We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice Hotel. Rooms are suites w/full kitchen. Looked mostly new furnishings etc. Free in room internet. Great staff & service. Allowed me to check in extremely early. On site parking $10 per day. Walking distance to VA Hosp & University Hosp. If not interested in the full kitchen, I actually's preferred the other two Marriott's in the area. But, no complaints at all. Would go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarribeanBound1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 292 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great room with kitchen. We stayed here while visiting a family member who was a patient at UAB Hospital. We could walk to the hospital. Very convenient to hospital and restaurants. Staff was courteous and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great place to stay in downtown Birmingham. Good location and felt very safe. We booked a 1 bedroom suite and had a wonderful fireplace in the seating area - we LOVED it. The hotel was very clean and the staff were all welcoming and very helpful. The complimentary continental breakfast was above average and the staff did a good job replenishing items. The only negative is the parking, they charge $10. I think the hotel was full and so was the parking lot so we had to drive around until someone left the lot. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room with a fireplace - not sure if they all come with one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAGirl8567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

This ia a great place to stay in downtown Birmingham. The location is convenient to any place downtown, and it feels very safe. This place feels new. The single bedroom suite was large and clean. The continental breakfast was excellent, a great deal more than milk and cereal. They have several hot items and a large selection of other foods. I definitely recommend it and will stay here again. The only down side if there is one is $10 per day for self parking.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drj999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I had a very pleasant stay at this facility during a recent vacation. The young lady at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful during our stay. This is a recently-built downtown motel virtually on the UAB campus. It is very clean and well decorated. We had corner suite with an impressive full kitchen and room amenities. The complimentary breakfast had a good selection in very clean facilities. We really enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: Birmingham is hilly. We had to circle the block once in order to find the front entrance. The corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I recently stayed at this location for a business meeting in downtown Birmingham. This hotel was a wonderful experience. The hotel staff was very friendly, my room was new and clean, and the workout facility was great. The only reason I did not give this 5-stars is the parking situation and the breakfast. It is nice to have parking at a downtown hotel, however, if the hotel is full parking can be a bit dicey. There is nothing they can do, just wanted everyone to know this. The breakfast, however, could use some upgrading. I tried the breakfast burritos and they were so over-cooked that they were inedible. I ended with eggs and canadian bacon and it was okay. Unless this improves, plan on breakfast elsewhere. Overall, this is a very nice hotel and you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahmonroe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your thoughtful and positive recommendation of our hotel. We are pleased that you had a fantastic stay and appreciate your candid comments. Our entire staff does take pride in our facilities and amenities, and works to keep our hotel looking new. We definitely try to exude that Southern Hospitality! We do understand that the limited parking in the downtown area can be a challenge on busy nights, and we monitor the parking lot frequently. Thank you for bringing the poor quality of the breakfast burritos to our attention. I apologize for the food quality. I've shared your comments with our Kitchen Manager, and we are addressing the items. We do offer a variety of breakfast items and are glad that you found a good alternative. These types of comments are welcomed as we want to constantly improve our services and food items. Thanks again for such a nice review, and please stay with us again the next time you are working or visiting in Birmingham!
Susan Sharp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great place to stay in Birmingham! Very close to UAB and Historic Five Points area. Our room was very clean and comfortable and quite large with a full kitchen including a dishwasher!! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the hot complimentary breakfast also! Will definitely be staying here next time we are in the area!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATennesseeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of the Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown! I'm thrilled that you chose to stay with us and had such a pleasant stay. Our rooms are definitely spacious and the kitchens are perfect for a long stay. The full hot breakfast is definitely a deal that's hard to beat! Thanks for mentioning our location, we are truly in an ideal spot across the street from UAB campus and walking distance to so many restaurants and shops in Five Points South. Please feel free to contact me if you should return to the Birmingham area, we would love to have you stay with us again.!

Susan Sharp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Address: 821 20th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205-2713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $149 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB offers the traveler all the comforts of home including a full kitchen for extended stays. We are conveniently located in the prestigious Five Points entertainment district, within walking distance to UAB hospital. Our hotel offers studios, one and two bedroom suites, free full breakfast, free Wifi, an outdoor swimming pool, state of the art exercise equipment, flat screen televisions in every guestroom and evening socials several nights a week. Our hotel staff will make you feel right at home. We specialize in creating service so memorable for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Birmingham Downtown At Uab Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing