We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quick stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel seems to be geared toward disabled-accessible... which is fine. It was easily navigable and the 2 bedroom suites were spacious, clean, and comfortable. The hotel was a bit on the pricey side for Birmingham, but it is centrally located and extremely accommodating. The breakfast was ample, not spectacular. The parking gets tight, but it is on site and included in the price of the room. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JKTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 291 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you need to get to any of UABs clinics, this hotel is a short walk to some of these. If you are going on vacation, the scenery is not much to talk about..it's slap bang in the middle of the city, on a hill no less, which makes parking and driving tedious.
However, the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean. I stayed here for business on and off over 10months and the Wifi worked great. The TV however, does not get signal when bad weather arrives. 3 nights a week they have a dinner & wine spread.. which was convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Clean, new, very nice rooms. Not such a good location. Not in a walking distance from most downtown atractions, but if you travel with your car its no problem. There is parking in the hotel and there are deals online that include parking.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRealMikiLevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have stayed at a number of Residence Inns all over the country in the past. This is by far the best experience we have ever had at any Marriott property! With Residence Inns, we have definitely found that the newer the property, the better the experience (I guess that's true of most hotel chains) - and this Residence Inn is clearly newer, with updated furnishings, finishes, and room amenities. The room layout and design features are great. Bed and bedding were very comfortable! Very convenient to UAB, which is right next door. We were attending a family wedding in the suburbs, and stayed here due to reasonable proximity to the airport. Breakfast was excellent, and loved the little free bottled water treat bags we received at check-in. The full, updated kitchen and dining area in our room was great - one of the best things about this chain. Parking was a bit limited, but this may have been due to another large wedding party staying in the hotel; there is also safe street parking in addition to the free parking lot, and it is free on weekends. Front desk staff were excellent, and check-in was very smooth. Rooms are very quiet - we heard no noise at all. Very clean! Our room was so much like a swanky apartment that I joked to my husband that I could easily live here. We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors have views of the UAB campus and beyond - nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreamer1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I had an excellent experience. The property was so comfortable and nice, it almost made me want to stay longer. But beyond the property, the people were outstanding. I want to give a shout out to Kim Clark and Stacey Bodiford who went out of there way to assist me. Kim personally offered to drive me to the post office to mail and important package (SO SO NICE) and Stacey worked me diligently by helping with the hotel's computers and arranging for cab service back to the airport. I'd also like to say thanks to the lady who worked diligently every morning to make sure we had a wonderful breakfast. Grits were great!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Marian W,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and comments about our hotel and staff. I've shared your gracious comments with the staff members you mentioned. We always try to extend that famous Southern Hospitality! It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and it's so nice to hear positive feedback from our guests.
We hope you can return to our hotel in the future, and get to stay longer next time. We'll be sure to offer the grits again too! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel, and won't be our last. Both times we were greeted with smiling faces and given large, clean rooms with comfy king beds and mini coolers. On our most recent stay, Alan, the front desk clerk, went above and beyond in making us feel welcome. He welcomed us with a warm smile and friendly, professional demeanor. He explained about and signed us up for Marriott Rewards, something no one else had ever mentioned to us. Alan was eager to answer our questions, and proved knowledgeable with restaurant/shopping suggestions and directions. On each occasion we were very pleased with the hotel, the room, and especially Alan's service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GatorzMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This place is great. We had a king & sofa suite and got a terrific rate thru AAA which also included the parking fee. It was clean, comfortable, beautifully decorated, had lots of good lighting, lots of work space (dining table, coffee table AND desk), a nice guest laundry; we honestly couldn't think of anything to dislike or complain about. This is the second such Residence Inn we've stayed in and we agreed to make a point of seeking them out more in the future. Birmingham looks like an interesting place to visit and I'd go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moniquepeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our hotel. We do feel that Residence Inn as a brand has thought of everything for comfort and amenities for travelers. And hearing that you had nothing to complain about is music to our ears! Thank you for booking with us through AAA, we know you have a lot of choices. Please stay with us again when you do come back to Birmingham!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Address: 821 20th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205-2713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $149 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB offers the traveler all the comforts of home including a full kitchen for extended stays. We are conveniently located in the prestigious Five Points entertainment district, within walking distance to UAB hospital. Our hotel offers studios, one and two bedroom suites, free full breakfast, free Wifi, an outdoor swimming pool, state of the art exercise equipment, flat screen televisions in every guestroom and evening socials several nights a week. Our hotel staff will make you feel right at home. We specialize in creating service so memorable for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Birmingham Downtown At Uab Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing