We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveler rating
193
102
21
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
193
102
21
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews five points full kitchen front desk sized refrigerator on site parking kitchen area one bedroom suite sales manager stove top oatmeal walking distance parking fee an extended stay small kitchen room was spotless convenient location no exception
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 327 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2017

Stayed here for the night after a work conference. Staff was very friendly and the rooms were very nice and roomy. Great part was it was a short walk to Five Points where stopped in to the Black Market Grill which was an awesome place be reviewing next ;)

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasP4663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney D, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Thomas P, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experience! We truly appreciate you!
Hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017

We stayed at this hotel for two nights when we attended a wedding in Birmingham. Upon arrival the front desk employees were polite and courteous. We went to our room, they are all suites, and found the suite to be extremely clean and well appointed. There were two TVs, one in the living area and one on the bedroom. The kitchenette was complete with a two burner stove(electric), a microwave, dishwasher, and apartment sized refrigerator. It also included dishes, silverware, glassware, cookware and various other implements such as a corkscrew. There is a desk in the living area with adequate lighting to work on anything you might need to do. The location is awesome with all the places we needed to be for the rehearsal, rehearsal dinner, and the wedding easy to locate and just a short drive away. The breakfast buffet was quite impressive. They had scrambled eggs, breakfast meat ( either sausage or bacon), grits, oatmeal, pancakes, waffles with a variety of toppings, bagels, English muffins, cereals, a great selection of fresh fruits, juices, bottled water, and coffee. The dudes working in the kitchen were extremely helpful, polite, and courteous. They acted like they really liked the jobs they were engaged in. Next time I'm in Birmingham I will definitely be staying at the Residence Inn on 821 20th Street South.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney D, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Hi Debi H, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in such great detail! Please do stay again soon! We look forward to it!


Hospitably,

Whitney Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017

We have stayed at several different hotels in Birmingham, and none have been worth staying in a second time. This time was different. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient. We were checked in quickly and given a card so we could park in the parking lot. I have seen a couple questions about the parking situation, and there is a lot adjacent to the hotel. We were not charged for this, but when I got my bill at the end, it showed a $10 parking fee with $10 waived. So I'm not sure if parking is normally charged.

The room was quite nice and appeared recently renovated. Everything was clean and worked correctly. And the #1 thing I look for is how clean the room is. The small kitchen area had tea bags, coffee packets and a bag of microwave popcorn.

The bed was comfortable, but the bottom sheet did have some pilling. The pillows were very soft, and they all felt the same. So if you want a firm pillow, we didn't have that option. There was plenty of hot water in the shower, and the towels were good.

The breakfast buffet was one of the better ones we've had. There was plenty of bacon, biscuits, scrambled eggs, tortillas, waffles, yogurt, cereal, milk, small bottles of water, coffee, juice . . . so a nice variety of options. The woman working the buffet was very sweet and friendly.

We travel to Birmingham several times a year, since one of our children attends college there, and it is nice to finally find a nice hotel with a reasonable price. We definitely hope to be able to stay here during our next trip to Birmingham.

Room Tip: Our room faced the parking lot, so the view was nothing special, but it wasn't loud.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney D, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

LaurieTN, we are so happy to read that you enjoyed your recent stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to the opportunity to have you back here with us again very soon.

Sincerely,

Whitney Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile

Bed was comfortable, TV/Wifi worked really well, room was quiet and afforded a good nights sleep, best part of the stay was the staff, so friendly and accommodating, they moved my room around unprompted so I would have a quieter experience. Really well done, can't wait for my next stay.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank ahmonroe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney D, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2018

Thank you ahmonroe5! Please stay again when visiting Birmingham. We appreciate you!


Best,

Whitney Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017

Having evacuated to this hotel a couple of days before Hurricane Irma hit Florida, we ended up staying for a full week. There were 5 of us--my husband and I, our daughter, and her 2 children--plus our 2 dogs, so we needed to find a pet-friendly venue. As it turned out, the Residence Inn even has a fenced-off grassy area for dog-walking, with plastic clean-up bags provided. Because the staff was universally courteous, helpful, and efficient, we figured that strong leadership from the top must have been at least partially responsible. Every morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast, free with the cost of our rooms, that included oatmeal, fresh fruit, yogurt, scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, and pancakes. Our daughter ended up taking her kids (ages 7 & 3) 3 times to a wonderful children's museum/science center that was within walking distance; they absolutely loved it, and they also enjoyed the zoo. Despite the stressful circumstances surrounding our stay, we absolutely loved the hotel--& Birmingham--and plan to return sometime.

Room Tip: Our 2 3rd-floor rooms happened to be at the very end of the hall, providing a significant privacy advantage.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney D, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Karen B, thank you for sharing your recent experience. We know that you weren't here for the most ideal of reasons but we sure did enjoy having you! Please do come see us again soon!

Sincerely,

Whitney Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews