We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing!! Save your money!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birmingham Zoo

Birmingham Zoo
Ranked #9 of 88 things to do in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watch sea lions being trained and fed, zip around on the Zoo Train, hop on the carousel, check out the alligator swamp and tropical rain forest: all this and more are offered at this educational and entertaining zoo housing 170 animals from around the world, including endangered species.
Seymour
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!! Save your money!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Very disappointing!!! Where are the large animals?! We only saw two small elephants, n a few small animals. We spent $92.70 for what?!! We are from out of state (TN), visiting with our family. (6 adults n 2 babies).None of the employees were friendly. One RUDE male employee said we better leave before the gates were locked. It was 4:45, not 5:00. We will never be going back! Sad to see a zoo not appreciate their visitors!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank TJsLady1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    325
    148
    36
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coastal Alabama
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent! Bring a swimsuit for the kiddies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Excellent zoo- we had a lovely time- we fed the lorikeets, watched the seals, rode the train and looked at animals till we were tired. This is a really nice zoo with animals that you don't get to see at some of the ones closer to our house. Our only complaint was that we got tired of buying "tokens." There were kids playing in the water and there was a bubble pool- we started to put the kids in the bubble pool but were told we'd have to buy another token- at that point we were hot and tired and just packed up and left- but on the whole it was a great zoo and we all had a good time.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ugeauxgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the hype is a joke”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

we have been to the zoo many times over the years zoolight safari, boo at the zoo etc.
but all the hype about the afican safari is a joke, all they did is move the elephants 2 i saw who cant be around each other one in a smalller cage than before one in a field.
a very nice cafe so you can spend 3 dollars for a soda after paying 14 to get in. it was after a very big joke, nothing has really changed at the zoo, its great for kids but dont go if you think you are in for a suprise the giraffes rhinos tigers everything is the same as it was 5 years ago, except there are a lot less animals are there than there use to be, i was very disappointed and it didnt make a very fruitfull fathersday
sorry

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank jbowers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent zoo, but show some mercy on the soda prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

We apparently arrived after completion of the renovations mentioned in other reviews. The zoo was clean and the facilities in good condition. Despite the heat, the vast majority of the animals were visible and active. The primate and African mammal exhibits were very good. Given the climate, the zoo should install more soda machines and show some mercy on the prices -- $2.50 to $2.75 a pop adds up a little at a time on a hot day.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank FromThe361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vance, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go during summer hours - we went in Nov - half of the zoo was being renovated or closed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

Visited the zoo last weekend (Nov 2010). Disappointed - seemed like half the zoo was closed or being renovated. The grounds are pretty - kid's zoo was ok. I think 12.00 for an adult off season is a little high. They should lower the admission price if you are not going to get the full visit.

Helpful?
Thank poomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birmingham Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Birmingham Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing