We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, newer hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Ranked #19 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location, newer hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

My stay at the Marriott Residence in was for five nights. The hotel is fairly new, so the rooms and common areas are nice. Each room will have a kitchenette with a full-sized refrigerator and two burners. It was stocked well with cooking supplies and utensils which would support a longer stay nicely. Once a week the hotel provides a dinner buffet in the downstairs dining area, it's okay - a bit like cafeteria food. But if you don't want to travel or make dinner it'll do. Gym is poorly equipped, but typical for hotel workout room. The location is very convienant to the shops and restaurants of five points and UAB Medical Center. Nothing special, but nice - I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benmathews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSteiger, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Thank you for staying with us. Your feedback will be addressed and used to improve our level of service and facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    87
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
63
53
12
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

My husband and I (plus our two small poodles) stayed here for over 4 months while I worked on contract. We could not have asked for a more pleasant experience. All the staff, from sales to maintenance to housekeeping to kitchen to front desk, were friendly, very helpful and accommodating -- by the time we left, they felt like family! The room (ours was a 2-bedroom suite) was lovely, spacious and comfortable.
We enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast and the 2-or-3-times-a-week evening 'socials' with some great food plus beer/wine.
We chose this location chiefly because of its proximity to my work and its pet-friendliness, but it turned out to be a great central location for restaurants and shops (and freeway access) as well.
Highly recommended to anyone. It's not the least expensive hotel, but the rooms are very nice (it's only a year or two old) and it must surely have the best staff in town!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zornet57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD5869, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
It has been our pleasure! Please be sure to come back and visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

The location is not in the best place, and you have to pay $10 for parking, but yet the parking is outside by the streets where your car can get broken into because of the neighborhood. The mattress on the bed was hard and my back was hurting when I woke up. Went to breakfast at 9:45 am and they had already taken up the breakfast food, except oatmeal that looked like soup, and waffle mix, but no butter, forks, and drinks, even though breakfast was till 10 am. Never been to a hotel that takes everything up before time. I stay at a ton of different Marriott's and this by far was the worse and never will return. Just had come from Las Vegas and Orange County, CA and those hotels were supeior, and definitely put this hotel to shame.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llee4bama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD5869, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
The hotel aims to consistently deliver professional service to our customers and I would like to state that on this occasion the level you received was unacceptable and your feedback will be invaluable towards improving our level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

Very comfortable studio rooms, brand new gym, nice breakfast and pool - nothing else to with for! Mega friendly staff - so I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astorianka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD5869, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xento
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

This hotel is very nice.
Very new building, downtown uab area. Great rooms, clean, modern look.
A nice pool, nice workout rooms, and good location.

Only problem for me is parking the rental car.
I have to drive to the client and valet parking is something like $15 everyday each time you take out the car.

If wasn't for the parking issues, I would stay there more often.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD5869, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
We are delighted that you liked our hotel! In order to serve you better, we now offer self parking for our guests. We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

I have stayed at the Residence Inn on multiple occasions throughout the last year. Although the service inside the hotel was typically lacking it was clean and the valets/bell hops were always helpful. There were several instances where the valets went above and beyond to give me a 5 star experience. However, on my last visit the friendly guys outside were not there anymore. Not sure what happened but if you want my business bring back the guys that made your hotel worth visiting.

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank bosking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

I must admit that when I was first told that I would be in a new market I was really concerned. I was very pleased that I selected this hotel. It was very refeshing to have a place that really felt like home. The rooms are very well setup and the staff is great always smiling. Whatever question I had they always had a great answer for me. I had plenty of options of things to do. I love this hotel and everyone I know that is headed to Birmingham I tell them about this hotel. Its my home alway from home. Thank you guys.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fantasyfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
1.1 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
Doubletree Hotel Birmingham
#30 of 79 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Highland Downtown UAB
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Property: Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Address: 821 20th Street South, Birmingham, AL 35205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "new" Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB is proud to be the most recent hotel addition to the Magic City. This upscale hotel offers the business traveler all the comforts of home to include a full working kitchen for extended stays. We are conveniently located in the prestigious Five Points entertainment district and within walking distance to UAB hospital. Our hotel offers studios, one and two bedroom suites, full kitchens, free full breakfast, an outdoor swimming pool, state of the art exercise equipment, free high speed internet, flat screen televisions in every guestroom and evening socials several nights a week. Our hotel staff will make you feel right at home. We specialize in creating service so memorable for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Birmingham Downtown At Uab Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing