We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ants in the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Trussville
Ranked #26 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ants in the room”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel was not up to par in cleanliness. It also had an ant problem, at least in the room I stayed in. I've stayed in many hotels and this one did not seem clean; dirty linens, hairs in the bathroom, walls looked dirty. It wasn't horrible, but it wasn't what I would expect from a Hilton property. I arrived there late and was tired so I tried handling the ants myself, although when they started crawling all over my phone, I was upset.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    86
    37
    17
    13
See reviews for
109
56
25
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackshear, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Friendly staff, very clean facility,located close too shopping mall/and several restaurants/easy access to main interstate,full breakfast options, major hardware stores located near by,area appeared to be safe and secure,area visit was rail road business related Norfolk Southerns Birmingham yard was within couple miles of hotel location, would stay at this location again and recommend locations to others visiting the Irondale/Birmingham area

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Billy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel is very clean, modern and has a good staff. All extra facilities (pool, business office, weight room) were in good working order. Our room on the 4th floor was nice and had those great adjustable firmness beds. A/C unit was a little noisy but didn't keep me from sleeping. Prices at the bar very VERY reasonable and the breakfast chef made great omlettes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The chef at this hotel is superb. We had the rehearsal dinner for my son's wedding here as it was the hotel the bride picked. The food was excellent. The breakfast was also good food. The hotel is clean and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank nettieblume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Womelsdorf, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

In all the Hilton Garden Inn was ok, it was clean and had the normal things you would expect. You can purchase breakfast in the morning if you are hungry. The staff is nice and will help you if you have a problem

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank RobinandGary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2013

First stay at this HGI in the Birmingham area. The hotel is relatively new - nice lobby, restaurant & bar, guest rooms, etc. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We stayed there during a wedding weekend. I liked the location because it was close to the airport, I-59 and Hwy 280 (it never took over 30 min to get to any of the events we went to even during rush hour). A little pricey compared to other hotels in the general area. My only complaint was the mattress that is adjustable on each side of the bed. They call it "The Garden Sleep System By Natural Form". I tried to adjust the beds to provide a "softer, plusher" feel, however it was firm to really firm. Way to firm for my needs, so I didn't get a good nights sleep the whole time I was there. If you like your mattress firm, I highly recommend this hotel otherwise you'll miss your mattress after the first night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank LadyBlahBlah2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I consistently stay at this hotel when traveling to Birmingham area due to location, staff and the comfort of the hotel itself. could not ask for better service and staff. from breakfast (Tina) to dinner/bar staff (Jan) the entire experience is awesome!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickolas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Trussville
8.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Trussville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale
14.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
12.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Trussville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Trussville

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Trussville
Address: 3230 Edwards Lake Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35235-3198
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Trussville 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Trussville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing