We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice smaller zoo”
Review of Birmingham Zoo

Birmingham Zoo
Ranked #8 of 93 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watch sea lions being trained and fed, zip around on the Zoo Train, hop on the carousel, check out the alligator swamp and tropical rain forest: all this and more are offered at this educational and entertaining zoo housing 170 animals from around the world, including endangered species.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice smaller zoo”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We've visited before but it had been a while. For a smaller city zoo, I believe they have a good variety of animals and the enclosures are better than ever. We took our 8 year old granddaughter this time and we all enjoyed our visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank dmansf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    338
    155
    36
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homewood, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the zoo”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We've there many times. Better in the spring or fall. It can be very very hot, but still, it is a nice place to visit with the family.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Alabama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hope its better!”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Last visit, there was a lot of construction going on. Hopefully the next time we go, it will be a better experience!

Helpful?
Thank lynliep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Zoo”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

It had been years since I had visited Birmingham Zoo and going back as a 20 year old I was very impressed! There were so many new exhibits that it was like I had never visited before! Fridays seem to be the biggest day for school groups but they are usually gone by lunch. Parking was very well done. The food/drinks were rather high but whats to be expected at a zoo. All in all this makes for a great day trip for the young and old alike!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank SammyJ09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok!”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The Birmingham Zoo needs more animals and attractions.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDiva730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birmingham Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Birmingham Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing