We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the Price!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South
Ranked #53 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for the Price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The prices are awesome. The staff is really friendly. They have a free breakfast in the morning that consists of fruit, granola bars, oatmeal and muffins. The staff is great and you cannot beat the price especially if you have to stay for about a week because you do get a discount. The only downside was that the people across the hall from me fell asleep while cooking and the fire alarms went off and we had to go outside. But that is not the fault of the hotel....it is the fault of the people who stay there being a little irresponsible.

Room Tip: I was downstairs and it will still quiet. No problems. All rooms are nonsmoking I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haylie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for posting such an awesome review, to use your words. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our friendly staff and free breakfast. I'm also happy to hear you enjoyed our low rates for extended stays, although we do have a low nightly rate as well.

Thank you again for your review. It would be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    21
    18
    12
    25
See reviews for
19
22
22
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antelope Valley, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I've stayed at this property several times when it as Homestead Suites. Within two and half miles after turning right onto Highway 280, you will find many restaurants and stores. You can buy fresh fruit and vegetables at the Publix market. Avoid the morning and afternoon commuter traffic on 280.

There are two restaurants within steps of the hotel. Surin280 features a menu full of delectable Thai and Japanese food. You can watch sports at The Tilted Kilt. A Cracker Barrel is not far.

On this trip in mid-September 2013, my wife and I experienced a few problems which were quickly remedied by the polite, friendly staff. We traded a defective iron for a good working iron. The office staff quickly replaced the missing hair drier. The maintenance man offered to
repair the defective electrical outlet in the bathroom.

I turned off my computer several times because of the slow internet connection. We had to buy hangers at Walmart as there were none in our closet. There was a bit of dust on the bathroom fixtures.

We loved the comfortable, firm bed. We awoke refreshed and pain free. Pillows varied in size and firmness. The colors and flooring of our clean, fresh room reminded us of home. There wasn't hint of tobacco stink to despoil our experience.

I love sports, but I would have traded a few ESPNs for a couple of movie channels. We caught one good movie on Showtime.

We liked the full kitchen and large refrigerator. It allowed my wife to cook up breakfast and dinner. The refrigerator kept our fruit, snacks, my beer cold.

At night, we walked around the hotel for exercise. We discovered a family of cats and a raccoon that live in the creek next to the hotel. The terrain is hilly, so we got a good workout.

The hotel staff, from the front desk, to the maintenance guy, to the house keepers were professional, polite, and helpful. They personified southern hospitality. Aside from a few minor glitches, we enjoyed our stay and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that had been remodeled. An overpowering, musty odor drove us out of the first room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve119049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. We are excited to know you loved our comfortable and firm beds. It is also good to hear that our room colors and flooring of your clean and fresh room reminded you of home. I'm also glad to hear that your wife was able to do some cooking with the assistance of our full kitchen and refrigerator. The fact that we exemplified southern hospitality for you means we have succeeded.

Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

One sentence is "I love this hotel and the great staff!" Please stay and see for yourself and you too will be impressed. The rates are great for the quality of service and I felt like I was staying at a resort 5 star hotel. There hotel is worth so much more than they charge.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kzeichert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that you loved our hotel and our rates. Also, I am pleased to hear that you found our staff to be courteous and friendly.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foley, Alabama
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I went and stayed one night at the hotel and the exact same problem I had back in October I had again... I shouldn't have hair in the tub and on the bathroom floor TWICE... That's ridiculous... Oh and you better pay with a card because the cashier shorted me $10... I didn't go through my papers until I got home... So I called the hotel that night and spoke with someone... She said she would have manager call me. I waited all day. He didn't call me until I gave his hotel a 7 on their website. In so many words he basically said I was lying about the $10. I mean I kno its only $10, but it was mine... He said he would refund me, but today made a week I checked out from there and haven't seen anything...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonique c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
The feedback provided in your review is much appreciated. I sincerely apologize that you found hair in your tub and on the bathroom floor. I discussed your comments with the team, and we are triple-checking all of our floors for any possible remaining hair in the bathroom area to prevent this in the future. As we discussed on the phone earlier, we took your word on the missing $10 and mailed it the day we found out and we are sorry you had to go through that.

I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention and we plan on your third time and future stays at our hotel to be great stays should you return. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellijay, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This facility will be fine if you are a smoker. Our non smoking room reeked of stale smoke. AC smelled of stale smoke as well. Carpet was worn with chunks laying around on the floor. Bathroom worked fine. Service is very good.

Room Tip: If you want non smoking, ask for a room that has always been non smoking. This hotel had a former li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brother-Bobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I'm the leader of a large group who were on our way to Jackson MS doing a Civil Rights tour - 13 teens and adults. We had a snafu about the booking (rooms and dates wrong - something got lost in the conversation!) but it was clearly settled by Scott and we didn't look back. Breakfast at the mini-bar at the lobby is more than adequate to get you going; beds and rooms are excellent; no 'dodgy' customers around. With teens, you might feel that we were going to have a hard time, but we were put as close together as possible (despite the snafu about the booking) and it worked out fine. 2 nights and we'd stay again... Great job!.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glendaloughgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Glenda - Thank you for your glowing review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our grab-and-go breakfast as well as your rooms. I am very sorry that there was an error with your original reservation; however, it is great to know that our staff easily corrected it, and in a timely manner. We hope you all enjoyed the civil rights tour!

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Whn we arrived to the hotel, we had been on the hwy all nite n day. It ws a relief to hv the front desk to call 30-45 mins to see if we needed anything. We informed the kind gentleman of the extra towels and ironing board and he brought the items to our door within 20 mins. It ws great not to have to go down to the front desk ourselves to pick up the items. Later that night, after church, we needed extra blankets and that was delivered in record time. I enjoyed my stay there and will probably go back. They rooms were not crowded, beds were comfortable, and kitchenette was very convenient. Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missgapeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
It is so rewarding to read that you had a terrific stay with us. Thank you for your comments. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our property so much.

Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
1.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Inverness
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suite Birmingham - Hoover
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham-Colonnade 280
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Birmingham / Cahaba Park South
0.2 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Perimeter Park
0.3 mi away
Birmingham Marriott
Birmingham Marriott
#28 of 79 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South

Property: Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South
Address: 12 Perimeter Park South, Birmingham, AL 35243 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Extended Stay, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Perimeter Park South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Birmingham / Perimeter Park South Hotel Birmingham
Extended Stay America Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing