGE price gouge of $75 to $150 above normal rates. I went to the Best Western at 140 State Farm Pkwy. Not only did the Manager, Rony Naik and Guest Rep, Eric Mack square me away with a room... I got the room at a normal rate but they upgraded my room as well! After driving 9 hours to get my employee, being welcomed here was a great burden off my shoulders.

PLEASE treat yourself to a great stay when you are in Birmingham!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mac1sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
I want to thank you first of all for helping your employee in a time of need! With the mass devasation that his swept across the united states on April 27th, we want to do our best to do our part. We have not and will not price gauge! We want to do our part in the relief efforts by providing good, comfortable clean rooms at a great price! Thank you for your business we look forward to seeing you again!

Chris Nelson
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryant, Arkansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

This hotel was rated #1 on Trip Advisor, so we felt comfortable in making reservation for a one night stay. The staff was very friendly and professional. The hotel was very clean. I thought the manager's reception was a nice touch - free snacks and beverages, including alcohol. The free breakfast was very good. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. I understand why it is #1.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPTraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

MANAGER was helpful, AS WAS ALL THE STAFF. GREAT location for me, not in the city BUT only 3 miles away. VERY clean. VERY quiet. GREAT food at WALKING distance. AND THE POOL WAS THE GREATEST! It is enclosed BUT with sliding glass doors ALL around they controlled the temperature SO AS TO BE NOT TOO COLD AND NOT TOO HOT. BUT no bathrooms by pool MEANS YOU MUST GO BACK TO YOUR ROOM. 2ND floor near back is a good location for pool BUT NOT without restrooms. DON'T FORGET! FREE warm breakfast AND happy hour !!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: get the 2 day rate, it's less
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank resort2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Let me start by saying thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor! We really appreciate when you take the time to let us know what we did well and what we need to work on! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and the POOL. But I agree with you 100% that it stinks that we don't have a restroom closer to the pool. We have looked at options to add one back there however it just isn't possible with the plumbing and space needed! I hope to see you again soon and thanks again for leaving us your feedback!

Chris Nelson
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

I chose this hotel for my one night stay due to the ratings on this website. And I agree with all the positive things that people said. The staff was VERY friendly even though they were under pressure due to the tornado that hit nearby the day before I arrived. My room was clean and comfortable, and the internet worked great.
I was impressed with the complimentary "happy hour" consiting of drinks (2 drink max) and a few snacks...I have never seen that before. The breakfast was better than most Best Westerns. Bottom line: I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larryjw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
231 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Other reviews leave you with high expectations and this BW meets them all. Southern
Hospitality exists here. The first impression is the most important. Desk agent, Eric,
greets you as a friend and professionally gets you settled. We found the immediately
ready managers reception hosted by Renae a nice welcome.

Well equipped king room. Microwave, refrig, kitchenette counter with an addtional sink.
Work desk. Sofa & coffee table. Flat screen tv.

Desk provided map listed 14 restaurants that could be reached with an easy walk.
A variety of shopping. A very attractive area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rt66tbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlton, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
We have set ourselves to have high expectations of our staff and how we work with you, our guest. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and the friendliness of our staff. We hope that in the future we will be able to not only meet but also surpass all of your expectations! See you again soon!

Chris Nelson
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

There was no discount coupon for this hotel, but since we needed to stay near the television studio for our morning appointment, we had no choice. Eric behind the counter was super helpful. When I discovered the nightly rate was well beyond our budget, we decided that since we were there on business, the business rate would apply. Mr. Pish’s pet fee was an additional $20.

Our room was at the back of the hotel on the fourth floor. We had to go down stairs to the lower level, then up the elevator to reach it. We were as far away from the entrance as physically possible. Mr. Pish enjoyed looking at himself in the mirrored wall of the elevator. Our room was large, very clean, comfortable and free of bedbugs. The ice machine was on the first floor, so that required a bit of a trek. David came to the conclusion the hotel was haunted because the elevator kept opening for him on the second floor which was under construction (he’s a carpenter). The fact that our room keys didn’t work the first time we tried to use them and I had to walk all the way to the lobby to get them fixed didn’t help dispel that theory either. Eric was extremely apologetic and I have to say his level of customer service was fantastic. For some reason, I kept walking up to room 416 instead of 412 each time I went to the room (which was a lot with the amount of bags we had). Then, the next morning when we checked out, the manager thought it was weird that we had stayed in room 412 when he had us down for room 416. Can you hear the Twilight Zone theme playing in the background?

The complimentary full breakfast the next morning was good – with real eggs, bacon and more. That was a nice switch from the usual yogurt and granola, especially because we’d been up since 4:30 a.m. to do the television appearance. Other than the little bit of weirdness and the long haul to the room, we definitely enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
5.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
0.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
7.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
Address: 140 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209-7186
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
#2 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites hotel, free full hot cooked breakfast buffet, managers reception Mon-Thus, indoor heated swimming pool, fitness and business center, 42" flat screen tv's, washer/dryer room, free high speed internet and local calls, microwave/refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Best Western, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carlton Hotel Birmingham
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Birmingham
Birmingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing