We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Several little problems.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale
Ranked #19 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed February 24, 2014

First of all, the room was clean and the beds very comfortable. But I wish we had been told when we checked in that our TV did not get ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX. We could not watch the Olympics. The lights in the back parking lot either were not working or were so weak that the parking lot was not lit well at all. Very scaring for women returning after dark, especially when a stray cat wandered up to us and scared us. There was a very strong odor of cleaning products when we entered the room. The curtain did not close completely---thank goodness we were on the fourth floor. The carpet had a good size red stain on it. Last, the ceiling had an obvious crack across it. However, we got a good night's rest and the breakfast was delicious and had a lot of variety.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. While we are very happy that you chose our hotel for your recent stay, we are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope that next time you are in town you consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 409 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

Great Staff, clean hotel, good location overall, two miles from the Whistle Stop Café, "Fried Green Tomatoes" movie, excellent food and service. Great value on the breakfast, coffee always hot and ready, good security and the local Irondale Police make their rounds through the parking lot, SAM's club around the block, and a real neat Furniture emporium across the street, easy access to I-20 Atlanta to the East and Birmingham Downtown district 7 minutes away from all kinds of family activities.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I’m happy to read from your review that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel the Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Room needed a fresh paint job and new carpet. Night clerk was extremely nice and helpful. No rush at check in or check out. Computer was down at check out, no receipt, and no receipt by email as promised as of three days later.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

We are looking into the issue with the receipt. I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Left my shaving kit that had a lot of important personal items in it and the hotel rep. sent it to my house 2 days later! That's service. The hotel was very clean and comfee and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Matthew S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area we are happy to have been able to help you get your personal things back and to hear so many good things about our staff and hotel.
Thank you for your review and for your business. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

A little out of the way.. but I could get to the airport in less than 10 min in morning traffic. Clean, quiet hotel... friendly staff. Would definitely stay at again. Many great dining options within easy driving distance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Stacey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for saying you will definitely be staying with us on your next trip our way. Your review of our hotel the Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area is greatly appreciated and so is your business. Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The staff was excellent. The hotel was full due to the shut down of the roads related to the snow storm and weather. They made a very difficult situation a very pleasant experience. They worked to accomodate many stranded travelers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

We are glad to read you had an excellent stay here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area during the snow storm and had so many nice things to say about our staff. Thank you for such a great review. We hope to see you again under better weather circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This Hampton Inn was extremely comfortable and clean and the staff was lovely and friendly. We didn't have the breakfast because we were eating at our Conference but it looked delicious. The amenities were of good quality (Neutrogena) and the linens were very fresh as they are washed between guests ,even the duvet covers. I wish we had had more time at the hotel. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

We also hope that on your next trip you will have more time to spend at our hotel the Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area. Thank you for such a nice review and for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham/280 East-Eagle Point
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
8.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness
8.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale

Address: 950 Old Grants Mill Road, Birmingham, AL 35210-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $114 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a comfortable and convenient stay at our Irondale hotel with free high-speed internet access in guest rooms and business center. Our business center features a choice of professional services including fax and photocopying. Start the day with a workout in our fitness center or refresh with a swim in our indoor pool. Join us for waffles, eggs and daily specialties with Hampton’s free hot breakfast. If you’re headed to an early morning meeting or golf on the Robert Trent Jones Trail, grab an On the Run® Breakfast Bag, available Monday to Friday, for a quick and healthy meal to go. Host your special occasion or executive business meeting in our Whistle Stop Meeting Room. Pick up a midnight snack or sundries at our 24-hour Suite Shop. If you’re traveling with young children, we can provide a crib and high chair during your stay. Unwind in a guest room or suite that features all of the amenities and services that you’ll need for a carefree vacation in Birmingham. Turn on the 32-inch LCD HD TV and watch a cable channel. Get prepared for the day in a bathroom featuring granite countertops and vanities. Be productive by using the work desk with adjustable lamp or lap desk. Pop popcorn in the microwave while cooling drinks in the mini-refrigerator. Check emails using free high-speed internet access or simply relax in a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-East i-20 Hotel Birmingham
Hampton Inn And Suites Birmingham-East i-20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing