We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LITTLE DISSAPOINTED”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale
Ranked #18 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stay many times @ Hampton Inns,never been unhappy but we were a little disappointed in the cleanliness of the carpet...it had definitely not been vaccumedand was sticky...other than that the bathroom was clean and the beds were very comfortable...front desk gave us sheets to cover the floor and yes that was our request...no other doublebed rooms available.He offered to move us ,we needed 2 beds

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank lahotelsLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

We are happy we were able to help you with the carpet but are sorry we did not have another double for you. . Your business is important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration. I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 443 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed there in July 2013. All the other hotels close to the Birmingham airport had bad reviews and looked and sounded sleazy based on the negative reviews. This Hampton Inn was one of the best I have stayed in. It looks new. The staff was very friendly. The continental breakfast was excellent with a large variety of food items, including hot ones. The room was clean and spacious. The neighborhood is quite nice and one feels safe there. The extra drive to the airport is only about 10 minutes on a normal day when I-20 is not under construction. The extra time is worth the stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drj999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We are happy to read you think we are one of the best Hamptons you have stayed at. Thank you for such a nice review and for your business here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Left headset on bed during checkout. Came back that afternoon to stay an additional night and collect headset. They were never found. When I came back for second night I was given same room so I know that they were not left in the room. Nothing in lost and found, nothing turn in by housekeeping.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Luis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

.Your problem you encountered is not typical of our hotel and staff and were are very sorry this happened. We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed October 4, 2013

As always with Hampton Inns, very clean & fresh! The staff is always courteous & helpful. Beds are amazing and rooms modern. The best hotel chain for the money! I will always stay at a Hampton Inn if available.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for saying our hotel the Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area is the best hotel for the money. We appreciate your time in writing the review and for your business. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Their park and fly program, where you park and they shuttle you to and from the b’ham airport for one night’s stay is a great deal! Especially if you have a long trip… you pay the Birmingham Airport $12 per day for parking (which is a major rip off). We were gone for 17 days which would have run up $204 airport parking bill…our Hampton rate for one night was $156 with tax, which means we stayed at the hotel for free, plus saved $48 on parking. This is hard to beat!!! Plus on top of that, it’s a very nice hotel. ( of course if we had been gone only a couple of days the value ratio proposition with parking would not be nearly as good)
Everything at the Hampton Irondale is very comfortable, well maintained, and up to date. The front desk personal are friendly and efficient. The morning breakfast was good and there was a free USA Today and free internet. The only negative is the place is a little hard to find ( no big deal). You can see it up on the hill, but how in the world do you get up there? There is an un-obvious road that enters from the back of the hotel and you have to drive around front. The front entrance is blocked by a competing hotel just down the hill who has put up a “spite” fence to make it difficult to get to the Hampton. How petty! I wouldn’t stay with them (I think Quality Inn) just because of that cheap shot.
Don’t be held ransom by Birmingham airport parking fees….Stay at Hampton Inn on Grants Mill Road!

Room Tip: Rooms on front have a view of the valley and interstate. On the back you are looking at the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B0bu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you again for staying with us here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area. Your complimentary reviews are greatly appreciated. We are happy to enjoy our Park and Fly program and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Always a good experience at a Hampton Inn..have stayed at many in various locations....highly recommend always choosing Hampton whenever available. Always have found the rates to be the best in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your loyalty to the Hampton products and for your great review of our property the Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area. We hope we will be able to see you again soon and thank you for your business and your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Everything was excellent : Staff service was friendly and accommodating, the room was clean and quiet, the complimentary breakfast was high quality with many choices. The breakfast dining room was very impressive. Stopped there spontaneously on a road trip. I will definitely stop there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Ricky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

It is good to read you think our hotel the Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Airport Area is excellent and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for posting such a nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham/280 East-Eagle Point
7.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham I-65/Lakeshore Drive
4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Trussville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale

Address: 950 Old Grants Mill Road, Birmingham, AL 35210-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#15 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $116 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a comfortable and convenient stay at our Irondale hotel with free high-speed internet access in guest rooms and business center. Our business center features a choice of professional services including fax and photocopying. Start the day with a workout in our fitness center or refresh with a swim in our indoor pool. Join us for waffles, eggs and daily specialties with Hampton’s free hot breakfast. If you’re headed to an early morning meeting or golf on the Robert Trent Jones Trail, grab an On the Run® Breakfast Bag, available Monday to Friday, for a quick and healthy meal to go. Host your special occasion or executive business meeting in our Whistle Stop Meeting Room. Pick up a midnight snack or sundries at our 24-hour Suite Shop. If you’re traveling with young children, we can provide a crib and high chair during your stay. Unwind in a guest room or suite that features all of the amenities and services that you’ll need for a carefree vacation in Birmingham. Turn on the 32-inch LCD HD TV and watch a cable channel. Get prepared for the day in a bathroom featuring granite countertops and vanities. Be productive by using the work desk with adjustable lamp or lap desk. Pop popcorn in the microwave while cooling drinks in the mini-refrigerator. Check emails using free high-speed internet access or simply relax in a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Birmingham-East i-20
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham-East i-20 Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing