We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lack of atmosphere”
Review of Cafe de Paris - CLOSED

Cafe de Paris
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lack of atmosphere”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We went here with another couple because of a groupon. They stayed true to their word and allowed us to use it on anything on the menu. Our waiter, Gary, was very sweet and kind. Food was subpar. They had run out of a few things and this was at 7 on a Friday night. They also do not carry domestic beer, which is fine, but then don't carry a lot of other beers either. I am still troubled as to why It was almost empty when we arrived and left on a Friday night. I am not a real picky person when it comes to dinning, but atmosphere and taste wise, I am sorry to say I was disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wma08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    19
    9
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Irvington, Alabama
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A bit pricey, but excellant Meal”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I must say that when we
walked into Cafe de Paris-> at 1st I thought I may be in wrong place, as the restaurant decor & ambiance didn't seem to match the advance reputation I had expected from website. However, my wife & I had thoroughly enjoyable and superb meal. mussels were excellent, fried goat cheese salad was well appointed, ingredients fresh, portions generous: crab cakes, coucous, duck was superb, apple tart soaked in Gran Mariner hit the spot for dessert, only complaint-> salad was on iceberg bed rather than romaine as menu described.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank byumama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardendale, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I was disappointed”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I had been anticipating visiting Cafe de Paris for some time and finally went for our anniversary. Sadly I was disappointed. The wait staff were very attentive and friendly. The menu was uninspired and, in some cases, just strange. Where was the quiche? Where were the lovely waffles with fruit topping? How about a choice of omelets with, perhaps, fresh steamed asparagus? The decor was dark and depressing. The door to the kitchen badly needed cleaning. We ordered the chicken and cheese crepes, which were very good. The "homemade" bread was very good also. The deserts were good too - bread pudding and chocolate molten cake. Overall, the experience was average and we won't go out of our way to return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
“Becoming my best happy hour spot”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Café de Paris has a great happy hour menu and live music on Friday. I’ve go for the last three weeks, love the wings and the drinks are delicious. It’s a great place to be and I’m becoming such a regular the bartender is starting to recognize me. The place has great food, drinks, and service; I recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lady S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“French Enough for Birmingham?”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've had and cooked my fair share of authentic French cuisine, and I have to say that our Easter brunch was not at all haute cuisine and that Birmingham deserves much better. However, after reading the other reviews below (and I hope this doesn't sound mean) perhaps most people in Birmingham don't know the difference.

My mother-son Easter brunch was unimpressive as a whole. However, there were some elements of it that were palatable – just barely. I ordered Eggs Benedict which was the best the table received that day. The eggs were well poached, the hollandaise was tasty (although I am suspicious that it was a canned variety) and the English muffin was passable, but soggy. The portion size was fine. It contributed to my daily caloric intake, but was really nothing more than that.

My mother ordered an omelet. It was overcooked and dry. Served with the omelet was a damp mess of a salad, made with iceberg lettuce. It also was accompanied by some burnt potatoes, the sort of which you would expect to find at Denny's.

Additionally, the restaurant needs to serve fresh bread and butter. The bread we received was stale and the butter was hard and tasted as if had been sitting uncovered in the refrigerator for several days. I would have never served it at home. There is nothing more French than a good fresh baguette served with tasty whipped butter.

Finally, we shared a dessert which was so unimpressive that I can’t even recall what it was. However, the thing that stuck out about dessert was the dessert tray they used for the sale. The desserts on the tray were at least two days old, browned, and generally rancid looking.
The waiter was polite and attentive, but a bit goofy as if he fell off the turnip truck. He needs training. Again, I expected more from this restaurant, but perhaps I shouldn’t have.

PS: The bathrooms were dirty.

PPS: When walking from the bathroom to your table, do your best to avoid looking in the filthy kitchen or making eye contact with the untrained chefs.

PPPS: If you’re an investor in this place, seek an exit strategy now.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingMatt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Paris also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing