We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2011

The location is not in the best place, and you have to pay $10 for parking, but yet the parking is outside by the streets where your car can get broken into because of the neighborhood. The mattress on the bed was hard and my back was hurting when I woke up. Went to breakfast at 9:45 am and they had already taken up the breakfast food, except oatmeal that looked like soup, and waffle mix, but no butter, forks, and drinks, even though breakfast was till 10 am. Never been to a hotel that takes everything up before time. I stay at a ton of different Marriott's and this by far was the worse and never will return. Just had come from Las Vegas and Orange County, CA and those hotels were supeior, and definitely put this hotel to shame.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llee4bama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD5869, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2011

The hotel aims to consistently deliver professional service to our customers and I would like to state that on this occasion the level you received was unacceptable and your feedback will be invaluable towards improving our level of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 291 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2010

Very comfortable studio rooms, brand new gym, nice breakfast and pool - nothing else to with for! Mega friendly staff - so I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astorianka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD5869, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2011

Thank you so much for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

This hotel is very nice.
Very new building, downtown uab area. Great rooms, clean, modern look.
A nice pool, nice workout rooms, and good location.

Only problem for me is parking the rental car.
I have to drive to the client and valet parking is something like $15 everyday each time you take out the car.

If wasn't for the parking issues, I would stay there more often.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD5869, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2011

We are delighted that you liked our hotel! In order to serve you better, we now offer self parking for our guests. We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

I have stayed at the Residence Inn on multiple occasions throughout the last year. Although the service inside the hotel was typically lacking it was clean and the valets/bell hops were always helpful. There were several instances where the valets went above and beyond to give me a 5 star experience. However, on my last visit the friendly guys outside were not there anymore. Not sure what happened but if you want my business bring back the guys that made your hotel worth visiting.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
Thank bosking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

I must admit that when I was first told that I would be in a new market I was really concerned. I was very pleased that I selected this hotel. It was very refeshing to have a place that really felt like home. The rooms are very well setup and the staff is great always smiling. Whatever question I had they always had a great answer for me. I had plenty of options of things to do. I love this hotel and everyone I know that is headed to Birmingham I tell them about this hotel. Its my home alway from home. Thank you guys.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fantasyfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

I am a Platinum Marriott Rewards member, and my loyalty is primarily due to the outstanding overall quality of Marriott hotels and resorts. This place, however, is a glaring exception.

I am a consultant so sometimes I travel to small towns that have dinky little motels, so I am not picky. Yet, Birmingham is NOT a "small town". There's no self parking here. You are FORCED to pay $15 for Valet. When we got to the room we immediately noticed a strong and permeating smell of urine which we traced to the restroom. There was nothing we could do to get the urine smell out. We called the front desk and they said they were sold out (which I found out to be a lie the next morning). The lady at the desk was just too lazy. The security guard who worked at night was extremely helpful and friendly and proactive. He was always ready to escort at night...because he needed to! This area constantly has sirens all night long. The breakfast here has only very powdery imitation scrambled eggs and fried frozen potatoes. No pancakes or waffles. They weren't just out of them. They don't serve it. Every other Marriott Residence Inn does. I will definitely not stop at this Residence Inn ever again and do not recommend anyone else stay there either.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shibli Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I spent one night in Birmingham, and fortunately, it was at the Residence Inn, which I booked through Priceline. The room was quite nice and clean. We also headed to the pool, which was very nice and relaxing. The free breakfast buffet was very good and included oatmeal with fixin's, and country ham. The staff was also very pleasant. When I mentioned that the coffee had run out, the lady in charge actually brought a cup to me while the coffee brewed. That's southern hospitality! I will definitely return to this hotel whenever I visit the "Magic City" again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Address: 821 20th St S, Birmingham, AL 35205-2713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#14 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $149 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB offers the traveler all the comforts of home including a full kitchen for extended stays. We are conveniently located in the prestigious Five Points entertainment district, within walking distance to UAB hospital. Our hotel offers studios, one and two bedroom suites, free full breakfast, free Wifi, an outdoor swimming pool, state of the art exercise equipment, flat screen televisions in every guestroom and evening socials several nights a week. Our hotel staff will make you feel right at home. We specialize in creating service so memorable for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Birmingham Downtown At Uab Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing