We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent 3-star property with beautiful suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Ranked #18 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent 3-star property with beautiful suites”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Try to get a top floor (7th) because the views of Birmingham are beautiful. Full kitchen and living room with all amenities. Large flat-screen TV swivels to both living room and bedroom. I thoroughly enjoyed staying here because of the quality of rooms and breakfast, as well as location is GREAT! On edge of campus down the street from 5 Points South near good restaurants. The only downside was parking was an extra $10/day.

Room Tip: No restaurant, so no room service. But very near restaurants and across the street from Doubletree H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
I wanted to take a moment to thank you for your review of our hotel. We truly appreciate our guests taking the time to share their experience with others, and I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are proud of our spacious suites, excellent hot breakfast buffet and great location. It is true that you can get a great view of downtown Birmingham and even Vulcan from our top floors! Thank you for staying with us, and come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    88
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
64
54
12
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
P'burgh, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Recently stayed for two nights on business in Birmingham. The hotel is convenient to the University of Alabama, Birmingham and the the Five Points section which features a number of bars and restaurants. I am a fan of the Residence Inn's. I think they offer a good space, features like a full kitchen for each room, and a full breakfast. In all they are usually a good value. The Birmingham location is no exception. The staff was very friendly and efficient. In all the hotel is a good option particularly if you are staying for an extended period.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nearlycanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a gracious review of our hotel! We are extremely proud of our property and our staff, and it means a lot for it to be recognized by busy business travelers. Our southside downtown location is perfect for anyone doing business in Birmingham, and I'm glad to hear that you had a good experience with us. Please stay at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown again the next time you travel to Birmingham!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice Hotel. Rooms are suites w/full kitchen. Looked mostly new furnishings etc. Free in room internet. Great staff & service. Allowed me to check in extremely early. On site parking $10 per day. Walking distance to VA Hosp & University Hosp. If not interested in the full kitchen, I actually's preferred the other two Marriott's in the area. But, no complaints at all. Would go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarribeanBound1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great room with kitchen. We stayed here while visiting a family member who was a patient at UAB Hospital. We could walk to the hospital. Very convenient to hospital and restaurants. Staff was courteous and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great place to stay in downtown Birmingham. Good location and felt very safe. We booked a 1 bedroom suite and had a wonderful fireplace in the seating area - we LOVED it. The hotel was very clean and the staff were all welcoming and very helpful. The complimentary continental breakfast was above average and the staff did a good job replenishing items. The only negative is the parking, they charge $10. I think the hotel was full and so was the parking lot so we had to drive around until someone left the lot. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room with a fireplace - not sure if they all come with one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAGirl8567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertville, Alabama
Level Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

This ia a great place to stay in downtown Birmingham. The location is convenient to any place downtown, and it feels very safe. This place feels new. The single bedroom suite was large and clean. The continental breakfast was excellent, a great deal more than milk and cereal. They have several hot items and a large selection of other foods. I definitely recommend it and will stay here again. The only down side if there is one is $10 per day for self parking.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drj999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendallville, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I had a very pleasant stay at this facility during a recent vacation. The young lady at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful during our stay. This is a recently-built downtown motel virtually on the UAB campus. It is very clean and well decorated. We had corner suite with an impressive full kitchen and room amenities. The complimentary breakfast had a good selection in very clean facilities. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: Birmingham is hilly. We had to circle the block once in order to find the front entrance. The corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
1.1 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
#31 of 79 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Property: Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Address: 821 20th Street South, Birmingham, AL 35205-2713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "new" Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB is proud to be the most recent hotel addition to the Magic City. This upscale hotel offers the business traveler all the comforts of home to include a full working kitchen for extended stays. We are conveniently located in the prestigious Five Points entertainment district and within walking distance to UAB hospital. Our hotel offers studios, one and two bedroom suites, full kitchens, free full breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool, state of the art exercise equipment, free high speed internet, flat screen televisions in every guestroom and evening socials several nights a week. Our hotel staff will make you feel right at home. We specialize in creating service so memorable for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Birmingham Downtown At Uab Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing