We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel in downtown Birmingham”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB
Ranked #35 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I've probably stayed here 6-8 times in the last few months. The hotel has a new feel, is close to UAB and the rest of downtown and is reasonably priced. Breakfast is a decent continental style and service is above average. Rooms are clean and really spacious. Flat screen TV's with an actual HD signal make watching a game in your room enjoyable. Free WiFi, pillows are a little too soft, but nice shower. Nothing to do nearby, but you can drive quickly to some nice restaurants in the area. Overall I'm really pleased with the experience every time I go there and will continue to make this my first choice when I'm in B-ham on business.

Room Tip: Call the hotel specifically and don't deal with their 1-800 booking number. The hotel employees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 367 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed here one night for business, the overnight parking was $2 at the adjacent lot. The hotel is quite a walk to the center of downtown where all the restaurants are. However it makes up for it in the room size and a nice indoor pool. Overall I may try a hotel closer to the city next time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJL395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised at how much I loved this place. The room was clean and comfortable with an updated Oriental feel to the room. The staff was very pleasant and knowledgeable about the downtown area! I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewoo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This hotel was an overnight stay on the trip taking my daughter back to college. Downtown Birmingham was predictably dead on a Sunday night, but the hotel was convenient and very nice. The staff was very helpful and courteous. Rooms clean. The only downside was there are no nearby non-hotel restaurants open on Sunday night. Obviously, not there fault.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoustonMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My family stayed here because it was close to UAB Children's where my son was being treated the next day. The room was very nice, but the AC turning on and off all night next to the bed did not lend to a peaceful night's sleep. I was also very disappointed when it stated we would get a crib, but instead were delivered a not so sturdy pack-in-play. The staff did not even offer to bring sheets for the pack-in-play, so we used the extra blanket in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SAKearney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This is my first review and I was very pleasantly surprised when booking a room on "that" site without knowing where I would stay. Breakfast was the average continental, but the room was nice and clean. It was easy to check in and out. The staff were nice and friendly. I did not hear anything from next door. 42 inch tv larger than mine at home

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickytraveler006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Hyatt Place Downtown Birmingham was a great hotel. We stayed here 2 nights. One at the beginning of our trip and one at the end of our trip.The staff was warm,welcoming and always willing to help.They all went out of their way to make our stays pleasant ,especially Kim,who works at the front desk. Remember the ladies with the heavy luggage. The rooms were clean both times and very nice. Big flat screen TV and free wi-fi. Breakfast was good and you can eat free or buy breakfast at the hotel. If you buy-get the french toast and bacon-G_O_O_D!!! Bar downstairs. I would Def stay here again. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexusmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Downtown at UAB
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham Downtown Near UAB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB

Address: 2024 4th Ave S, Birmingham, AL 35233-2046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $108 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB, a hotel with space and style at an affordable price. Ideal for business and leisure, our guest suites offer a seamless blend of style and function along with luxurious bedding, free high-speed Internet access, large work desk, microwave, mini-fridge and a spa-like bathroom to ensure your stay is anything but ordinary. Our complimentary hot breakfast, fitness center and pool and free WiFi in the lobby help you stay refreshed and connected outside of your room, giving you the freedom to set your own pace and work or relax your way. We are conveniently located in downtown Birmingham blocks from UAB, as well as restaurants/bars owned and run by world renowned chefs for your dining enjoyment and entertainment. It's a balance made for you - the contemporary traveler, at the beautiful SpringHill Suites by Marriott Birmingham Downtown at UAB. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Birmingham Downtown at UAB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Birmingham Downtown At Uab Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing