We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Ranked #19 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I flew down to Birmingham to for a huge family wedding. The Residence Inn was very so nice to work with. They did a great job organizing everyone in spite of another group staying longer than their they had originally stated. The kitchens in each room were so nice. The breakfasts were really good. I would have given this property 5 stars, but the parking was really inadequate. I'm not sure why there wasn't more. I also think that if the hotel is going to charge for parking, there should be enough, and it should be attended.

Room Tip: Three blocks away are a ton of great places to eat, so it really is a good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christyristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    89
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
64
55
12
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel is very nice and new. The beds are comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Even though the parking is paid, spaces still seem to be at a premium during the week. You can walk to Five Points for some great restaurants and entertainment; just be prepared to walk up a pretty steep hill.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Notorious_BLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Many thanks for your wonderful review of our hotel. We're coming up on our 3rd anniversary, so it's great to hear that the hotel still feels nice and new, and probably even more importantly that our beds are comfortable! We are definitely located in hilly Southside Birmingham, but being within walking distance of a wide variety of entertainment is a great benefit. We hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again in the future. Thanks again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Near university rather than downtown. Restaurants close by. We used for an overnight stay and it was perfect. Lovely rooms, clean and helpful staff. I wouldn't use this for a longer stay because of its location if you wanted to visit Birmigham downtown. Car Parkng at extra cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Clive1954,
Thank you for your review of our hotel and your kind comments about our rooms and staff. I'm very grateful that you found our hotel perfect for your stay. Our location is definitely convenient for visitors to UAB and businesses in Southside, and we are just a short drive to the North side as well. Please stay with us again if you return to Birmingham!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Enjoyed a one night stay in a one bedroom suite at this hotel. Room included kitchen, fireplace, desk, dining table, couch, two flatscreen tvs...every convenience. Includes breakfast. Staff was very friendly. Parking is $10 unless included in package. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for staying at our Residence Inn Downtown while traveling in Birmingham AL, and for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed our suite and our friendly service - that is our ultimate goal. Many thanks for recommending us to other travelers. If you return to Birmingham, please stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here for an appointment for my son at UAB in July, 2012 in a one bedroom suite. The room was spotless and the Kitchen area made it so much more like home for my son with Down Syndrome. There was plenty of room for the 4 of us. The staff was more than helpful. They went above and beyond for some of our requests when we checked in extremely late.
The only negative was found by my son-no Disney channel or Nickelodeon! LOL
The morning breakfasts were great. The staff always very friendly!
My family and I WILL be staying here again in August for yet another doctors appointment.

Room Tip: I requested a corner room-most times there is a few extra inches of space as was in this case!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan S, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for staying at our hotel when your family makes the trips to UAB. We truly appreciate your generous compliments of our hotel and staff, and I am thrilled that we were able to exceed the expectations of your family. Regarding the children's TV channels, we realize these have changed along with satellite packages, and are in the process of looking into it. Please feel free to contact me when you return to Birmingham. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here while visiting UAB in June 2012, in a 2-bedroom suite. The hotel is fairly new and it's spotless -- literally. The staff was very helpful and welcoming. Beds were standard (fine, but not plush). Bathrooms are large and well-designed.

Parking is on site, but make sure you get a parking pass before leaving your car in the lot. You could walk to Five Points but it's easier to take a 5-minute drive.

Rooms don't have much of a view -- just buildings across the street. There is a small pool, but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenInSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear KenInSanJose,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay at our hotel. We take pride in the condition of our property and the service we provide our guests, and are pleased that you had a good experience. I am also glad that our location near UAB and Five Points was convenient. If you return to Birmingham, please stay with us again, and hopefully next time you will be able to enjoy our pool as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel weekly Since October 2011. I cannot say enough nice thing about the entire staff, they are gracious, curious, timely, always willing to help. This past week I arrived in Birmingham sick and they all gave me extra special treatment without me asking for one thing. The entire staff are all very special.

The food staff remember my favorites and always make sure I am taken care of, best biscuits and gravey ever.

Please reward them all for a job well done,

Room Tip: Just ask and they will try and acommodate any customer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
1.1 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
#30 of 79 in Birmingham
685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Property: Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Address: 821 20th Street South, Birmingham, AL 35205-2713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "new" Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB is proud to be the most recent hotel addition to the Magic City. This upscale hotel offers the business traveler all the comforts of home to include a full working kitchen for extended stays. We are conveniently located in the prestigious Five Points entertainment district and within walking distance to UAB hospital. Our hotel offers studios, one and two bedroom suites, full kitchens, free full breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool, state of the art exercise equipment, free high speed internet, flat screen televisions in every guestroom and evening socials several nights a week. Our hotel staff will make you feel right at home. We specialize in creating service so memorable for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Birmingham Downtown At Uab Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing