We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, location is bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The fireplace was a nice touch in my room. The hotel room was big. There were some restaurants around here.The breakfast was good, they have a restaurant not far with pancakes (whos name escaped me). The location is a downside to this place, I swear I saw people smoking weed, marijuana, and meth around the outside, mind that I have my 4 month old cousin with me ( great huh?) I really didn't like that part and I would stay at a hotel I have recently stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashur_K475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSteiger, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you for your nice comments about the hotel and your experience staying with us. I am not sure what you witnessed outside of the hotel, but I can assure you that if it had been brought to our attention we would've called the police department immediately.We do have a secured parking lot with cameras and security personell. I hope you will stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 285 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2011

This hotel was very nice. It appeared to be very new, and the rooms were incredible (get a corner suite). The location was ok, however at night it seemed kind of sketchy. While here, check out the taco shop up the street and the original house of pancakes. Sure the hotel has a breakfast buffet each day complimentary, but who can say no to a tall fluffy stack of flapjacks, am I right!
I am a little shocked that in any hotel, let alone an extended stay hotel, there are no ice machines anywhere or vending machines.

Room Tip: Corner suites are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skoolieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSteiger, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you so much for all of your kind comments about our hotel, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! The Resdence Inn Brand hotels have full kitchens including a refrigerator that has an ice machine for our guests convenience.This is the reason we don't have ice machines on the floors or in the lobby. If you were unaware of this, I apologize.I hope you will stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Great suite in the bad part of town. People smoking meth inside closest gas station. I'm rating on hotel, not location though.
Large fridge, dishwasher, fireplace (gas). Id use the fireplace in the summer.
Layout of the room was awesome. The hot water didn't work very well, however, even after a half hour running.
Breakfast was comparable with a hampton, but with a few more selections.
10 dollars for parking. 12 o'clock check out - extended to 1300.
If your staying in town, its awesome (4.5 stars), next time I'll opt for free parking and suburbs, though.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timex_cowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSteiger, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our guestrooms and hotel. I apologize for the unfortunate incident you encountered at a gas station in the Birmingham area. As we are a downtown location, parking is limited and all of the hotels downtown do charge for parking. I hope you will stay with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Only disappointment was room configuration. Bed looks directly into the bathroom vanity area and no door of any kind separating vanity area from bed so when someone is in bath vanity area light/noise disturbs anyone still in bed. This is clearly evident in the online room diagram but didn't think it would be as distracting as it was. No problem for solo stay or anyone the configuration doesn't bother. You are charged for open/unsecured parking that is shared by other adjacent businesses. Was not a major problem on a weekend but may be during the weekdays.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwreyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSteiger, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Thank you for your response and for staying with us! We do offer one bedroom suites with a separate living room area from the bedroom and bathroom, this may help to accommodate your needs on your next visit. We do have a secured parking lot complete with cameras and security personnel. Our parking lot is not shared by any other businesses it is only for hotel guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed with family and children for a wedding trip. Good location you can walk to restaurants. We picked for the pool as this is required in Alabama in July. Newer rooms , great breakfast every morning also a plus. Staff was nice and helpful.
Only issue was outside lights at night were bright.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krjcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSteiger, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2011

Thank you for staying with us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay! I apologize, but we are required to have bright lights for safety reasons. We hope you will stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

This was our first time to Birmingham. We stayed at this hotel for a stop-over while enroute to down south. We travelled as a family with a young child and one senior.

The hotel itself is gorgeous and very modern. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite on the 5th floor. The room was impeccable, and luxurious. The full kitchen was fantastic to have, especially when travelling with a young child. The room also had a private full bath in each bedroom which was fabulous. There was really no view to speak of from the room. The hotel is located right by the hospital, so there is no view to speak of. Also sometimes it could get a little noisey with ambulance sirens, but is was not anything that kept us awake. The beds were very comfortable. The TVs were updated and with many channels to choose from.

The hotel staff were very helpful, and especially the lady that looked after the breakfast buffet was especially friendly.

All in all, a very nice and luxurious hotel, and also a little on the pricey side.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBLToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdavisbhmri, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Thank you for the kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels return you to Birmingham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

A group of girlfriends and I enjoyed this hotel for a "staycation" in town. We could go out in the 5 Pts area without worrying about parking or driving after a drink or two (however, if you're not familiar with the area, you don't want to walk around without a buddy). Rooms were spacious, updated, and clean. Great (but a little small) pool, friendly staff, yummy breakfast. Great value for the money. Tip: There was plenty of free street parking on Saturday afternoon when we arrived. So nice to avoid the $10 parking fee!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindylou23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdavisbhmri, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

Thank you for the kind comments. It was a pleasure having you as our guests! We look forward to seeing you again on a future trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
1.1 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Address: 821 20th Street South, Birmingham, AL 35205-2713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $139 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "new" Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB is proud to be the most recent hotel addition to the Magic City. This upscale hotel offers the business traveler all the comforts of home to include a full working kitchen for extended stays. We are conveniently located in the prestigious Five Points entertainment district and within walking distance to UAB hospital. Our hotel offers studios, one and two bedroom suites, full kitchens, free full breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool, state of the art exercise equipment, free high speed internet, flat screen televisions in every guestroom and evening socials several nights a week. Our hotel staff will make you feel right at home. We specialize in creating service so memorable for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Birmingham Downtown At Uab Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing