We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel on several occasions. I like the layout of the rooms better than the typical two-room-suite at Embassy. The lobby is also different. Close to the Galleria. Drawback for single or couples traveling is that it draws a lot of softball/baseball/etc tourney for the young, so it can get very busy and noisy in the lobby and breakfast area. There is a 2-hour "manager's reception" every afternoon and drinks are free for 2 hours. They say they put out appetizers, but it has always just been chips and dip, maybe trail mix. But they do have inexpensive appetizers during happy hour. I like the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHoover, Exec Admin at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

TashaLin,

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay during your multiple visits! As you mentioned, we are perfectly located across from Patton Creek shopping center and right down the street from the Galleria Mall. Our complimentary cocktail manager's reception is from 5:30pm-7:30pm each evening and includes complimentary house wine, house cocktails, draft beer, and light snacks. Appetizers and many entree options are available on our Hoover Grille menu.

See you again soon!

Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 881 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel had some great cleanliness and the hotel front desk people were fine. The hotel cleaning staff were amicable.

The hotel has a great front lobby that leads to the restaurant and indoor pool. The place was overrun with people and very crowded from Friday to Sunday. Oddly there is no check for room numbers going in to the breakfast dining area. We know for a fact people joining up with other families for athletic events were meeting in the parking lot and then just walking off the street to get a decent breakfast.

I understand why they say it is a nice hotel, but they do need better service. The hotel walls are thinly built. We could hear all conversations in the adjacent rooms. I remember a few years ago, there was an issue with hotel construction and many of the Birmingham construction material providers did not get paid. There was a year-long class actions suit against the builder, who originally walked off the job. No fault of Hilton or Embassy Suites. I believe there may have been some insulation proofing short cuts. When the door closes in the room next to yours, the walls in your room move or vibrate from the slamming impact. Doors are opening and closing until about 10:00 pm at night.

I would take your family, but get to the breakfast early.

Room Tip: As high as possible facing Highway 150, you get a view of the Galleria Mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chalateco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHoover, Exec Admin at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Chalateco,

Thank you very much for your review and feedback. Regarding your comments about our breakfast host/hostess, we do have a list of all registered guests and they are required to ask the guests entering the restaurant for their room number at which time the host/hostess will cross off the corresponding name. We did have approximately 800+ guests in the hotel that particular weekend, and when we are at capacity, the host/hostess will have to assist with bussing tables, refreshing food stations, ect. We do take our complimentary breakfast very serious and strive to attain revenue for those individuals joining us for breakfast that are not registered guests, and we will continue to improve our skills in monitoring those individuals.

In regards to noise issues, please accept our sincere apologies, and we will do our best to accommodate your needs for future stays to place you in a quieter area of the hotel, such as a corner room if available. Thank you again for your generous feedback, and we truly appreciate comments that will assist in improving our service to each and every customer.

Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is very nice. Large spacious rooms, and very clean. The service is the new restaurant could have been better. I stood waiting for a hostess for about 10 minutes and then someone from the front desk had to find someone to seat me. It was 7 pm and no one was eating. Probably because they looked closed. The food was actually pretty good. Overall good location and nice rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHoover, Exec Admin at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

natd2,

Thank you so much for your review and feedback! First, we do apologize that you did not experience the service you deserved in our new restaurant, Hoover Grille. Your feedback will be shared with our managers and the appropriate departments. We are happy to hear you did enjoy the food! Thank you for noting our clean, spacious rooms and our great location as well.

We hope you will be back to join us very soon!

Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Everyone was friendly and accomodating. Could have stayed in the comfy bed for days! Disapointed the pool/hot tub was under maintenace, but that can happen anywhere. The next time, I go anywere for work with an Embassy suites, I will stay there.

Room Tip: King rooms don't have a bath tub, just a large shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellycoolcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHoover, Exec Admin at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

shellycoolcat,

Thanks for your kind review! We agree - our beds are so comfortable! Thank you for noting our wonderful staff too! We apologize that our pool was under maintenance during your visit, but thank you for understanding. We hope you will be able to enjoy that during your next visit!

Thank you for choosing Embassy Suites, and we are happy to have you back any time! See you soon!

Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed here twice now. This hotel is solid. Check in is always easy. Free breakfast with made to order eggs is great - especially now that they have egg whites. It is always clean and staff is friedly. Meets the mark.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stpetesaltlifegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHoover, Exec Admin at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

khadro74,

Thank you so much for your review and choosing to stay with us again!! We are happy to hear that you are taking advantage of our full buffet breakfast and enjoying the cooked-to-order omelet station! We hope you have also been able to enjoy our complimentary cocktail manager's reception that we have each evening from 5:30pm-7:30pm! If not, stop by next time you're with us to enjoy complimentary house wine, draft beer, house cocktails, and snacks!

We hope to see you again soon!

Emassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stay at this Embassy Suites several times each year while on business to Maxwell AFB. The facility is always in top condition and the staff is extremely courteous and helpful. An easy drive from the airport, close to several of the Robert Trent Jones Golf Courses, and only 75 minutes to Montgomery/Maxwell AFB. A must stay!

Room Tip: Stay on the rear side of the building (quieter).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 606MikeK606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHoover, Exec Admin at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

606MikeK606,

First, we want to thank you for being a loyal guest at our hotel, and we are so happy to hear you always enjoy your stay! Thank you for your review and noting our great staff as well! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Nice hotel and nice room but one big problem. I made reservations and asked the guy at least 4 times if we had a tub since it is a king suite and all they had. He responded yes every time.

I check in and find out no tub!!! They are booked and the guy just apologized that checked me in. Ridiculous! I have a 5 year old and 8 month old. Guess they won't be getting baths the next 2 nights. Gees

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christielynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESHoover, Exec Admin at Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Christielynn,

Thank you for your review and feedback! Thank you for noting our nice hotel and rooms, but we do apologize that you were not told accurate information and for the inconvenience of having no tub. Your review will be passed along to the managers and appropriate department heads to avoid having this problem again.

Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon!

Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
8.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham
5.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
10.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
10.4 mi away
Redmont Hotel Birmingham, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover

Address: 2960 John Hawkins Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35244-1087
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $136 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Embassy Suites built in Design Option Three offers all Embassy Suites core amenities while preserving energy and space. Contemporary new suites have natural light in both the bed room and living room and the privacy of our tower structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelPower, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Birmingham-Hoover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Birmingham-Hoover Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing