We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Ranked #19 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Pella, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always a great stay”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at the property numerous times over the past few years. Staff is always very helpful and friendly. Rooms are spacious, clean and updated. Only downside is their slightly limited parking area behind the hotel mixed in with other buildings.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. Please let us know if you ever experience a parking issue, as we will find accomodations for you to park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    89
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
64
55
12
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This place became my home for a month, after a tree damaged my house. They kept my room spotless throughout my stay. Hotel staff couldn't have been nicer. Breakfast in the morning was really good, although I started getting tired of it toward the end (pretty much same thing every other day). Very convenient to 5 Points area, Iron City, other eating areas, and the hospitals. Had a very good view; could see the sun rise over St. Vincent's Hospital. The only negative I could find is that the parking is pretty limited: 129 suites (which fill up often), but only 70 parking spaces. If you arrive late, you sometimes have to park on the street or across the street. There's a rating for restaurant on here, but I don't recall there being a restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdv483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time in Alabama. I was there for a week conference at Children's of Alabama. But my hubby and I took this as a work play getaway. booked this hotel as my previous experience with Residence Inn chain has always been favorable. Room was decent .. gave us a handicapped room. I guess not all king suites are the same. Tip for future reservations get a corner room. Room is clean overall.. the breakfast is good as always. Maybe more healthier options. Manager's special is awesome. . Maybr can be extended til Friday. As usual, parking is with fee due to limted availabity throughout Birmingham. This area is so close to 5 points South which I love the area. Would definitely come back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank icyvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Our goal is to make all of our guests feel at home, and we appreciate you letting us know that we met our goal. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I have stayed at this property many times on business. It is always good. The staff will do what they can to see to your needs. The bedding is always very good. My big complaint is that they have started charging for parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhmguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed at this hotel recently for business. Nice hotel and a good representation of the Residence Inn chain. Spacious and clean rooms. Felt "new". Location is decent, a bit farther from downtown than some other hotels. Reasonably priced. Heard some outside noise of a restaurant. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel159549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I spent approximately 10 weeks in this hotel via two kept-being-extended assignments. The staff was always gracious when I had to extend "yet again". Every person on staff - front desk, housekeeping, culinary, maintenance, security was courteous, friendly and seemed willing and often eager to provide assistance if needed. The location was perfect for me as my business was downtown. It is even a comfortable walk to much of UAB. The rooms are clean, comfortable and nicely sized (I called mine the mini apt). Although they do not have an oven, they have cook top, microwave and full size refrigerator. The only slight aggravations were the TV reception - it would frequently digi-freeze or stutter - and the only reason this did not bother me more is because I didn't have much opportunity to watch it. And, the parking - a side effect of downtown location I suppose. They accommodate the situation as best they can by allowing and sometimes even encouraging creative parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hubby & I weekend away and we loved it. Picked this location because a family member suggested it. We stayed 2 nights and attended the Jay-Z concert in town. The staff was very friendly. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good, the staff was attentive to stragglers coming to eat at the last minute. They stopped cleaning up and ask if you need something you don't see. A short drive to anywhere you need to go in Birmingham. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a corner room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
1.1 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
#30 of 79 in Birmingham
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Property: Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Address: 821 20th Street South, Birmingham, AL 35205-2713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "new" Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB is proud to be the most recent hotel addition to the Magic City. This upscale hotel offers the business traveler all the comforts of home to include a full working kitchen for extended stays. We are conveniently located in the prestigious Five Points entertainment district and within walking distance to UAB hospital. Our hotel offers studios, one and two bedroom suites, full kitchens, free full breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool, state of the art exercise equipment, free high speed internet, flat screen televisions in every guestroom and evening socials several nights a week. Our hotel staff will make you feel right at home. We specialize in creating service so memorable for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Birmingham Downtown At Uab Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing